Film screening: Gen X film series continues Sun., Apr. 23, with David Lynch’s creepy “Blue Velvet”

Best Video Film & Cultural Center’s Generation X film series continues on Sunday, Apr. 23, with a screening of David Lynch’s cult classic “Blue Velvet.” The series features six films of the 1980s and early 1990s that touch on the culture and politics that informed so-called “Generation X.”

The series was the idea of BVFCC members Jennifer Griffiths and Sarah Strong. Working with BVFCC Program Director Hank Hoffman, they crafted a program that will both highly entertaining and thought provoking.

Each screening begins at 7 PM and admission is $7.

In Blue Velvet, David Lynch peels back the veneer of small-town respectability to expose a shadow side of the Amerian psyche. Released in 1986 at the height of government attempts to outlaw sexually explicit material, Blue Velvet’s unflinching portrayal of erotic taboos and violence created an uproar. Kyle McLachlan and Laura Dern are the young innocents who stumble upon a disturbing mystery; Isabella Rosselini is the nightclub singer at its center. Dennis Hopper is unforgettable as Frank, a sociopath with an Oedipus complex. Ranked by the American Film Institute as one of the ten greatest mystery films ever made, this cult classic shows Lynch at his most noirish and disturbing best.

From New York Times critic Janet Maslin’s 1986 review:

Other directors labor long and hard to achieve the fevered perversity that comes so naturally to David Lynch, whose ”Blue Velvet” is an instant cult classic. With ”Eraserhead,” ”The Elephant Man” and ”Dune” to his credit, Mr. Lynch had already established his beachhead inside the realm of the bizarre, but this latest venture takes him a lot further. Kinkiness is its salient quality, but ”Blue Velvet” has deadpan humor too, as well as a straight-arrow side that makes its eccentricity all the crazier. There’s no mistaking the exhilarating fact that it’s one of a kind.

Remaining schedule:

Sunday. Apr. 23: “Blue Velvet”

Sunday, Apr. 30: “Do the Right Thing”

Sunday, May 7: “Thelma and Louise”

Sunday, May 14: “My Beautiful Launderette”

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Apr. 19. FOLK ROCK: WE HAPPY FEW, GUITAR: DAVID DeLUCIA

• Thursday, Apr. 20. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Friday, Apr. 21. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: DUST HAT

• Saturday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Sunday, Apr. 23, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Thursday, Apr. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ZACH ANDERSEN, ACOUSTIC DUO: THE HOOCH

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Wednesday, May 3, 7 PM. FILM SCREENINGS & LECTURE/TALKBACK: THOMAS WEXLER ON “I HAVE A DREAM”: THE CIVIL RIGHTS GENERATION, AND HIP-HOP IN THE SOCIAL UNCONSCIOUS (Just added!)

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, May 24. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

Generation X film series schedule revised; no film on Easter Sunday—”Blue Velvet” screens Apr. 23

Revised schedule.

It came to our attention that, as part of the Generation X film series, we had David Lynch’s psychological horror noir “Blue Velvet” scheduled to screen on the evening of Easter Sunday.

That seemed like possibly not the best match.

So, we are forgoing a screening on Sunday, April 16, and just pushing the whole series back a week. The revised schedule is:

Sunday. Apr. 23: “Blue Velvet”

Sunday, Apr. 30: “Do the Right Thing”

Sunday, May 7: “Thelma and Louise”

Sunday, May 14: “My Beautiful Launderette”

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Saturday, Apr. 8, 7 PM. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX LYMAN; AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: ALEXANDER; SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAM MOTH

• Sunday, Apr. 9. REDSCROLL RECORDS SCREENING AND MUSIC: “DEADBEAT AT DAWN” with LIVE SOUNDTRACK BY NEPHEW

• Thursday, Apr. 13. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Friday, Apr. 14. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Apr. 16, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Wednesday, Apr. 19. FOLK ROCK: WE HAPPY FEW

• Thursday, Apr. 20. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Friday, Apr. 21. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: DUST HAT

• Saturday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Sunday, Apr. 23, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Thursday, Apr. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ZACH ANDERSON

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN