Music: Solo singer-songwriters Olive Tiger, An Historic play Thurs., Dec. 7

Olive Tiger and An Historic play solo sets at Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Dec. 7. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Olive Tiger is driven by the obsessive need to bring imagined sounds to life, creating experiences of beauty and transcendence in the process. Based in New Haven, CT, Olive uses cello, guitar, and electronics to craft a unique blend of melody-driven orchestral sounds. Olive’s hauntingly beautiful vocals and cello are intensified by a loop pedal, crafting a result landing somewhere between My Brightest Diamond, tUnE-yArDs, St. Vincent, and Andrew Bird. Olive Tiger’s debut album “Until My Body Breaks” was released September 2016. With her group (also known as Olive Tiger), she played Center Church on the Green in New Haven this past June as part of the ALTAR-d Spaces programming of the International Festival of Arts & Ideas.

An Historic is the songwriting alias of composer/accordionist/vocalist Adam Matlock, focusing on frenzied and narrative songs with elements of Balkan music, cabaret, many varieties of art-song and American soul and punk. Songs are performed live with a core of solo accordion and voice, and sometimes fleshed out and fully inhabited with the confident interplay of guitarist Chris Cretella, percussionist Michael Paolucci, multi-instrumentalist Brian Slattery and bassists Mike Tepper or Carl Testa.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Nov. 30. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Friday, Dec. 1. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & TONY PURRONE

• Sunday, Dec. 3, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Dec. 6, 7 PM. ANNIE LISA: PSYCH-K

• Thursday, Dec. 7.ART SONG/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: OLIVE TIGER (SOLO), AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Dec. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FUTURE SOUL: PAUL BRYANT HUDSON; WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Dec. 14, 8 PM. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Friday, Dec. 15. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS (CD RELEASE!); SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

• Wednesday, Dec. 20. INDIE ROCK: WAR WAR WAR, REDUCTION PLAN, ROSS MENZE

• Thursday, Dec. 21. SURF MUSIC: THE CLAMS

• Friday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY ROCK ‘N’ ROLL SHOW: DUST HAT, BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, Dec. 29. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Friday, Jan. 5. AFRO-FUNK/ELECTRONICS: ENERGY

• Wednesday, Jan. 10, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Jan. 11. ROCK: TINY OCEAN

• Friday, Jan. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: BEPPE GAMBETTA (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Jan. 19. BLUES ROCK: VANGE DURST

• Thursday, Jan. 25, 6:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: BONZO, BILGE RAT, PINFINGER, SHORT MONTH

• Friday, Feb. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Feb. 8. BLUEGRASS: JOE K. WALSH & CELIA WOODSMITH, feat. BOBBY BRITT & ZOE GUIGUENO

• Wednesday, Feb. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Feb. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FUTURE SOUL: PAUL BRYANT HUDSON

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

 

Music: Zoo Front, An Historic on Thurs., Aug. 11

Indie rock group Zoo Front and solo performer An Historic play Best video Performance Space on Thursday, Aug. 11. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Zoo Front at Best Video Performance Space

Zoo Front at Best Video Performance Space

The last couple of years have been busy ones for Zoo Front. Their CD Red Stereo Dress marked the beginning of a new era for the band, with Nancie Tief making her singing and songwriting debut. Adding to the fun, they adopted a new working philosophy they call ABM – “ambient background mischief”. The idea is to add a subliminal track to each song that somehow fills out the sound in a way that defies definition.

The personnel is Ed Ekendu (Guitar), Nancie Tief (Guitar),  Julie Riccio (Drums) and Ju Dee Luna.

