Music: Singer-songwriters Kyla P., Matt Bennett play Thurs., Feb. 1

Singer-songwriters Kyla P. and Matthew Bennett play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Feb. 1, Thew show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Kyla P., with her low raspy vocal that’s surprisingly crystal clear, is accompanied by her rhythmic driven, reverb filled, acoustic guitar. A self taught musician, she first stepped on stage at the age of 33 with a handful of songs she had written. This lack of formal training has resulted in songwriting and performances that are raw and unfiltered. Many moons ago she lived an unfulfilling life as a laboratory manager, spending her days mulling over data trying to make sense of it all. Since making her exodus from the world of genomics, Kyla now focuses on the science of living her life fully, musically, and without limit. A self-proclaimed, spiritually influenced naturalist, her greatest desire is to live as a vagabond with a home address.

Kyla P.

Matthew Bennett is a singer songwriter from New Haven CT who has combined blues, folk, rock, and a hint of country into a unique “modern roots” style. He expresses his raw power and funky rhythms in his songs “Back ‘n’ Forth” and “Angles That We Play,” both featured on his EP “Three Steps Forward” and both guaranteed to keep your toes tapping.

Matthew Bennett

His lyrics are clear and colorful and his stories are as insightful as they are diverse. On stage, Matthew pays tribute to some of the most iconic singer songwriters of the twentieth century including Bob Dylan, Muddy Waters, Johnny Cash, Robert Johnson, Townes Van Zandt and many more. He is a non-apologetic, in-your-face performer who loves to get the whole room grooving!

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Jan. 25, 6:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BONZO, BILGE RAT, PINFINGER, SHORT MONTH

• Friday, Jan. 26. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Saturday, Jan. 27. AVANT-GARDE/PSYCH: RIVENER, LANDING, ROSS MENZE

• Tuesday, Jan. 30, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 31. ROCK: FORREST HARLOW

• Thursday, Feb. 1. BLUES/FOLK: MATTHEW BENNETT; SINGER-SONGWRITER: KYLA P

• Friday, Feb. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Tuesday, Feb. 6, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: “LIFE ON PAROLE”

• Wednesday, Feb. 7. GARAGE ROCK: STRAIGHT TO VHS, BRIAN GORE

• Thursday, Feb. 8. BLUEGRASS: JOE K. WALSH & CELIA WOODSMITH, feat. BOBBY BRITT & ZOE GUIGUENO

• Friday, Feb. 9. ROCK: ROPE

• Wednesday, Feb. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Feb. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FUTURE SOUL: PAUL BRYANT HUDSON

• Saturday, Feb. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE (of THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS)

• Sunday, Feb. 18, 3 PM. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: BRILLIANT DARKNESS

• Friday, Feb. 23. AVANT-GARDE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT, AVMUS

• Tuesday, Feb. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, MAR. 1, 8 PM. ABIOSEH JOSEPH COLE: POETRY FOR THE LIVING; DAVID BRENSILVER: MUSIC FOR THE DOOMED

• Friday, Mar. 2. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Monday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Mar. 18, 6 PM. NIGHT OF IRISH SONGS: CHARLIE KING, ANNIE PATTERSON & PETER BLOOD (TIX: https://www.riseupandsing.org/events/rising-moon-new-haven)

• Friday, Mar. 23. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SOLO DOUBLE BASS: CHARLES BERTHOUD

• Saturday, Mar. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES; AUDIO JANE

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

Speak Your Mind