Music: GuitarTownCT Concert Series present Zoe & Cloyd Fri., Mar. 16, at 7:30 PM

GuitarTownCT Concert Series presents the bluegrass duo Zoe & Cloyd at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Mar. 16. The show starts at 7:30 PM. Advance tickets are $15 and are available through the GuitarTownCT Web site.

Zoe & Cloyd spring from deep roots in American music. Founding members of the acclaimed Americana trio, Red June, and long-time veterans of the Asheville, NC music scene, Natalya Zoe Weinstein and John Cloyd Miller are set to release their second full-length album in spring of 2017. Highlighting their emotive songwriting and signature harmonies, this new recording finds the duo returning to a full band sound with Kevin Kehrberg on bass, and special appearances from Will Straughan of Red June on dobro and Jens Kruger of the Kruger Brothers on banjo. The new record showcases the breadth of their collective musical spirit, seamlessly combining original folk, country, old-time and bluegrass with sincerity and zeal. Zoe & Cloyd’s debut recording, Equinox (2015), met with high acclaim and the pair have continued to gain momentum with a 1st place win at the prestigious FreshGrass Festival Duo Contest along with performances at MerleFest, Music City Roots and more.

John Cloyd Miller’s foundation in traditional bluegrass and old-time music coupled with his modern sensibility combine to make him a natural musician and performer. A twelfth generation North Carolina native and the grandson of pioneering bluegrass fiddler and NC Folk Heritage Award winner Jim Shumate, his Appalachian roots run deep. John is well known for his haunting mountain voice as well as his instrumental prowess and award-winning songwriting. He is a 1st place winner of the prestigious Chris Austin Songwriting Contest and a recipient of an Artist Fellowship for songwriting by the North Carolina Arts Council.

Natalya Zoe Weinstein also comes from a musical family: her father is master jazz pianist and her grandfather, originally from Russia, was a professional klezmer musician. She is an accomplished fiddler in a variety of styles as well as an inspired singer and songwriter. While trained classically in her home state of Massachusetts, she has spent many years fine-tuning her bluegrass and old-time fiddling with some of the country’s top traditional musicians. Now a mentor to many young players, Natalya is a sought after instructor and is in high demand as a teacher and session musician.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Mar. 8. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: SHAWN TAYLOR, GLENN ROTH, FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Mar. 9. POWER POP: THE GRAND PAR; LAINI

• Sunday, Mar. 11, 7 PM. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FREAK FOLK: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE (RESCHEDULED FROM FEB. 17)

• Wednesday, Mar. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Mar. 15. VIDEO GAME MUSIC: DISCOCACTUS

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Mar. 18, 6 PM. NIGHT OF IRISH SONGS: CHARLIE KING, ANNIE PATTERSON & PETER BLOOD (TIX: https://www.riseupandsing.org/events/rising-moon-new-haven)

• Monday, Mar. 19, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Mar. 22, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: TREADWELL, ANDREW PINTO, FICTION

• Friday, Mar. 23. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SOLO DOUBLE BASS: CHARLES BERTHOUD

• Saturday, Mar. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES; AUDIO JANE

• Tuesday, Mar. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Mar. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: TERRI & ROB DUO, R/S EQUINOX

• Friday, Mar. 30. BLUES ROCK: VANGE DURST; JAZZ/FOLK/ROCK: SEMAPHORA

• Sunday, Apr. 2, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Apr. 3, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 4. JAZZ: CHARTER OAK JAZZ FEATURING BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Apr. 5. POWER POP: THE MOLD MONKIES

• Tuesday, Apr. 10, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS/FOLK: ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Apr. 12. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Sunday, Apr. 15. STAND UP FOR STEVE SUNDAY

• Friday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR, LITTLE SILVER

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Monday, Apr. 16, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Apr. 19. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL with THE BIRDMEN (rescheduled from Mar. 2)

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNELLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Apr. 26. INDIE ROCK: FIELD DAY, LOVE LOVE: AMERICANA

• Friday, Apr. 27. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS w/ TONY PURRONE

• Saturday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BUDDIE (from Philadelphia)

• Thursday, May 3. BLUES ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Sunday, May 6, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION: PROTEST MUSIC CABARET

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, more TBA

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, May 25. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Speak Your Mind