Music: Richard Neal & The Birdmen play snow make-up show Thurs., Apr. 19, at 8 PM

Richard Neal & the Birdmen play Best Video Performance Space Thursday, Apr. 19. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5. This show was rescheduled from Mar. 2 due to bad weather and a power outage.

With the release of a CD of original compositions entitled “HOE” in 2001, Richard Neal emerged from the shadows of being a sideman to becoming an artist in his own right.

Another CD of original material entitled “Beacon” followed a few years later, and in 2016 he released “A Step Up”, produced in collaboration with Rex Fowler of Aztec Two-Step.

Now, in addition to performing solo, he has recruited long-time running mates the Birdmen to accompany him at shows. They are featuring titles from Richard’s next collection of songs, which he plans to release in the spring of 2018.

And—as if this isn’t enough—New Haven fixture on the drums Tom Smith has joined forces with the group, adding another dimension to their sound.

“an ingenious and nuanced songwriter”–Cygnusradio.com

“A fresh new talent in the contemporary acoustic , Americana, and folk music genres…you’ll hear subtle influences in Richard’s singing and songwriting including dashes of Randy Newman, David Bromberg, and various members of the Band.”–Rex Fowler

The Birdmen are: Johnny Java (bass); John Lindberg (electric guitar, vocals); Johnny Memphis (fiddle, guitar, vocals); Tom Smith (drums, percussion); and Richard Neal (guitar, mandolin, and vocals).

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Sunday, Apr. 15. STAND UP FOR STEVE SUNDAY: ANNE MARIE MENTA, THE NICK DI MARIA QUARTET, OLIVE TIGER (solo), THE SHARP FLATS, THE WYRD BROTHERS, ME LIKE MANY, IAN BIGGS, BIG FANG, PIGEON ENGLISH (BRIAN LARNEY & ROB NELSON)

• Wednesday, Apr. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNA MAY, PATRICK DALTON; COMEDIAN: REBECCA RUSH

• Thursday, Apr. 19. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL with THE BIRDMEN (rescheduled from Mar. 2)

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNOLLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Monday, Apr. 23, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 5-7 PM. BVFCC THE GREAT GIVE KICK-OFF HAPPY HOUR

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 25. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, Apr. 26. INDIE ROCK: FIELD DAY, AMERICANA: LOVE LOVE

• Friday, Apr. 27. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS w/ TONY PURRONE

• Saturday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BUDDIE (from Philadelphia)

• Monday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: SEAN KERNAN’S “THE KAMPALA BOXING CLUB”

•Tuesday, May 1, 8 AM-Wednesday, May 2, 8 PM. THE GREAT GIVE® ONLINE FUNDRAISER

• Tuesday, May 1, 5-7 PM. HAPPY HOUR FOR THE GREAT GIVE®

• Wednesday, May 2. TRIBUTE TO JONI MITCHELL’S “HEJIRA”: JACK VEES

• Thursday, May 3. BLUES ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, May 4. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT feat. ISABELLA MENDES

• Sunday, May 6, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, May 10, 7:30 PM. ROCK: NOTATTOO

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION: PROTEST MUSIC CABARET

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, May 17. INDIE ROCK: HOUSE SPARROW (MA), PROCEDURE CLUB, PERENNIAL

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, SPIT-TAKE, MINEVA, ALL RIOT

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, May 22. 7 PM. “AGAINST FORGETTING—READINGS FROM THE PETRY OF WITNESS”: READING BY DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, May 23. JAZZ: BOTTOMLEY/SOUZA/MORRISON

• Thursday, May. 24. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Friday, May 25. ACOUSTIC OLD-TIMEY/SWING: THE RED HOTS; AMERICANA: PAT STONE

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, June 6. AVANT-GARDE: ERNESTO CÁRCAMO CAVAZOS, HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, June 15, 7:30 PM. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE & THE DIRTY BOOTS; ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Sunday, June 17, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Wednesday, June 27. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE BUTTONDOWNS, DR. MARTINO

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, July 1, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, July 15, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Wednesday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Tuesday, July 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Speak Your Mind

*