Music: A Night of Irish Songs with Charlie King, Annie Patterson and Peter Blood Sun., Mar. 18

Come celebrate St Patrick’s Day Weekend as Charlie King, Annie Patterson and Peter Blood play a night of Irish songs at Best Video Performance Space on Sunday, Mar. 18. Tickets are $10 and available from their Web site or at the door (but no one will be turned away for lack of funds). The show starts at 6 PM.

Charlie King is a beloved nationally known activist, satirist and singer songwriter whose 2 dozen CDs include the 1999 “Brilliant: Songs of Ireland” album.  He is this year’s recipient of the Phil Ochs Award, in recognition of his music and activism for social and political justice in the spirit of Phil Ochs.

Annie Patterson & Peter Blood are the creators of Rise Up Singing and the 2015 sequel Rise Again.  Annie is an accomplished performer of traditional Appalachian & Celtic music. Peter Blood is the editor of Pete Seeger’s autobiography Where Have All the Flowers Gone: A Singalong Memoir.

Tickets are available now here or at the door for a suggested donation of $10. (No one will be turned away for lack of funds.)

The concert will combine performance and group singing – many songs will include audience participation. Bring your copy of Rise Up Singing and/or Rise Again if you have one. Copies will also be available to borrow or buy at the concert.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Mar. 8. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: SHAWN TAYLOR, GLENN ROTH, FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Mar. 9. POWER POP: THE GRAND PAR; LAINI

• Sunday, Mar. 11, 7 PM. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FREAK FOLK: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE (RESCHEDULED FROM FEB. 17)

• Wednesday, Mar. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Mar. 15. VIDEO GAME MUSIC: DISCOCACTUS

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Mar. 18, 6 PM. NIGHT OF IRISH SONGS: CHARLIE KING, ANNIE PATTERSON & PETER BLOOD (TIX: https://www.riseupandsing.org/events/rising-moon-new-haven)

• Monday, Mar. 19, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Mar. 22, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: TREADWELL, ANDREW PINTO, FICTION

• Friday, Mar. 23. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SOLO DOUBLE BASS: CHARLES BERTHOUD

• Saturday, Mar. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES; AUDIO JANE

• Tuesday, Mar. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Mar. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: TERRI & ROB DUO, R/S EQUINOX

• Friday, Mar. 30. BLUES ROCK: VANGE DURST; JAZZ/FOLK/ROCK: SEMAPHORA

• Sunday, Apr. 2, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Apr. 3, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 4. JAZZ: CHARTER OAK JAZZ FEATURING BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Apr. 5. POWER POP: THE MOLD MONKIES

• Tuesday, Apr. 10, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS/FOLK: ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Apr. 12. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Sunday, Apr. 15. STAND UP FOR STEVE SUNDAY

• Friday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR, LITTLE SILVER

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Monday, Apr. 16, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Apr. 19. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL with THE BIRDMEN (rescheduled from Mar. 2)

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNELLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Apr. 26. INDIE ROCK: FIELD DAY, LOVE LOVE: AMERICANA

• Friday, Apr. 27. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS w/ TONY PURRONE

• Saturday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BUDDIE (from Philadelphia)

• Thursday, May 3. BLUES ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Sunday, May 6, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION: PROTEST MUSIC CABARET

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, more TBA

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, May 25. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Speak Your Mind