Music: Water Cooler Party—Dr. Caterwaul’s plays music from Twin Peaks Thurs., May 25

Eclectic world music/folk band Dr. Caterwauls Cadre of Clairvoyant Claptraps will play music composed by Angelo Badalamenti for the David Lynch TV show “Twin Peaks” at Best Video Film & Cultural Center on Thursday, May 25 at 8 PM. Tickets are $8 in advance.

Advance tickets are available through Brown Paper Tickets.

All tickets are general admission. There is no reserved seating so arrive early to claim your spot!

Dr. Caterwauls Cadre of Clairvoyant Claptraps — composed of Michael Tepper on upright bass, Adam Matlock on accordion and vocals; Michael Paolucci on percussion; Chris Cretella on electric guitar and Brian Slattery on violin, banjo, trombone and vocals — plays as much music as it’s able to: blues and murder ballads, Eastern European folk, traditional music from North and South America, tango, swing, classical music, and the songs of contemporary songwriters (including Matlock), using the influences of the music they love to create fluid, improvised arrangements.

For this show, the group will be playing music composed by Angelo Badalamenti for the acclaimed cult show. Badalamenti scored a Grammy Award in 1991 for Best Pop Instrumental Performance for the show’s haunting theme. His music deftly reinforced the underlying tone of dread and disorientation that permeated the show.

The show, which ran from 1990-91 has been revived and its premiere episode will air on Showtime on Sunday, May 21.

In previous shows at Best Video Film & Cultural Center, Dr. Caterwaul’s has played film scores of Bernard Herrmann and music by Kurt Weill. A planned show built around music from the “Simpsons” TV show, postponed due to snow this past January, is expected to be rescheduled for this summer.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, May 24. NEW ORLEANS FUNK: BAND OF DRUTHERS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, June 7. ALT-COUNTRY: LEFT ON SCARLET STREET, SINGER-SONGWRITER: RON SPEARS

• Thursday, June 8. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS, THE PROUD FLESH

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, June 14. INIDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE

• Thursday, June 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DAVID BROOKS (OF THE STREAMS)

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, June 21. PROGRESSIVE FOLK: FE FI FO, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRIZTA MOON

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Wednesday, June 28. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC IMPROVISATION: NOAH & DAVID CHEVAN

• Thursday, June 29. POST-MODERN JAZZ/VOCALS: MÉLANGE À TROIS

• Friday, June 30. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARMS STRING BAND

• Friday, July 7. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE RIGHT OFFS

• Friday, July 14. ROCK: ROPE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Wednesday, Aug. 2. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Wednesday, Aug. 9. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Aug. 25. POP ROCK: OBERON ROSE

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (ODDBALL PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

Music: Dr. Caterwaul’s Cadre of Clairvoyant Claptraps to play “The Music of Twin Peaks” Fri., Jan. 9—shows at 7 and 8:30 PM; advance tix available at Best Video

Eclectic world music/folk band Dr. Caterwaul’s Cadre of Clairvoyant Claptraps will play the music of Twin Peaks on Friday, Jan. 9, at the Best Video Performance Space. Due to high demand, the group is performing two shows that evening to accommodate everyone who may wish to attend—an early (7 PM) and a late (8:30 PM) show.

Dr_Caterwaul_BV_060514_Web

Tickets are $5 and are available at Best Video or by phone with a credit or debit card. (Best Video’s phone number is 203-287-9286.) All tickets are general admission. There is no reserved seating so arrive early to claim your spot!

Dr. Caterwaul’s Cadre of Clairvoyant Claptraps is declaring war on winter with a very special presentation of the music of Twin Peaks. Composed by Angelo Badalamenti, the music featured in the series and film combines elements of film-noir style cool jazz, dream pop, and shimmering ambient in a tapestry that is a significant part of the show’s style.

For this appearance, Dr. Caterwaul’s is:
Nathan Bontrager – Cello
Chris Cretella – Guitar
Adam Matlock – Accordion, Clarinet, Voice
Michael Paolucci – Percussion
Brian Slattery – Trombone, Banjo, Fiddle, Voice
Mike Tepper – Bass

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Jan. 2. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES, HAPPY ENDING DUO (BEST VIDEO’S OWN HANK HOFFMAN & RICHARD BROWN)

• Sunday, Jan. 4. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “NOTORIOUS”

• Wednesday, Jan. 7. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: CRISTINA HARRIS, PATRICK DALTON

• Thursday, Jan. 8. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Friday, Jan. 9. MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Sunday, Jan. 11. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “STRANGERS ON A TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Jan. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Thursday, Jan. 15. SOLO ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Jan. 16: INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Sunday, Jan. 18. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “REAR WINDOW”

• Wednesday, Jan. 21. SONGWRITERS’ CIRCLE: MARK MIRANDO, DICK NEAL, REX FOWLER

• Thursday, Jan. 22. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Sunday, Jan. 25. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “NORTH BY NORTHWEST”

• Friday., Jan. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM

• Friday, Feb. 6. AVANT-GARDE: RIVENER, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Friday, Mar. 6. JAZZ: NICK DiMARIA WiRED

• Friday, April 3. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”