Music: Telegram Scam plays goth/shoegaze rock Thurs., Feb. 22; House Dad opens

Indie band Telegram Scam plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Feb. 22. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5. The band House Dad opens.

Telegram Scam hails from New Haven, CT. A rock & roll band, they “write what we know: sex and death. Usually in that order.” They are comprised of New Haven guitarist/vocalist Tim Goselin, vocalist Jules, keyboard player DC, and drummer Brett Harris. Influences include the Jesus and Mary Chain, the Raveonettes, BRMC, the Misfits, Phil Spector, Depeche Mode.

Telegram Scam returns to Best Video for another dose of echo-drenched gloom-pop. They officially released their debut EP “Good-Looking Corpses” in January, 2016 and left ears ringing across the globe thanks to the support of independent radio.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, Feb. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER/FUTURE SOUL: PAUL BRYANT HUDSON

• Saturday, Feb. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM, DAN GREENE (of THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS)

• Sunday, Feb. 18, 3 PM. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: BRILLIANT DARKNESS

• Wednesday, Feb. 21. JAM BAND: JS3 (THE JOHN SPIGNESI BAND ACOUSTIC)

• Thursday, Feb. 22. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Feb. 23. AVANT-GARDE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT, AVMUS

• Tuesday, Feb. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Feb. 28. PSYCHEDELIC INDIE: WITCH HAIR

• Thursday, MAR. 1, 8 PM. ABIOSEH JOSEPH COLE: POETRY FOR THE LIVING; DAVID BRENSILVER: MUSIC FOR THE DOOMED

• Friday, Mar. 2. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL & THE BIRDMEN

• Sunday, Mar. 4, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 7. JAZZ/FUSION/CHAPMAN STICK: TOM GRIESGRABER; BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Mar. 8. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: SHAWN TAYLOR, KRISTEN GRAVES

• Friday, Mar. 9. POWER POP: THE GRAND PAR; LAINI

• Wednesday, Mar. 14, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Mar. 15. VIDEO GAME MUSIC: DISCOCACTUS

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Mar. 18, 6 PM. NIGHT OF IRISH SONGS: CHARLIE KING, ANNIE PATTERSON & PETER BLOOD (TIX: https://www.riseupandsing.org/events/rising-moon-new-haven)

• Monday, Mar. 19, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Mar. 22. INDIE ROCK: TREADWELL

• Friday, Mar. 23. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SOLO DOUBLE BASS: CHARLES BERTHOUD

• Saturday, Mar. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES; AUDIO JANE

• Tuesday, Mar. 27, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Mar. 30. BLUES ROCK: VANGE DURST; JAZZ/FOLK/ROCK: SEMAPHORA

• Sunday, Apr. 2, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Apr. 5. POWER POP: THE MOLD MONKIES

• Wednesday, Apr. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Apr. 12. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Friday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR, LITTLE SILVER

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Monday, Apr. 16, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNELLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, May 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION: PROTEST MUSIC CABARET

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, more TBA

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Music: If Jesus Had Machine Guns plays Thurs., June 1

If Jesus Had Machine Guns plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, June 1. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

If Jesus Had Machine Guns are an 80’s influenced gothic dream pop band from New England. Started in 2008 by Jimi Patterson, the band has evolved over time growing in members. There have been a slew of demos released. However, “Peasants”—soon to be available digitally on Bandcamp—marks the first official album not recorded in a bedroom (entirely.) Jason Sirianni, Jon Watanbe and Jimi Patterson will perform as a three piece for an exclusive Best Video set.

Peasants cover art by Maria Kreyn.

From a recent review of a live performance by the group:

“The general dreaminess of the sound doesn’t prepare you for the band’s live show, which kicks the energy up about 500 notches. The six-piece plays really well together, blending electronic tones from keyboards and drum machines with the live sounds of electric guitars, bass, and drums in a thoughtful, compelling way, and the band loses itself in the music when it plays.

But the band’s unmistakable focus is Jimi Patterson, its lead vocalist. The press release for this show describes him as an “in-earnest maniac,” and for once it’s not exaggerating. Before the show, Patterson stretched on stage, and did poses, some yogic, some balletic, some like a bodybuilder. It was only a taste of what was coming. In song after song, Patterson was transformed, leaping into the crowd and up on tables, doing a lap around the bar, lunging across the stage, throwing his hands to the sky, getting down on his knees. All of this was performed with a raw intensity that made it much more than a routine; it was the physical expression of what he was feeling and wanted us to feel. In a night of great music, the look in Patterson’s eyes was the most electrifying thing.”

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, June 7. ALT-COUNTRY: LEFT ON SCARLET STREET, SINGER-SONGWRITER: RON SPEARS

• Thursday, June 8. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS, THE PROUD FLESH

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, June 14. INIDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE

• Thursday, June 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DAVID BROOKS (OF THE STREAMS)

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, June 21. PROGRESSIVE FOLK: FE FI FO, SINGER-SONGWRITER: KRIZTA MOON

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Wednesday, June 28. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC IMPROVISATION: NOAH & DAVID CHEVAN

• Thursday, June 29. POST-MODERN JAZZ/VOCALS: MÉLANGE À TROIS

• Friday, June 30. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARMS STRING BAND

• Friday, July 7. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE RIGHT OFFS

• Friday, July 14. ROCK: ROPE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Wednesday, Aug. 2. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Wednesday, Aug. 9. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Aug. 25. POP ROCK: OBERON ROSE

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (ODDBALL PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN