Music: Joe Walsh & Celia Woodsmith play bluegrass Thurs., Feb. 8, at 7:30 PM

Bluegrass stars Joe Walsh and Celia Woodsmith—joined by Bobby Britt and Zoe Guigueno—play Best Video Performance Space Thursday, Feb. 8. A GuitarTownCT Concert Series show, it starts at 7:30 PM and tickets are available through GuitarTownCT.com. Tickets are $25 in advance and $30 at the door (cash only, if paying at the door).

Joe Walsh is from The Gibson Brothers and Mr. Sun, and teaches at Berklee College of Music in Boston. His band Sweet Loam played a sold out show in October 2016, Guitartown’s first Best Video concert. Celia Woodsmith, guitar, and Zoe Guigueno, bass, are from Grammy nominees Della Mae. Bobby Britt, fiddle, is from IBMA Momentum Award winners Town Mountain. This is a young, all-star band whose members have received lots of acclaim and multiple awards, but it’s their first tour together as a band!

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Tuesday, Feb. 6, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: “LIFE ON PAROLE”

• Wednesday, Feb. 7. GARAGE ROCK: STRAIGHT TO VHS, BRIAN GORE

• Thursday, Feb. 8. BLUEGRASS: JOE K. WALSH & CELIA WOODSMITH, feat. BOBBY BRITT & ZOE GUIGUENO

• Friday, Feb. 9. ROCK: ROPE; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DITTYMACK

• Wednesday, Feb. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Feb. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FUTURE SOUL: PAUL BRYANT HUDSON

• Saturday, Feb. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE (of THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS)

• Sunday, Feb. 18, 3 PM. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: BRILLIANT DARKNESS

• Wednesday, Feb. 21. JAM BAND: JS3 (THE JOHN SPIGNESI BAND ACOUSTIC)

• Thursday, Feb. 22. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Feb. 23. AVANT-GARDE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT, AVMUS

• Tuesday, Feb. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Feb. 28. PSYCHEDELIC INDIE: WITCH HAIR

• Thursday, MAR. 1, 8 PM. ABIOSEH JOSEPH COLE: POETRY FOR THE LIVING; DAVID BRENSILVER: MUSIC FOR THE DOOMED

• Friday, Mar. 2. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Monday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 7. JAZZ/FUSION/CHAPMAN STICK: TOM GRIESGRABER; BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Mar. 8. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: SHAWN TAYLOR, KRISTEN GRAVES

• Friday, Mar. 9. POWER POP: THE GRAND PAR; LAINI

• Thursday, Mar. 15. VIDEO GAME MUSIC: DISCOCACTUS

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Mar. 18, 6 PM. NIGHT OF IRISH SONGS: CHARLIE KING, ANNIE PATTERSON & PETER BLOOD (TIX: https://www.riseupandsing.org/events/rising-moon-new-haven)

• Friday, Mar. 23. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SOLO DOUBLE BASS: CHARLES BERTHOUD

• Saturday, Mar. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES; AUDIO JANE

• Friday, Mar. 30. BLUES ROCK: VANGE DURST; JAZZ/FOLK/ROCK: SEMAPHORA

• Thursday, Apr. 5. POWER POP: THE MOLD MONKIES

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, more TBA

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Speak Your Mind

*