Music: Lyrical alt-country from Plywood Cowboy Thurs., Aug. 10

Plywood Cowboy playing Best Video in January, 2017.

Plywood Cowboy plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Aug. 10. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Plywood Cowboy’s heart-born songs interweave the rich heritage of earthen, country roots and the sentimental poignancy of singer-songwriter traditions.

Formed in 2015 in the Connecticut River Valley, Plywood Cowboy is poised to rewrite the American Songbook. “With great harmonies, clever songs & tasty guitar pickin’, Plywood Cowboy is one of the best new bands on the Americana scene,” says Chris Bergson, NY Blues Hall of Fame Inductee. Bottle fed on roots music, multi-instrumentalist, singer/songwriter Steve Dedman and his band strike deep at the soul of American music with songs about hound dogs, heart strings, and the vice of the bottle.

Plywood Cowboy’s 2016 debut EP, Channel 33, was produced by Grammy-nominated artist, Ira Sakolsky. In Ira’s own words, the album delivers, “a musically compelling balance between smart, feelingful lyric and dynamically tasty sound.” The first single off the album, “Heartbreak Ready to Fall,” tells the story of an open mic romance, with a penetrating chorus line and driving Telecaster riff by guitarist Austin Gray. The album features Shane Tanner’s warm Fender bass lines, Ed Iarusso’s masterful pedal steel, and Emily Marcello’s powerful violin. Adding Jason Apostoleris’ exacting drum work to the band lineup, Plywood Cowboy’s music sits comfortably on the ears of its listeners.

The band has appeared numerous times on iCRV Radio and has been a featured band on WESU 88.1FM “Voice of the City.” They’ve also found the spotlight on a variety of stages — Connecticut venues including Infinity Hall and The Kate; destination venues from Monadnock Pumpkin Festival (NH) to Puckett’s (TN); and a festival lineup including Middletown Music Festival, Glastonbury Apple Harvest Festival, and ICRaVE Music Fest.

Cowboys of the airwaves, no one in the band owns any cows. Not as of yet, at least. Steve learned to play guitar from his father, David, and family friend John Hanus, who would pick guitars and sing their favorite country songs over their CB radios, and take the time on Sundays to teach Steve how to pick in country-western style. From Kris Kristofferson to Lefty Frizzell, John and David taught a young Steve true American music. Few knew John by his real name, but many knew him by his CB handle, “Plywood Cowboy,” a reference to his day job hauling lumber around the northeast. Though both CB’ers have left the airwaves, it is through the band’s music that their influences will forever be heard.

PCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Aug. 3, 7:30 PM. WOMEN’S FILM SCREENING: “THE MILKY WAY”—HOSTED BY THE JCC OF GREATER NEW HAVEN FOR WORLD BREASTFEEDING WEEK (FREE)

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Sunday, Aug. 6, 11-3 PM. ART SALE—ORIGINAL PRINTS

• Wednesday, Aug. 9. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING, DAVE SCANLON, UNDERWEAR

• Thursday, Aug. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND, ELISA FLYNN

• Sunday, Aug. 13, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Aug. 16. INDIE ROCK: FURNSSS, TRASH CAN

• Thursday, Aug. 17. STEEL DRUM MUSIC: MIMOSA

• Fridy, Aug. 18. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: ALLEN LOWE & FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Saturday, Aug. 19. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: AN HISTORIC; ROSEMARY MINKLER TRIO; BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Wednesday, Aug. 23. INDIE ROCK: ROZ & THE RICE CAKES, TEENAGE HALLOWEEN (A TINY BOX BOOKING SHOW)

• Thursday, Aug. 24. ROCK/JAZZ/SOUL: JOE STEIN; INDIE ROCK: ALEX MCGUIRE

• Friday, Aug. 25. POP ROCK: OBERON ROSE; SINGER-SONGWRITER: CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Aug. 31. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN ’66

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

Thursday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Sept. 16, 8 PM. EXPERIMENTAL/DRONE: GARDENER, LANDING

• Wednesday, Sept. 20. BLUEGRASS: BAIT AND SWITCH

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Sept. 29. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (ODDBALL PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Oct. 13. FLASH FICTION: PAUL BECKMAN

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)