Music: Indie rock from Jellyshirts on Wed., Sept. 27

Rock trio Jellyshirts return to Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Sept. 27. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Looking for a frame of reference for Jellyshirts’ music? Try the Velvet Underground and the Byrds. But the band–led by guitarist/vocalist Bret Logan for over 20 years, ably joined by drummer Scott McDonald and bass player Nick Appleby–has a sound determinedly their own.

From the band’s press packet: “Letting the wash of live sound influence each song, without anybody thinking ‘jazz’ or ‘improvisation.’ Never doing covers of our songs. Trying to get you to levitate about one-and-a-half feet off your chair (willingly, of course).”

The short version: They’re loud and they play bars with a mystical need to reach the audience.

From a 2009 Shoreline Times article by late musician and WPLR Local Bands radio show host James Velvet: “The band has been held in awe by its fans over the years for its sometimes soaring, sometimes droning sound, always played with intensity and skill. A good example is the current lead tune on their MySpace page, a recent live recording of a song they first performed 15 years ago, ‘Disinclined.’ Ten minutes of dynamic live jamming. ‘Pick and soar’ is how their longtime champion Gary Vollono of IndepenDisc.com describes the sound. To which I would add, ‘…and feedback sometimes.’”

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Sept. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

Thursday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, Sept. 20. BLUEGRASS: BAIT AND SWITCH

• Thursday, Sept. 21. ROOTS ROCK/GARAGE SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Sept. 27. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Sept. 29. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS) Tickets available online at johngorkatickets.brownpapertickets.com

• Sunday, Oct. 1, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Oct. 5. NORDIC/CELTIC FOLK MUSIC: GARY WIKFORS AND ANGUS MOSSMAN

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Monday, Oct. 9, 7:15 PM. FILM SCREENING (WHITHER THOU GOES—GREAT FILMS ON IMMIGRATION & REFUGEES SERIES): “IN AMERICA”

• Wednesday, Oct. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Oct. 12. INDIE ROCK: BONG WISH, DOUGIE POOLE, LEOR MILLER (PRESENTED BY TINY BOX BOOKING)

• Friday, Oct. 13. FLASH FICTION: PAUL BECKMAN

• Saturday, Oct. 14. ROCK ‘N” ROLL COVERS: THE DENZ

• Sunday, Oct. 15. POWER POP: JOHN HARRISON & THE HARRISONICS

• Monday, Oct. 16, 7:15 PM. FILM SCREENING (WHITHER THOU GOES—GREAT FILMS ON IMMIGRATION & REFUGEES SERIES): “WELCOME”

• Wednesday, Oct. 18. ANNIE LISA: PSYCH-K

• Thursday, Oct. 19. AFRO-FUNK FUSION: THE LOST TRIBE

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Oct. 21, 7:30 PM. VIDEO STORE DAY SCREENING OF “PSYCHOS IN LOVE” WITH DIRECTOR GORMAN BECHARD & LEAD ACTOR CARMINE CAPOBIANCO

• Monday, Oct. 23, 7:15 PM. FILM SCREENING (WHITHER THOU GOES—GREAT FILMS ON IMMIGRATION & REFUGEES SERIES): “THE VISITOR”

• Wednesday, Oct. 25. NEW ORLEANS-STYLE FUNK: BAND OF DRUTHERS

• Thursday, Oct. 26. INDIE ROCK: SEAN HENRY, RYXNO

• Friday, Oct. 27. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW

• Monday, Oct. 30, 7:15 PM. FILM SCREENING (WHITHER THOU GOES—GREAT FILMS ON IMMIGRATION & REFUGEES SERIES): “A BETTER LIFE”

• Wednesday, Nov. 1. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Nov. 2. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: JOE MILLER

• Friday, Nov. 3. AMERICANA: FYFE AND STONE

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Sunday, Nov. 5, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Nov. 6, 7:15 PM. FILM SCREENING (WHITHER THOU GOES—GREAT FILMS ON IMMIGRATION & REFUGEES SERIES): “INTO THE ARMS OF STRANGERS”

• Wednesday, Nov. 8, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Nov. 9. GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK: RICH MORAN

• Friday, Nov. 10. MODERN ROCK: NALANI & SARINA, CHASER EIGHT NAKED (PRESENTED BY AIM PRODUCTIONS)

• Monday, Nov. 13, 7:15 PM. FILM SCREENING (WHITHER THOU GOES—GREAT FILMS ON IMMIGRATION & REFUGEES SERIES): “WHAT’S COOKING?”

