Music: Caribbean-influenced pop by Luke Rodney Wed., Sept. 3, at 8 PM

Luke_Rodney_BV_093013_WebLuke Rodney returns to Best Video to perform on Wednesday, Sept. 3. The Music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

A native of Trinidad and Tobago, Rodney resides in Branford. A drummer, Rodney has played with many bands from his home country as well as numerous groups in the New Haven area, including the Cobalt Rhythm Kings, Inity, Jah Movements, St. Luke’s Steelband and his main group, White-eyed Lizard. Rodney’s performance at the Best Video Performance Space last September was his first concert performing his original music.

Rodney began playing the ukelele about three years ago, inspired by an old children’s guitar he found in a dumpster, which he repaired with the thought of giving to his two young children.

“When I got to four strings, I decided to keep it and tune it as a cuatro. I began hearing chords for the original songs I wrote,” says Rodney. “Many years ago a school teacher Juan O’Garo taught me three chords: C, F, G7. Those came in as my base for finding my way around the uke.”

Rodney has been writing his Caribbean-inflected music since the 1970′s. He is now recording many of the songs with the assistance and support of George Lesiw, Chris Fitzpatric, Dan D’Onofrio, Mike Huno and Lee Ann Lovelace.

“I am grateful for all the people who give me their time and support to help with this venture,” says Rodney. “The music is raw and natural. The intent is to bring a happy feeling to whomever hears it. I want to make a difference in the world as a person and with my music.”

Watch Luke Rodney and his group perform “Yesterday Morning” at Best Video Performance Space in 2013:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Aug. 28. FREE IMPROV: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Friday, Aug. 29. INDIE ROCK & FILM SCREENING: AL HOWARD

• Wednesday, Sept. 3. CARIBBEAN/POP: LUKE RODNEY, FILM BY PHINEAS I. GACK

• Thursday, Sept. 4. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Friday, Sept. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 12. CHORAL ROCK, INDIE ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS (CD RELEASE!), THE SAWTELLES

• Wednesday, Sept. 17. NEO-FOLK/RAGTIME: AMY KUCHARIK

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: THE SHRINNIRS

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

 

Speak Your Mind

*