Music: Rope, James Velvet Thurs., Aug. 21, at 8 PM

The rock band Rope plays the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Aug. 21. Singer-songwriter James Velvet will open the show with a solo set. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Rope_BV_pano_051613_Web

ROPE is a New Haven based trio playing original music, classics, underground gems, lowdown blues and folk. We also dig surf-music and lay it out both electric and acoustic. Members are all veteran performers having played in such bands as Bill Bakers Satins, SUBDUEDS (New Haven), Christine Ohlman, Hilton Valentine’s Skiffledog (guitarist for The Animals) to name a few. Sal Paradise—guitars vocals, composer/arranger—has been active in the New Haven and CT Music scene since 1978.

ROPE is Sal Paradise (guitar, vocals) Pat Quinn, (drums, back-up vocals) and David Hurd (bass).

James Velvet is a New Haven songwriter and band-leader. The Mocking Birds, The Lonesome Sparrows, and The Ivory Bills are his three best- known “bird bands.”

Brian G. Larue, writing in the New Haven Advocate, described Velvet as “casually poetic, fascinated by Americana…the kind of performer fans of clever, subtle songwriters like Randy Newman, Elvis Costello and Billy Bragg would appreciate.”

He has opened for Marshall Crenshaw, Steve Forbert, Martin Sexton and Ray Davies, among others. He is proud now to be opening for Rope.

James_Velvet_BV_041714_Web

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, SETH TIVEN

• Thursday, Aug. 14. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

• Monday, Aug. 18. FILM SCREENING: DANNY SAYS (ROUGH CUT) with FILMMAKER BRENDAN TOLLER

• Wednesday, Aug. 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 21. ROCK: ROPE, JAMES VELVET

• Friday, Aug. 22. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, Aug. 28. FREE IMPROV: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Friday, Aug. 29. INDIE ROCK & FILM SCREENING: AL HOWARD

• Wednesday, Sept. 3. CARIBBEAN/POP: LUKE RODNEY, FILM BY PHINEAS I. GACK

• Thursday, Sept. 4. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Friday, Sept. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Wednesday, Sept. 10. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Sept. 12. CHORAL ROCK, INDIE ROCK: THE DRESS-UPS (CD RELEASE!), THE SAWTELLES

• Wednesday, Sept. 17. NEO-FOLK/RAGTIME: AMY KUCHARIK

• Thursday, Sept. 18. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Sept. 19. INDIE ROCK: EURISKO

• Wednesday, Sept. 24. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Sept. 25. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Friday, Sept. 26. INDIE ROCK: THE SHRINNIRS

• Wednesday, Oct. 1. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 2. ORIGINAL INSTRUMENTAL MUSIC/JAZZ: GEORGE LESIW BAND

• Friday, Oct. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Oct. 8. AMERICANA: GOODNIGHT BLUE MOON

• Thursday, Oct. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Oct. 15. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN of MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER