Music: Rope rocks Fri., Apr. 15, at 8 PM

Rope_BV_082114_WebThe rock trio Rope plays Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Apr. 15. Harry Tokarz opens with a solo set. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

ROPE is a New Haven based trio playing original music, classics, underground gems, lowdown blues and folk. We also dig surf-music and lay it out both electric and acoustic. Members are all veteran performers having played in such bands as Bill Bakers Satins, SUBDUEDS (New Haven), Christine Ohlman, Hilton Valentine’s Skiffledog (guitarist for The Animals) to name a few. Sal Paradise—guitars vocals, composer/arranger—has been active in the New Haven and CT Music scene since 1978.

ROPE is Sal Paradise (guitar, vocals) Pat Quinn, (drums, back-up vocals) and David Hurd (bass).

Harry Tokarz is a singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist from Branford, CT. Eclectic in his approach, Harry is influenced by a variety of genres including folk, blues, psychedelic rock, country, indie, shoegaze, experimental, drone, and world music.

Harry Tokarz

Harry Tokarz

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday. Apr. 8. FOLK: HUGH BIRDSALL & DANA TAKAKI

• Monday, Apr. 11. FILM SCREENING: “THE CONTENDER”

• Thursday, Apr. 14. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE, BOX FAN

• Friday, Apr. 15. ROCK: ROPE

• Tues., Apr. 19. FILM SCREENING: “BULWORTH”

• Wednesday, Apr. 20. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Thursday, Apr. 21. INDIE FOLK: THE MID SEASON, XAVIER SERRANO

• Friday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT, GARY GRIPPO & FRIENDS

• Monday, Apr. 25. FILM SCREENING: “A FACE IN THE CROWD”

• Thursday, Apr. 28. SEPHARDIC MUSIC: THE HERETICS OF CORDOBA

• Monday, May 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE CANDIDATE”

Thursday, May 5. FOLK/BLUEGRASS: WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Friday, May 6. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Monday, May 9. FILM SCREENING: “FRUITVALE STATION”

• Wednesday, May 11. ROCK: THE NEW CHASTITY

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Monday, May 16. FILM SCREENING: “SARAH’S KEY” (in partnership with the Jewish Community Center of New Haven)

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, BLACK FLUFF

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL