Music: Indie rock Thurs., Oct. 26, from Sean Henry and Ryxno

Sean Henry.

Indie rock performers Sean Henry and Ryxno crank up the guitars at Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Oct. 22. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Sean Henry is the stage name of musician Sean Henry Posila. Settling on his own name after Bandcamp and cassette releases under the likes of Boy Crush and High Pop on such rising underground labels as Run for Cover and Birdtapes, Sean Henry found a home and a family with Double Double Whammy, run by members of LVL UP and the first label of kindred musical spirit, Frankie Cosmos.

Joined live by various hometown heroes, including studied bassist Dan George and youthful drummer Evan House, this current incarnation sees the Connecticut raised and now Brooklyn based songwriter in his truest form. His music’s blend of a muscular rhythm section with tooth achingly sweet guitar chords, updates the sounds of 90’s alternative music titans into the present tense. The songs are coated with Sean Henry’s intimate and sometimes fragile voice, a near falsetto that invites you into his private world of daydreams, insecurities, and reveries. His lyrics paint portraits in miniature, not unlike a botanist pruning a beloved bonsai tree.

Sean Henry’s new album, created with producer Eddie Golden III at The Shop Sound in Naugatuck is slated for release in early 2018.

Ryxno at Cafe Nine Sept., 2017. (Hank Hoffman photo)

What to say about the kinetic rockers of Ryxno? New Haven Independent writer Karen Ponzio wrote them up in a recent live show review:

The final band to take the stage was the New Haven-based Ryxno (pronounced “rhino”), five young men who despite the late hour and dispersing crowd were clearly there to have a good time and take the audience along with them. Fronted by Frederick Kaeser and including Brian Antonucci and Kevin Caputo on guitars, Sean Koravo on bass, and Bridges Stanley on drums, this band plays as friends who both work and hang out often do, extremely tight yet with a lightness that comes from the joy in being together. Song after song gave those who remained a reason to dance and sing along, goaded on by Kaeser, who remained in constant interaction with band and audience.

Kaeser also proved the master of the prop, whether swinging a cane over his shoulder, posing for a requested picture from an audience member, pretending to talk on his cell phone as part of a song, or wielding a broken mic stand as if it was his trusty sword. Ryxno’s newest song, “Outside,” is reminiscent of the mid-‘90s music from The Killers with less weariness and more enthusiasm. The band easily married strong lyrics and a solid danceable punk-hard rock sound without sacrificing one to the other.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Oct. 25. NEW ORLEANS-STYLE FUNK: BAND OF DRUTHERS

• Thursday, Oct. 26. INDIE ROCK: SEAN HENRY, RYXNO

• Friday, Oct. 27. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW: “CARNIVAL OF SOULS” with LIVE IMPROVISED MUSICAL SCORE

• Wednesday, Nov. 1. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Nov. 2. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: JOE MILLER

• Friday, Nov. 3. AMERICANA: FYFE AND STONE

• Saturday, Nov. 4, 7:30 PM. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Sunday, Nov. 5, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Nov. 8, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Nov. 9. GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK: RICH MORAN

• Friday, Nov. 10. MODERN ROCK: NALANI & SARINA, CHASER EIGHT NAKED (PRESENTED BY AIM PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Nov. 11, 7-10 PM (at ORDINARY tavern in New Haven): ART OPENING: “CREEPSHOW”—A BENEFIT FOR BEST VIDEO FILM & CULTURAL CENTER with art by AUDREY NEFORES & NICK HURWITZ-GOODMAN

• Sunday, Nov. 12, 7 PM. FOLK: MINK, SOCK & LUTIE

• Wednesday, Nov. 15, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Nov. 17. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Nov. 18. BVFCC ANNIVERSARY GALA AT THE BALLROOM AT THE OUTER SPACE: 5 IN THE CHAMBER, OLIVE TIGER, NU HAVEN KAPELYE, THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Sunday, Nov. 19, 3 PM. JAZZ: TRIO 149

• Monday, Nov. 20, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: “SON OF SAUL” (WITH TALK BY PROF. CHRISTOPHER SHARRETT)

• Thursday, Nov. 30. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Friday, Dec. 1. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & TONY PURRONE

• Sunday, Dec. 3, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Dec. 7.ART SONG/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: OLIVE TIGER (SOLO), AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Dec. 9. JAZZ/AVANT-GARDE: KLEPTOKRAT; WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Dec. 14, 8 PM. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Friday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY ROCK ‘N’ ROLL SHOW: DUST HAT, BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, Jan. 5. AFRO-FUNK/ELECTRONICS: ENERGY

• Friday, Jan. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: BEPPE GAMBETTA (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Feb. 9. BLUEGRASS: JOE WALSH & SWEET LOAM

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)