Film screening: Gen X series continues with Spike Lee’s “Do the Right Thing” Sun., Apr. 30

Best Video Film & Cultural Center’s Generation X film series continues on Sunday, Apr. 30, with a screening of Spike Lee’s 1989 film “Do the Right Thing.” The series features six films of the 1980s and early 1990s that touch on the culture and politics that informed so-called “Generation X.” The screening is at 7 PM and admission is $7.

An instant critical and commercial success, Spike Lee’s third major film chronicles a single sweltering day in the Bed-Stuy section of Brooklyn. Lee stars as Mookie, a delivery man working for Sal’s Pizzeria, a white-owned business in the center of the black neighborhood. When Sal (Danny Aiello, who received an Oscar nomination for the role) gets into an argument with Mookie’s best friend, the neighborhood’s long-simmering racial tensions erupt. Billed as a comedy-drama, the film is indeed funny, even as it explores the complexity, frustration and tragedy the film’s characters experience. As relevant today as it was nearly thirty years ago for its unflinching yet empathetic portrayal of race relations, the star-studded cast of “Do the Right Thing” includes John Turturro as Sal’s antagonistic son, and Rosie Perez (in her screen debut) as Mookie’s girlfriend.

From Vincent Canby’s 1989 New York Times review [requires log-in]:

 

In all of the earnest, solemn, humorless discussions about the social and political implications of Spike Lee’s ”Do the Right Thing,” an essential fact tends to be overlooked: it is one terrific movie. From the sinuous and joshing solo dance sequence, which begins the fable on the dawn of the hottest day of the summer in Brooklyn’s Bedford-Stuyvesant section, until the mournful fadeout 24 hours later, ”Do the Right Thing” is living, breathing, riveting proof of the arrival of an abundantly gifted new talent.

View the trailer for “Do the Right Thing”:

The remaining schedule is:

Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM: “Do the Right Thing”

Sunday, May 7, 7 PM: “Thelma and Louise”

Sunday, May 14, 7 PM: “My Beautiful Launderette”

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Apr. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ZACH ANDERSEN, ACOUSTIC DUO: THE HOOCH

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Tuesday, May 2, 4-7 PM. THE GREAT GIVE HAPPY HOUR

• Wednesday, May 3, 7 PM. FILM SCREENINGS & LECTURE/TALKBACK: THOMAS WEXLER ON “I HAVE A DREAM”: THE CIVIL RIGHTS GENERATION, AND HIP-HOP IN THE SOCIAL UNCONSCIOUS (Just added!)

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, May 24. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

Speak Your Mind

*