Music: Acoustic soul from Chrissy Gardner & Robert Messore Thurs., Sept. 14

Chrissy Gardner and Robert Messore bring their version of acoustic soul to the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Sept. 14. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover charge is $5.

Chrissy Gardner is a singer/songwriter originally from Chicago, IL. Whether from behind a piano, holding a guitar or standing at the front of the stage with mic in hand, she belts out her tunes in a style that is often compared to both classic and contemporary singer/songwriters, but also has real shades of hard rocking Blues and R&B. On stage, Chrissy can effectively convey the depth of meaning in her music with her passionate voice and genuinely sophisticated and romantic piano playing, but when the time comes to get the crowd up and dancing, she can rock as hard as anyone.

Robert Messore (meh-sor’-ee) has been called “Connecticut’s finest fingerstyle guitarist.” He plays beautiful instrumental guitar music and he is noted for composing tuneful pieces that work well as music, and not simply as fancy guitar playing. Robert has been called “the Heart of the New Haven Folk Scene” for his vital and many-faceted contributions as solo performer, side man, recording artist, teacher and concert presenter (working on several concert series and the Connecticut Folk Festival).

When Chrissy Gardner and Robert Messore get together, their performances are full of vulnerability, triumph, and joy. Chrissy effortlessly embodies the spirits of soul, folk and contemporary music through her masterful songwriting and her shape-shifting voice that in one phrase can be as delicate and lovely as Joni Mitchell and in the next express the heart and soul of Janis Joplin. Robert has passionately devoted himself to the guitar for 30+ years and was voted Best Instrumentalist in a New Haven Advocate readers’ poll. Together, Chrissy and Robert make a kind of acoustic soul music that is sheer bliss.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Sept. 6. ALT-COUNTRY: JUNEBUG SADDLE

• Thursday, Sept. 7. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATHY MUIR, SUSAN CARSON

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES (CD RELEASE!)

• Sunday, Sept. 10, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Sept. 11, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: LEA, ALIEN BOY, PERFUME V, NECKLINE

• Wednesady, Sept. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

Thursday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, Sept. 20. BLUEGRASS: BAIT AND SWITCH

• Thursday, Sept. 21. ROOTS ROCK/GARAGE SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Sept. 27. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Sept. 29. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS) Tickets available online at johngorkatickets.brownpapertickets.com

• Sunday, Oct. 1, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Oct. 5. NORDIC/CELTIC FOLK MUSIC: GARY WIKFORS AND ANGUS MOSSMAN

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Wednesday, Oct. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Friday, Oct. 13. FLASH FICTION: PAUL BECKMAN

• Sunday, Oct. 15. POWER POP: JOHN HARRISON & THE HARRISONICS

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 27. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Sunday, Nov. 5, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Nov. 8, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Nov. 17. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Nov. 18. BVFCC ANNIVERSARY GALA AT THE BALLROOM AT THE OUTER SPACE

• Sunday, Nov. 19, 3 PM. JAZZ: TRIO 149

• Thursday, Nov. 30. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Sunday, Dec. 3, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Friday, Jan. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: BEPPE GAMBETTA (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

Music: Chrissy Gardner & Robert Messore play Thurs., Sept. 15

Chrissy_Gardner_Robert_Messore_72dpiChrissy Gardner and Robert Messore bring their version of acoustic soul to the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Sept. 15. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover charge is $5.

Chrissy Gardner is a singer/songwriter originally from Chicago, IL. Whether from behind a piano, holding a guitar or standing at the front of the stage with mic in hand, she belts out her tunes in a style that is often compared to both classic and contemporary singer/songwriters, but also has real shades of hard rocking Blues and R&B. On stage, Chrissy can effectively convey the depth of meaning in her music with her passionate voice and genuinely sophisticated and romantic piano playing, but when the time comes to get the crowd up and dancing, she can rock as hard as anyone.

Robert Messore (meh-sor’-ee) has been called “Connecticut’s finest fingerstyle guitarist.” He plays beautiful instrumental guitar music and he is noted for composing tuneful pieces that work well as music, and not simply as fancy guitar playing. Robert has been called “the Heart of the New Haven Folk Scene” for his vital and many-faceted contributions as solo performer, side man, recording artist, teacher and concert presenter (working on several concert series and the Connecticut Folk Festival).

