Music: EdNa, Sal Paradise on Fri., Mar. 31

The acoustic duo EdNa—with Lisa Tonner adding percussion—play Best Video Performance on Friday, Mar. 31. Sal Paradise of the rock band Rope will open with a solo set. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

EdNa.

EdNa is a side project of members Ed Ekendu and Nancy Tief of Zoo Front that explores the lighter side of our muse and allows for experimental re-interpretation of the band’s back catalog. Zoo Front drummer Lisa Tonner will add percussion.

Sal Paradise.

Sal Paradise—guitars vocals, composer/arranger—has been active in the New Haven and CT Music scene since 1978. His group ROPE is a New Haven based trio playing original music, classics, underground gems, lowdown blues and folk. They also dig surf-music and lay it out both electric and acoustic. Members are all veteran performers having played in such bands as Bill Bakers Satins, SUBDUEDS (New Haven), Christine Ohlman, Hilton Valentine’s Skiffledog (guitarist for The Animals) to name a few. Paradise will be playing solo for this show.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Sunday, Mar. 26. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “REPO MAN”

• Thursday, Mar. 30. ALTERNATIVE/AMERICANA: THE WYRD BROTHERS; SINGER-SONGWRITER: JACK ROLLINS

• Friday, Mar. 31. ACOUSTIC ROCK: EDNA; SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAL PARADISE

• Sunday, Apr. 2. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, Apr. 2, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “PHILADELPHIA”

• Thursday, Apr. 6. AVANT-GARDE: ELM FICTION

• Friday, Apr. 7. ROCK: GHOST RADIO, SONIA & SID

• Saturday, Apr. 8, 7 PM. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX LYMAN; AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: ALEXANDER; SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAM MOTH

• Sunday, Apr. 9. REDSCROLL RECORDS SCREENING AND MUSIC: “DEADBEAT AT DAWN” with LIVE SOUNDTRACK BY NEPHEW

• Thursday, Apr. 13. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Friday, Apr. 14. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Apr. 16, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Wednesday, Apr. 19. FOLK ROCK: WE HAPPY FEW

• Thursday, Apr. 20. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Friday, Apr. 21. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: DUST HAT

• Saturday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Sunday, Apr. 23, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Sunday, May 21, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER DUO

• Sunday, June 4, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

Speak Your Mind

*