Music: Bluegrass from The Honey Dewdrops this Fri., Aug. 4, at 7:30 PM, A GuitarTownCT show

Bluegrass duo The Honey Dewdrops play Best Video Performance Space on Fri., Aug. 4, at 7:30 PM. A GuitarTownCT concert, tickets are available through the GuitartTownCT Web site. Advance tickets are $20; tickets at the door are $25.

The Honey Dewdrops are a Baltimore duo that has won national acclaim. This is their fifth GuitartownCT appearance.

Laura Wortman and Kagey Parrish share more than most couples. As the Honey Dewdrops, they share stages from venues to festivals across North America, stretches of rolling, infinite roadway, and a lot of songs. With tight harmonies and a musical ensemble that includes clawhammer banjo, mandolin and guitars, the effect is to leave listeners with only what matters: the heart of the song and clarity over ornamentation.

After a year and a half of living on the road and 8+ years of touring under their belts, Laura and Kagey now call Baltmore home and it’s where they wrote and recorded their fourth full-length album, Tangled Country, released May 2015 on Randm Records. Acoustic Guitar Magazine describes the set of songs as “a handcrafted sound centered on swarming harmonies and acoustic guitars that churn like a paddlewheel and shimmer like heat waves on the highway.” And like their stage performance, these new songs rock and reel, and then they console you when you come back down.

“Gorgeous harmonies, thrilling arrangements, and some remarkably insightful, honest writing,” said Sing Out Magazine.

“Lilting banjo, gorgeous harmonies and tasteful songs exemplify this duo’s simple yet beautiful music,” said Freddy Jenkins of WNPR.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Aug. 2. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Thursday, Aug. 3, 7:30 PM. WOMEN’S FILM SCREENING: “THE MILKY WAY”—HOSTED BY THE JCC OF GREATER NEW HAVEN FOR WORLD BREASTFEEDING WEEK (FREE)

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Sunday, Aug. 6, 11-3 PM. ART SALE—ORIGINAL PRINTS

• Wednesday, Aug. 9. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING, DAVE SCANLON, UNDERWEAR

• Thursday, Aug. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND, ELISA FLYNN

• Sunday, Aug. 13, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Aug. 16. INDIE ROCK: FURNSSS, TRASH CAN

• Thursday, Aug. 17. STEEL DRUM MUSIC: MIMOSA

• Fridy, Aug. 18. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: ALLEN LOWE & FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Saturday, Aug. 19. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: AN HISTORIC; ROSEMARY MINKLER TRIO; BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Wednesday, Aug. 23. INDIE ROCK: ROZ & THE RICE CAKES, TEENAGE HALLOWEEN (A TINY BOX BOOKING SHOW)

• Thursday, Aug. 24. ROCK/JAZZ/SOUL: JOE STEIN; INDIE ROCK: ALEX MCGUIRE

• Friday, Aug. 25. POP ROCK: OBERON ROSE; SINGER-SONGWRITER: CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Aug. 31. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN ’66

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

Thursday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Sept. 16, 8 PM. EXPERIMENTAL/DRONE: GARDENER, LANDING

• Wednesday, Sept. 20. BLUEGRASS: BAIT AND SWITCH

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Sept. 29. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (ODDBALL PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Oct. 13. FLASH FICTION: PAUL BECKMAN

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)