Music: Literate indie rock Fri., Aug. 11, with Lys Guillorn & Her Band, Elisa Flynn

Lys Guillorn & Her Band headlines at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Aug. 11. Singer-songwriter Elisa Flynn opens. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Lys Guillorn & Her Band at Neverending Books.

Lys Guillorn is a singer/songwriter of the same musical school as Laura Veirs and Kristin Hersh, with a little Emmylou Harris thrown in: dreamy, lyric-driven, melodically interesting, and indefinable.  She makes “oddly uplifting, folk, blues, country-infused, acoustic semi-electric psychedelic dark pop music.” (Geraint Jones, Comes With a Smile, UK). In recent years, Guillorn has released a full-length CD, an EP, and a collection of compilation tracks on her own Little Cowgirl Records. She released her second full-length CD of original material, “Winged Victory,” in November, 2013.

Reviewing her album on CTNow.com, Chip McCabe wrote:

She comes at the listener not only with a full band  in tow, but also with a cavalcade of guest musicians and a litany of her own instruments, each of which she’s extremely adept at. On this album Guillorn’s brand of folksy Americana is drenched in 60’s pop harmonies and an indie rock aesthetic. While she’s not afraid to bust out the lap steel, she’s also not afraid to incorporate the occasional cello accompaniment or horn section. It’s an album that’s pretty indicative of an artist who’s spent time floating in and out of varying genres for the last few years and coming back home to incorporate some of that into her own work. Again, positive musical experiences meeting with raw talent on wide open display here.

Brooklyn indie folk chanteuse Elisa Flynn is a multi-instrumentalist and songwriter who has played in indie rock, punk, and Americana bands for the better part of the last two decades. After leaving her last band and taking voice lessons from Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond), she took her stronger voice and headed out with an acoustic guitar and a suitcase full of effects pedals to play solo. Her broodingly nuanced vocals and sardonic humor, laced with an undercurrent of unease, make a darkly gothic twist on the singer-songwriter genre. She has released her EP “My Henry Lee” in 2015.  See elisaflynn.com for more info.

Elisa Flynn

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Sunday, Aug. 6, 11-3 PM. ART SALE—ORIGINAL PRINTS

• Wednesday, Aug. 9. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING, DAVE SCANLON, UNDERWEAR

• Thursday, Aug. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND, ELISA FLYNN

• Sunday, Aug. 13, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Aug. 16. INDIE ROCK: FURNSSS, TRASH CAN

• Thursday, Aug. 17. STEEL DRUM MUSIC: MIMOSA

• Fridy, Aug. 18. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: ALLEN LOWE & FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Saturday, Aug. 19. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: AN HISTORIC; ROSEMARY MINKLER TRIO; BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Wednesday, Aug. 23. INDIE ROCK: ROZ & THE RICE CAKES, TEENAGE HALLOWEEN (A TINY BOX BOOKING SHOW)

• Thursday, Aug. 24. ROCK/JAZZ/SOUL: JOE STEIN; INDIE ROCK: ALEX MCGUIRE

• Friday, Aug. 25. POP ROCK: OBERON ROSE; SINGER-SONGWRITER: CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Aug. 31. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN ’66

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

Thursday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Sept. 16, 8 PM. EXPERIMENTAL/DRONE: GARDENER, LANDING

• Wednesday, Sept. 20. BLUEGRASS: BAIT AND SWITCH

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Sept. 29. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (ODDBALL PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Oct. 13. FLASH FICTION: PAUL BECKMAN

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)