Music (and comedy): Singer-songwriters Anna May & Patrick Dalton, comedians Rebecca Rush & Brooke Arnold perform Wed., Apr. 18

Left to right, Anna May, Patrick Dalton and Rebecca Rush.

Singer-songwriters Anna May and Patrick Dalton will play solo sets and comedians Rebecca Rush and Brooke Arnold (a late addition) will open at Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Apr. 18. The show starts at 7:30 PM and the cover is a sliding scale of $5-10 (pay what you can in that range).

Anna May is a singer and songwriter from Connecticut. She carries with her an eclectic and original style that has been fed by many sources over the years. Anna has performed in various venues across the country, including Mid City Music Lounge in Los Angeles, California, Broadway Comedy Club in New York, New York, and Bar Redux in New Orleans, Louisiana.

Patrick Dalton is something of a musical encyclopedia. Ask him to play Metallica’s”Master of Puppets” and he will oblige, then he’ll follow up with Paul Simon’s “Graceland” and “Pursuit of Happiness” by Kid Cudi. Dalton doesn’t simply play guitar or write songs, he absorbs music,
breathes it in, digests it and assimilates it.

Dalton’s own music, while strikingly original and nuanced, has a familiarity to it—there’s Delta blues in his studied finger picking, folk and hip hop in his storied lyrics and powerful, breathy voice, big band in his trumpet playing, and classic American songwriting in his melodies. His songs come to terms with everything from death to macro-politics to economics, and while his subject matter may be heavy at times, Dalton’s songs leave you pensive rather than downtrodden, interested rather than pessimistic.

Dalton has lent his talents as both musician and sound engineer to many musical projects, including The Proud Flesh, Sidewalk Dave, Elison Jackson, Ports of Spain, and Ceschi. His flair for dynamics and arrangement is evident in his work as both producer and singer-songwriter, and his collaborations within the New England music scene only serves to expand his musical encyclopedia, volume by volume.

Rebecca Rush is an NYC-based comedian and published, freelance writer. She regularly performs at Greenwich Village Comedy Club and the Hartford FunnyBone. On top of her NYC & nationwide club work, she won a “Naked Roast Battle” at SkankFest last June with her tampon string hanging out. You may be surprised to hear that she doesn’t hold back on stage and isn’t afraid to bare her…soul to audiences big & small.

Her writing has appeared on BanterGirl, Broke Ass Stuart’s Goddamn Website and, most recently, The Fix. Along with continuing to perform around the country. she is currently working on a collection of personal essays and nonfiction short stories about her life.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Sunday, Apr. 15. STAND UP FOR STEVE SUNDAY: ANNE MARIE MENTA, THE NICK DI MARIA QUARTET, THE SHARP FLATS, THE WYRD BROTHERS, ME LIKE MANY, IAN BIGGS, BIG FANG, PIGEON ENGLISH (BRIAN LARNEY & ROB NELSON)

• Wednesday, Apr. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNA MAY, PATRICK DALTON; COMEDIAN: REBECCA RUSH

• Thursday, Apr. 19. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL with THE BIRDMEN (rescheduled from Mar. 2)

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNOLLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Monday, Apr. 23, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 5-7 PM. BVFCC THE GREAT GIVE KICK-OFF HAPPY HOUR

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 25. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, Apr. 26. INDIE ROCK: FIELD DAY, AMERICANA: LOVE LOVE

• Friday, Apr. 27. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS w/ TONY PURRONE

• Saturday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BUDDIE (from Philadelphia)

• Monday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: SEAN KERNAN’S “THE KAMPALA BOXING CLUB”

•Tuesday, May 1, 8 AM-Wednesday, May 2, 8 PM. THE GREAT GIVE® ONLINE FUNDRAISER

• Tuesday, May 1, 5-7 PM. HAPPY HOUR FOR THE GREAT GIVE®

• Wednesday, May 2. TRIBUTE TO JONI MITCHELL’S “HEJIRA”: JACK VEES

• Thursday, May 3. BLUES ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, May 4. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT feat. ISABELLA MENDES

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, May 10, 7:30 PM. ROCK: NOTATTOO

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION—PROTEST MUSIC CABARET: SETH ADAM, THAT VIRGINIA, PAUL BRYANT HUDSON, ZOO FRONT, BRET LOGAN

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, May 13, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, May 17. INDIE ROCK: HOUSE SPARROW (MA), PROCEDURE CLUB, PERENNIAL

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, SPIT-TAKE, MINEVA, ALL RIOT

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, May 22. 7 PM. “AGAINST FORGETTING—READINGS FROM THE PETRY OF WITNESS”: READING BY DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, May 23. JAZZ: BOTTOMLEY/SOUZA/MORRISON

• Thursday, May. 24. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Friday, May 25. ACOUSTIC OLD-TIMEY/SWING: THE RED HOTS; AMERICANA: PAT STONE

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, June 6. AVANT-GARDE: ERNESTO CÁRCAMO CAVAZOS, HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, June 15, 7:30 PM. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE & THE DIRTY BOOTS; ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Sunday, June 17, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Wednesday, June 27. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE BUTTONDOWNS, DR. MARTINO

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, July 1, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, July 15, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Wednesday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Tuesday, July 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Speak Your Mind

*