An Historic at Best Video Performance Space

An Historic at Best Video Performance Space

An Historic is the songwriting alias of composer/accordionist/vocalist Adam Matlock, focusing on frenzied and narrative songs with elements of Balkan music, cabaret, many varieties of art-song and American soul and punk. Songs are performed live with a core of solo accordion and voice, and sometimes fleshed out and fully inhabited with the confident interplay of guitarist Chris Cretella, percussionist Michael Paolucci, multi-instrumentalist Brian Slattery and bassists Mike Tepper or Carl Testa.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, JULIE BEMAN & ERIC BLOOMQUIST

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Aug. 12. INDIE/DIY/QUEERCORE: LADY QUEEN PARADISE, ADULT MOM, SPACE CAMP

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Thursday, Aug. 18. ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, Aug. 21. INDIE ROCK: WALTER, ETC.; BLOWOUT, 1 more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 24. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Aug. 25. JAZZ: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Friday, Aug. 26. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Aug. 31. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Sept. 2. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Sept. 4. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM SPONSORED BY GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Thursday, Sept. 22. PIANO MUSIC: DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Thursday, Oct. 13. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”

 

Music: Elisa Flynn, An Historic play Wed., Nov. 19, at 8 PM

Elisa Flynn and An Historic play sets at Best Video Performance Space this Thursday, Nov. 19. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Elisa Flynn

Elisa Flynn

Brooklyn indie folk chanteuse Elisa Flynn is a multi-instrumentalist and songwriter who has played in indie rock, punk, and Americana bands for the better part of the last two decades. After leaving her last band and taking voice lessons from Shara Worden (My Brightest Diamond), she took her stronger voice and headed out with an acoustic guitar and a suitcase full of effects pedals to play solo. Her broodingly nuanced vocals and sardonic humor, laced with an undercurrent of unease, make a darkly gothic twist on the singer-songwriter genre. She has just released her new EP “My Henry Lee.”  See elisaflynn.com for more info.

Adam Matlock

Adam Matlock

An Historic is the songwriting alias of composer/accordionist/vocalist Adam Matlock, focusing on frenzied and narrative songs with elements of Balkan music, cabaret, many varieties of art-song and American soul and punk. Songs are performed live with a core of solo accordion and voice, and sometimes fleshed out and fully inhabited with the confident interplay of guitarist Chris Cretella, percussionist Michael Paolucci, multi-instrumentalist Brian Slattery and bassists Mike Tepper or Carl Testa.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)

• Thursday, Nov. 19. DARK FOLK: ELISA FLYNN; SOUL PUNK: AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Nov. 20. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Sunday, Nov. 22. FILM SCREENING/BLACK LIVES MATTER BENEFIT: “ANNE BRADEN: SOUTHERN PATRIOT”

• Friday, Nov. 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Sunday, Nov. 29. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“THE KILLING”)

• Wednesday, Dec. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Dec. 3. ELECTRONIC: AVMUS

• Friday, Dec. 4. CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & BETHANY WILDER

• Sunday, Dec. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“PATHS OF GLORY”)

• Thursday, Dec. 10. BLUES/FOLK/COUNTRY: CODA BLUE

• Friday, Dec. 11. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Dec. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“DR. STRANGELOVE”)

• Wednesday, Dec. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BRIAN DOLZANI

• Friday, Dec. 18. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Sunday, Dec. 20. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“BARRY LYNDON”)

Movie-themed benefit for WPKN-FM radio on Fri., Apr. 17, at 7 PM

WPKN_benefit_WebBest Video has donated use of the Performance Space on Friday, Apr. 17, for a cool fundraiser for community-supported radio station WPKN-FM (89.5 on your radio dial). The long list of musicians participating in “Late Nite Double Feature Picture Show: Movie Songs”—presented by Tripeg Lobo and co-hosted by Elisa Flynn, Lys Guillorn and WPKN’s Valerie Richardson—will play a cover of a song from a movie (anything from the movie theme to a song playing in a scene), then do one original song about their favorite movie.

Tickets are $10 in advance at Best Video (cash only) or at the door. Doors open at 7 PM; the show starts at 7:30. One hundred-percent of the ticket price goes to support WPKN’s amazing free-form programming.

Based in Bridgeport, WPKN has been offering up an eclectic menu of free-form programming and public affairs since the 1960s. Originally affiliated with the university of Bridgeport, WPKN became independent in 1992.

The lineup of performers:

An Historic, Stephany Brown & Kriss Santala, Wendy Cahill, Chica non Grata, Elisa Flynn, Lys Guillorn, George Hakkila, Dave Hogan, Jesus & The White Russians (featuring Jon Schlesinger of No Line North), Ponybird, Spectral Fangs, The Sawtelles and Zoo Front.