3rd annual Halloween special film screening & live score: 1962 “Carnival of Souls” with music by Light Upon Blight Ensemble Sat., Oct. 28

Avant-garde rock group Light Upon Blight Ensemble returns for their third annual Halloween special on Saturday, Oct. 28, this time improvising a live score to Herk Harvey’s 1962 horror classic “Carnival of Souls.” The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover. Costumes and other Halloween trick or treatery are encouraged and welcomed.

From the Criterion Collection Web site on a page that features video of director Herk Harvey discussing the film:

Fifty-four years ago, director Herk Harvey made his atmospheric horror film Carnival of Souls, and in the time since, it has become not only a beloved cult classic but a landmark of American independent cinema. Made independently from the Centron Corporation, a company in Lawrence, Kansas, where Harvey had made several industrial and educational films, this low-budget feature was shot primarily at an abandoned amusement park on the shore of the Great Salt Lake in Utah. Initially released in drive-in theaters in 1962, Carnival opened to a limited audience as part of a double feature, but it left an indelible mark on those who did see it, like director George A. Romero. It wasn’t until 1989 that the film finally had a proper revival and was given a theatrical release in New York, establishing it as one of the most influential horror films of its time.

Much like volcanic eruptions, Light Upon Blight performances are uncompromising acts of spontaneous destruction and creation. Purging and destroying the old while simultaneously laying new, fertile ground. No two Light Upon Blight performances are ever the same, just as nature intended. Sounds like: Free Jazz with a noise aesthetic or an exorcism.

The Light Upon Blight Ensemble is the jazzier & groovier off-shoot of the Psych/Free Improv/Doom/Noise project Light Upon Blight. For this show, Light Upon Blight Ensemble features Jeff Cedrone (guitar, analog synth), Bob Gorry (guitar), Tom Hogan (drums), Pete Riccio (drums), Pete Brunelli (bass), and BVFCC’s own Richard Brown (alto sax).

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Oct. 25. NEW ORLEANS-STYLE FUNK: BAND OF DRUTHERS

• Thursday, Oct. 26. INDIE ROCK: SEAN HENRY, RYXNO

• Friday, Oct. 27. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW: “CARNIVAL OF SOULS” with LIVE IMPROVISED MUSICAL SCORE

• Wednesday, Nov. 1. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Nov. 2. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: JOE MILLER

• Friday, Nov. 3. AMERICANA: FYFE AND STONE

• Saturday, Nov. 4, 7:30 PM. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Sunday, Nov. 5, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Nov. 8, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Nov. 9. GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK: RICH MORAN

• Friday, Nov. 10. MODERN ROCK: NALANI & SARINA, CHASER EIGHT NAKED (PRESENTED BY AIM PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Nov. 11, 7-10 PM (at ORDINARY tavern in New Haven): ART OPENING: “CREEPSHOW”—A BENEFIT FOR BEST VIDEO FILM & CULTURAL CENTER with art by AUDREY NEFORES & NICK HURWITZ-GOODMAN

• Sunday, Nov. 12, 7 PM. FOLK: MINK, SOCK & LUTIE

• Wednesday, Nov. 15, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Nov. 17. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Nov. 18. BVFCC ANNIVERSARY GALA AT THE BALLROOM AT THE OUTER SPACE: 5 IN THE CHAMBER, OLIVE TIGER, NU HAVEN KAPELYE, THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Sunday, Nov. 19, 3 PM. JAZZ: TRIO 149

• Monday, Nov. 20, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: “SON OF SAUL” (WITH TALK BY PROF. CHRISTOPHER SHARRETT)

• Thursday, Nov. 30. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Friday, Dec. 1. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & TONY PURRONE

• Sunday, Dec. 3, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Dec. 7.ART SONG/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: OLIVE TIGER (SOLO), AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Dec. 9. JAZZ/AVANT-GARDE: KLEPTOKRAT; WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Dec. 14, 8 PM. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Friday, Dec. 15. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS (CD RELEASE!)

• Friday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY ROCK ‘N’ ROLL SHOW: DUST HAT, BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, Jan. 5. AFRO-FUNK/ELECTRONICS: ENERGY

• Friday, Jan. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: BEPPE GAMBETTA (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Feb. 9. BLUEGRASS: JOE WALSH & SWEET LOAM

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)