• Wednesday, Nov. 15, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Nov. 17. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Nov. 18. BVFCC ANNIVERSARY GALA AT THE BALLROOM AT THE OUTER SPACE: 5 IN THE CHAMBER, OLIVE TIGER, NU HAVEN KAPELYE more TBA

• Sunday, Nov. 19, 3 PM. JAZZ: TRIO 149

• Thursday, Nov. 30. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Friday, Dec. 1. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Sunday, Dec. 3, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Friday, Jan. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: BEPPE GAMBETTA (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Music: Jellyshirts perform Thurs., Jan. 14, at 8 PM

Jellyshirts_BV_052115_WebJellyshirts play Best Video Film & Cultural Center on Thursday, Jan. 14. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Looking for a frame of reference for Jellyshirts’ music? Try the Velvet Underground and the Byrds. But the band–led by guitarist/vocalist Bret Logan for over 20 years, ably joined by drummer Scott McDonald and bass player Nick Appleby–has a sound determinedly their own.

From the band’s press packet: “Letting the wash of live sound influence each song, without anybody thinking ‘jazz’ or ‘improvisation.’ Never doing covers of our songs. Trying to get you to levitate about one-and-a-half feet off your chair (willingly, of course).”

The short version: They’re loud and they play bars with a mystical need to reach the audience.

From a 2009 Shoreline Times article by musician and WPLR Local Bands radio show host James Velvet: “The band has been held in awe by its fans over the years for its sometimes soaring, sometimes droning sound, always played with intensity and skill. A good example is the current lead tune on their MySpace page, a recent live recording of a song they first performed 15 years ago, ‘Disinclined.’ Ten minutes of dynamic live jamming. ‘Pick and soar’ is how their longtime champion Gary Vollono of IndepenDisc.com describes the sound. To which I would add, ‘…and feedback sometimes.'”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 7. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Friday, Jan. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Jan. 9. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Monday, Jan. 11. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “THE WALK”

• Thursday, Jan. 14. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Jan. 15. SPACE ROCK: LANDING, COLORGUARD & LITUYA BAY

• Monday, Jan. 18. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “PAWN SACRIFICE”

• Thursday, Jan. 21. WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Monday, Jan. 25. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON”

• Thursday, Jan. 28. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Monday, Feb. 1. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “THE MARTIAN”

• Wednesday, Feb. 3. YIDDISH SWING/JAZZ VOCALS: THE SELTZER SISTERS of the NU HAVEN KAPELYE

• Thursday, Feb. 4. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Feb. 5. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: MERCY CHOIR, PAGEANT DOVE

• Monday, Feb. 8. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SICARIO”

• Friday, Feb. 12. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Monday, Feb. 15. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SUFFRAGETTE”

• Friday, Feb. 19. GUITARISTS/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: RANDY COLLINS, IAN ETHAN CASE

• Monday, Feb. 22. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “99 HOMES”

• Friday, Feb. 26. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Thursday, Mar. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOY IKE

• Friday, Mar. 4. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Friday, Mar. 11. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

 

Music: Jellyshirts in the Performance Space on Wed., June 26, at 8 PM

Jellyshirts_Bret_Scott_Lou_Reed_BVJellyshirts play the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, June 26. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Looking for a frame of reference for Jellyshirts’ music? Try the Velvet Underground and the Byrds. But the band—led by guitarist/vocalist Bret Logan for over 20 years, ably joined by drummer Scott McDonald and bass player Nick Appleby—has a sound determinedly their own.

From the band’s press packet:
Letting the wash of live sound influence each song, without anybody thinking “jazz” or “improvisation.” Never doing covers of our songs. Trying to get you to levitate about one-and-a-half feet off your chair (willingly, of course).

The short version: we’re loud and we play bars with a mystical need to reach you.

From a 2009 Shoreline Times article by musician and WPLR Local Bands radio show host James Velvet:

The band has been held in awe by its fans over the years for its sometimes soaring, sometimes droning sound, always played with intensity and skill. A good example is the current lead tune on their MySpace page, a recent live recording of a song they first performed 15 years ago, “Disinclined.” Ten minutes of dynamic live jamming. “Pick and Soar” is how their longtime champion Gary Vollono of IndepenDisc.com describes the sound. To which I would add, “…and feedback sometimes.”

Check out Jellyshirts video for their song “Julia Child”:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, June 13. INDIE ROCK: THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS

• Wednesday, June 19. CABARET: RICH MORAN

• Thursday, June 20. INDIE POP: THE FURORS, AL HOWARD

• Wednesday, June 26. INDIE ROCK: THE JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, June 27. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO

• Wednesday, July 10. ACOUSTIC FOLK: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Thursday, July 11. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Wednesday, July 17. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Wednesday, July 18. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Wednesday, Aug. 7. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Aug. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ILANA ZSIGMOND