Film screening: Gen X film series continues Sun., Apr. 23, with David Lynch’s creepy “Blue Velvet”

Best Video Film & Cultural Center’s Generation X film series continues on Sunday, Apr. 23, with a screening of David Lynch’s cult classic “Blue Velvet.” The series features six films of the 1980s and early 1990s that touch on the culture and politics that informed so-called “Generation X.”

The series was the idea of BVFCC members Jennifer Griffiths and Sarah Strong. Working with BVFCC Program Director Hank Hoffman, they crafted a program that will both highly entertaining and thought provoking.

Each screening begins at 7 PM and admission is $7.

In Blue Velvet, David Lynch peels back the veneer of small-town respectability to expose a shadow side of the Amerian psyche. Released in 1986 at the height of government attempts to outlaw sexually explicit material, Blue Velvet’s unflinching portrayal of erotic taboos and violence created an uproar. Kyle McLachlan and Laura Dern are the young innocents who stumble upon a disturbing mystery; Isabella Rosselini is the nightclub singer at its center. Dennis Hopper is unforgettable as Frank, a sociopath with an Oedipus complex. Ranked by the American Film Institute as one of the ten greatest mystery films ever made, this cult classic shows Lynch at his most noirish and disturbing best.

From New York Times critic Janet Maslin’s 1986 review:

Other directors labor long and hard to achieve the fevered perversity that comes so naturally to David Lynch, whose ”Blue Velvet” is an instant cult classic. With ”Eraserhead,” ”The Elephant Man” and ”Dune” to his credit, Mr. Lynch had already established his beachhead inside the realm of the bizarre, but this latest venture takes him a lot further. Kinkiness is its salient quality, but ”Blue Velvet” has deadpan humor too, as well as a straight-arrow side that makes its eccentricity all the crazier. There’s no mistaking the exhilarating fact that it’s one of a kind.

Remaining schedule:

Sunday. Apr. 23: “Blue Velvet”

Sunday, Apr. 30: “Do the Right Thing”

Sunday, May 7: “Thelma and Louise”

Sunday, May 14: “My Beautiful Launderette”

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Wednesday, Apr. 19. FOLK ROCK: WE HAPPY FEW, GUITAR: DAVID DeLUCIA

• Thursday, Apr. 20. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Friday, Apr. 21. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: DUST HAT

• Saturday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Sunday, Apr. 23, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Thursday, Apr. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ZACH ANDERSEN, ACOUSTIC DUO: THE HOOCH

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Wednesday, May 3, 7 PM. FILM SCREENINGS & LECTURE/TALKBACK: THOMAS WEXLER ON “I HAVE A DREAM”: THE CIVIL RIGHTS GENERATION, AND HIP-HOP IN THE SOCIAL UNCONSCIOUS (Just added!)

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, May 24. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

“Complex and Compelling” film series concludes with “Mulholland Drive,” Mon., May 19, at 7 PM

The film series “Complex and Compelling: Fun Movies That Make You Think,” a joint presentation of Best Video and Temple Beth Sholom, was suspended while the Coffee and Wine Bar and the Performance Space were relocated to the other side of the store. The concluding film, “Mulholland Drive, will sreen Monday, May 19. The screenings start at 7 PM. Admission cost is $5 and reservations are recommended.

Mulholland_Drive

The final film in the series is the 2001 David Lynch-directed “Mulholland Drive.” Best Video owner Hank Paper will introduce the film and lead the discussion afterwards. In his 2001 review of the movie, critic Roger Ebert proclaimed:

David Lynch has been working toward “Mulholland Drive” all of his career, and now that he’s arrived there I forgive him “Wild at Heart” and even “Lost Highway.” At last his experiment doesn’t shatter the test tubes. The movie is a surrealist dreamscape in the form of a Hollywood film noir, and the less sense it makes, the more we can’t stop watching it.

 

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, May 14. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, May 15. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO

• Sunday, May 18. SUNDAY CHILDREN’S FILM MATINEE

• Monday, May 19. FILM SCREENING: “MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

• Wednesday, May 21. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, May 22. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ILANA ZSIGMOND, SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Monday, May 26. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, May 28. POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SAM PERDUTA, JASON PRINCE

• Wednesday, June 4. ROCK: THE IVORY BILLS

• Thursday, June 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM & TOM HANFORD, BOP TWEEDIE

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

This Monday’s scheduled screening of “Memento” postponed to Mon., Mar. 30

MementoBecause of the rearranging of the store and the relocation of the Performance Space and screening room to the other side of our space, this Monday’s scheduled showing of the 2000 thriller “Memento” is being rescheduled to Monday, Mar. 30. The Mar. 24 screening of “Mulholland Drive” will take place as originally scheduled.

The theme of the current current Best Video/Temple Beth Sholom film series collaboration is “Complex and Compelling: Fun Movies That Make You Think.” Best Video owner Hank Paper and Rabbi Benjamin Scolnic take turns presenting and leading discussions of six unique and stirring films that not only make you think but change the way you think.

Each movie starts at 7 PM. Admission cost is $5. Reservations are highly recommended.

The next film to be shown now will be “Mulholland Drive,” director David Lynch’s 2001 take on film noir. Best Video owner Hank Paper will introduce the film and lead the post-screening discussion. In his 2001 review of “Mulholland Drive, ” film critic Roger Ebert wrote:

David Lynch has been working toward “Mulholland Drive” all of his career, and now that he’s arrived there I forgive him “Wild at Heart” and even “Lost Highway.” At last his experiment doesn’t shatter the test tubes. The movie is a surrealist dreamscape in the form of a Hollywood film noir, and the less sense it makes, the more we can’t stop watching it.

The now final film in the series is the 2000 thriller “Memento.” Best Video staffers Michael Wheatley and Rob Harmon will introduce the film and lead the discussion afterwards. Directed and written by Christopher Nolan, “Memento” stars Guy Pearce. In his 2000 New York Times review critic A.O. Scott wrote:

“Memento” is a brilliant feat of rug-pulling, sure to delight fans of movies like “The Usual Suspects” and “Pi.” Like Darren Aronofsky (who directed “Pi” and last year’s “Requiem for a Dream”), Mr. Nolan demonstrates a supercharged cinematic intelligence. He’s clearly excited by the way the medium can manipulate time and information, folding straightforward events and simple motives into Moebius strips of paradox and indeterminacy.

This is the remaining schedule for “Complex and Compelling”:

• Monday, Mar. 24: MULHOLLAND DRIVE
• Monday, Mar. 30: MEMENTO