Music: 4 indie rock groups—Future Teens, Mineva, Spit-Take, All Riot—play early show Sun., May 20

Couch Yeti Booking and Promotions presents Future Teens, Spit-Take, Mineva and All Riot at Best Video Performance Space on Sunday, May 20. This early show starts at 6 PM and the cover is $8-10 (pay what you can in that range).

Boston-based band Future Teens started as a joke, and perhaps appropriately, the band played their first show in a sweaty basement while a Fourth of July barbecue raged outside. They played three songs at that 2014 show, each less practiced than the one before. The group’s debut EP Still Afraid of Allston was scruffy and full of hooks, a bedroom-pop gem that was recorded “right into the computer—we didn’t even use amps,” Radin (Vocals/Bass) recalls. The charming, conversational songs demanded a fuller sound in a live setting at the band’s shows in their hometown of Boston and beyond and so drummer Dylan Vadakin, guitarist Nick Cortezi, and vocalist and guitarist Amy Hoffman signed on.

The band’s first full length album, “Hard Feelings,” is out now via Take This to Heart Records features 10 tracks of romantic misadventure, miscommunication and mistakes. The album also features songwriting from Hoffman and Vadakin. Hoffman remarks, “These new songs are happy sad. Though some are sadder than others, singing them is always cathartic.”

Spit-Take are an indie-punk trio comprised of members of the bands Heats of Formation and Secret Parts. After having toured the USA and a bit of Canada the summer of 2014 in promotion of their Garbage Heart LP, Joe Katz (guitar/vocal) Maggie Kinsella-Shaw (bass), and Dan Katz (drums) relocated as a band from Willimantic, CT to the Elm City. Their energetic, hook-packed songs reveal a strong affinity for early period Replacements and other garage punk power pop greats from well before these these three recent UCONN graduates were born. Their most recent recording, “Frog Rock,” was released on Bandcamp in May, 2017.

Mineva is a five piece post-hardcore band from central Connecticut.

All Riot is an Meriden, CT based indie/alt rock duo featuring Dan Osto on guitar, keys and vocals and Mitch Guerin on drums. Blending a wide array of styles from singalong synthesizer psych pop to theatrical guitar driven post-punk, All Riot is an unconventional collaborative art project that shouldn’t work, but (sometimes) does. Their most recent album, “Crossfire Traffic,” was released on March, 2017.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION—PROTEST MUSIC CABARET: SETH ADAM, THAT VIRGINIA, PAUL BRYANT HUDSON, ZOO FRONT, BRET LOGAN

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, May 16. JAZZ: CREATIVE ARTS MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Thursday, May 17. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB, PERENNIAL, CITY STREETS COUNTRY ROADS

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, SPIT-TAKE, MINEVA, ALL RIOT

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, May 22. 7 PM. “AGAINST FORGETTING—READINGS FROM THE PETRY OF WITNESS”: READING BY DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, May 23. JAZZ: BOTTOMLEY/SOUZA/MORRISON

• Thursday, May. 24. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Friday, May 25. ACOUSTIC OLD-TIMEY/SWING: THE RED HOTS; AMERICANA: PAT STONE

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, May 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BEN MIKULA/THE LONE GNOME

• Thursday, May 31. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA & FAYE GREEN

• Friday, June 1. JAZZ: HAMDEN HIGH SCHOOL JAZZ COMBO

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, June 6. AVANT-GARDE: ERNESTO CÁRCAMO CAVAZOS, HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Thursday, June 7. ROCK/JAZZ: STORMIN NORMAN with MAT KASTNER

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 14. BLUEGRASS: THE ANGRY O’HARAS

• Friday, June 15, 7:30 PM. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE & THE DIRTY BOOTS; ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Sunday, June 17, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Monday, June 18, 6:30 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 22. JAZZ: THE PAUL SHANLEY QUINTET

• Wednesday, June 27. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE BUTTONDOWNS, DR. MARTINO

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, June 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: PONY BIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, July 1, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, July 3. CLASSICAL MUSIC/SOLO VIOLIN & ELECTRONICS: ERIK CARLSON

• Thursday, July 5. FILM SCREENING with LIVE SCORE: “THE PASSION OF JOAN OF ARC”

• Tuesday, July 10, 5:30-7:30. WALK TO END ALZHEIMER’S TEAM SIGN-UP

• Saturday, July 14. IMPROVISED MUSIC: GREX

• Sunday, July 15, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Thursday, July 19. FUNKY BLUESY ORIGINAL JAZZ: BAM JAM

• Tuesday, July 24. FILM SCORES OF NINA ROTA: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, July 27. FOLK: LOVERS LEAGUE; INIE FOLK/POP: RAVI KRISHNASWAMI

• Tuesday, July 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 3. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)