When Chrissy Gardner and Robert Messore get together, their performances are full of vulnerability, triumph, and joy. Chrissy effortlessly embodies the spirits of soul, folk and contemporary music through her masterful songwriting and her shape-shifting voice that in one phrase can be as delicate and lovely as Joni Mitchell and in the next express the heart and soul of Janis Joplin. Robert has passionately devoted himself to the guitar for 30+ years and was voted Best Instrumentalist in a New Haven Advocate readers’ poll. Together, Chrissy and Robert make a kind of acoustic soul music that is sheer bliss.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Sunday, Sept. 4. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM SPONSORED BY GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS

• Thursday, Sept. 8. INDIE POP: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Monday, Sept. 12. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE WAY”

• Wednesday, Sept. 14. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: QUIET GIANT (SOLO), THE REFECTORY

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Monday, Sept. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THIRTEEN DAYS”

• Thursday, Sept. 22. SPANISH AND LATIN AMERICAN PIANO MUSIC (with commentary): DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, EDDIE SEVILLE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING (3 PM): “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Sunday, Sept. 25. FILM SCREENING (7 PM): “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, CK, GLUMPUPPET

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Sunday, Oct. 2. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 6. POST-PUNK: GRIST, DEADBEAT CLUB

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Tuesday, Oct. 11. FILM SCREENING: “ELMER GANTRY”

• WEdnesday, Oct. 12. ROCK/BLUES: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…”

• Wednesday, Oct. 19. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: STEPHEN CHOPEK

• Thursday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, Oct. 21. BLUEGRASS/POP: JACKSON’S ISLAND

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Wednesday, Oct. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 27. CELTIC AMERICA: THE EBIN-ROSE TRIO; SINGER-SONGWRITER:  DOUGLAS ALAN

• Friday, Oct. 28. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT PLAYS TO “NOSFERATU”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”

• Friday, Nov. 11. FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS JESSE TERRY & CALLAGHAN

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

 

Music: Chrissy Gardner & Robert Messore on Wed., Jan. 30, at 8 PM

Chrissy_Gardner_Robert_Messore_72dpiChrissy Gardner and Robert Messore bring their version of acoustic soul to the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Jan. 30. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover charge is $5.

Chrissy Gardner is a singer/songwriter originally from Chicago, IL. Whether from behind a piano, holding a guitar or standing at the front of the stage with mic in hand, she belts out her tunes in a style that is often compared to both classic and contemporary singer/songwriters, but also has real shades of hard rocking Blues and R&B. On stage, Chrissy can effectively convey the depth of meaning in her music with her passionate voice and genuinely sophisticated and romantic piano playing, but when the time comes to get the crowd up and dancing, she can rock as hard as anyone.

Robert Messore (meh-sor’-ee) has been called “Connecticut’s finest fingerstyle guitarist.” He plays beautiful instrumental guitar music and he is noted for composing tuneful pieces that work well as music, and not simply as fancy guitar playing. Robert has been called “the Heart of the New Haven Folk Scene” for his vital and many-faceted contributions as solo performer, side man, recording artist, teacher and concert presenter (working on several concert series and the Connecticut Folk Festival).

When Chrissy Gardner and Robert Messore get together, their performances are full of vulnerability, triumph, and joy. Chrissy effortlessly embodies the spirits of soul, folk and contemporary music through her masterful songwriting and her shape-shifting voice that in one phrase can be as delicate and lovely as Joni Mitchell and in the next express the heart and soul of Janis Joplin. Robert has passionately devoted himself to the guitar for 30+ years and was voted Best Instrumentalist in a New Haven Advocate readers’ poll. Together, Chrissy and Robert make a kind of acoustic soul music that is sheer bliss.

The Best Video Coffee & Wine Bar will be open with a fine selection of delicious snacks and refreshments, including Willoughby’s coffee, wine and beer.

A YouTube video of Chrissy and Robert performing the Amy Winehouse song “Valerie”:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 31. PSYCH/FOLK: PONYBIRD

• Wednesday, Feb. 6. AVANT-GARDE: JACK VEES

• Thursday, Feb. 7. ROCK: THE IVORY BILLS

• Monday, Feb. 11. WHAT WOULD YOU DO? FILM SERIES: GONE BABY GONE

• Wednesday, Feb. 13. EARLY MUSIC/CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & ALEXANDER SMITH

Wednesday, Feb. 20. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS BANDS

• Thursday, Feb. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITER ROCK: THE STREAMS DUO

• Wednesday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Thursday, Feb. 28. ART SONG WITH TUNED WINE GLASSES: JONNY RODGERS