Music: Adventurous “new music” by Dave Scanlon, Underwear, & Human Flourishing Wed., Aug. 9

It’s a night of experimental music on Wednesday, Aug. 9, when Dave Scanlon, Underwear and Human Flourishing play sets. The show starts at 7 PM and the cover is $5.

Dave Scanlon.

Dave Scanlon is a composer/guitarist. Scanlon is an active member of the experimental rock band JOBS (fka killer BOB), the avant-garde collective Pet Bottle Ningen, and the pop group Leverage Models. Scanlon has released music on New Amsterdam Records, Tzadik Records, Hometapes, Clean Feed Records, New Atlantis Records, and Primary Records. He has had the pleasure of performing at Jazz Art Sengawa (Japan), Sapporo City Jazz Festival (Japan), Incline/Decline (Canada), Pop Montreal (Canada), Hopscotch Music Festival (USA), SXSW (USA), Northside Music Festival (USA), and other festivals. In March 2013, Scanlon was honored to curate The Stone, a not-for-profit art space run by John Zorn. Scanlon’s writings on music have been published in Arcana: Musicians on Music VII. In April 2016, Scanlon and quilter Emma Banay presented their collaborative project, Quilt Music, at Interlude Asheville hosted by the Black Mountain College Museum and the Media Arts Project. Scanlon has performed with Otomo Yoshihide, David Behrman, Elliott Sharp, Jessica Pavone, Hayashi Eiichi, Yamamoto Seiichi (of The Boredoms), Nonoko Yoshida, Steven Lugerner, Shannon Fields (Stars Like Fleas, Helado Negro, Leverage Models), Aaron Roche, Jason Ajemian, John Niekrasz, and others.

Underwear is the new music project of musician Nick Grunerud. His most recent record, “Secrets $$$$,” was released on Aug. 1 on Bandcamp. Of the new record, he says, “This album is the culmination of many ideas, thoughts, processes, my shift in perception of what an album could be for this particular project. ”

Underwear.

Human Flourishing—featuring Connor Pereault and Gregory Paul—explores the spiritual connectivity between people through the creation of tense sound environments in a variety of spaces. Whether located in an abandoned farm structure or a New York gallery, the audience is encapsulated by the experience happening before them; transforming the surroundings into an ethereal or satanical plane. Human Flourishing’s experimental sound horizons encourage inner reflection and spiritual connectivity to a world that seems isolated and cold. The resulting music is a celebration of fellow feeling. It’s about embracing uncertainty, loving a friend’s weirdness, exploring mistakes, and exorcising demons.

Human Flourishing at Best Video in March, 2016.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Aug. 3, 7:30 PM. WOMEN’S FILM SCREENING: “THE MILKY WAY”—HOSTED BY THE JCC OF GREATER NEW HAVEN FOR WORLD BREASTFEEDING WEEK (FREE)

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Sunday, Aug. 6, 11-3 PM. ART SALE—ORIGINAL PRINTS

• Wednesday, Aug. 9. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING, DAVE SCANLON, UNDERWEAR

• Thursday, Aug. 10. ALT-COUNTRY: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND, ELISA FLYNN

• Sunday, Aug. 13, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Aug. 16. INDIE ROCK: FURNSSS, TRASH CAN

• Thursday, Aug. 17. STEEL DRUM MUSIC: MIMOSA

• Fridy, Aug. 18. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: ALLEN LOWE & FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Saturday, Aug. 19. DEEP HAMDEN—A JAZZ MINI-FESTIVAL: AN HISTORIC; ROSEMARY MINKLER TRIO; BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Wednesday, Aug. 23. INDIE ROCK: ROZ & THE RICE CAKES, TEENAGE HALLOWEEN (A TINY BOX BOOKING SHOW)

• Thursday, Aug. 24. ROCK/JAZZ/SOUL: JOE STEIN; INDIE ROCK: ALEX MCGUIRE

• Friday, Aug. 25. POP ROCK: OBERON ROSE; SINGER-SONGWRITER: CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Aug. 31. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN ’66

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

Thursday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Sept. 16, 8 PM. EXPERIMENTAL/DRONE: GARDENER, LANDING

• Wednesday, Sept. 20. BLUEGRASS: BAIT AND SWITCH

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Sept. 29. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (ODDBALL PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Oct. 13. FLASH FICTION: PAUL BECKMAN

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

Music: Elm Fiction (CD Release show!), Black Fluff perform Thurs., Apr. 6

The adventurous quartet Elm Fiction and the duo Black Fluff play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Apr. 6. The music starts at 8 Pm and the over is $5.

ELM FICTION celebrates the release of their new CD, Score, with a performance at Best Video Film & Cultural Center. They will be presenting selections from the CD, plus brand new music and interpretations of music by Mingus, Messiaen, Bowie, and Waits. Joining them on the bill will be Black Fluff, the duo of Chris Cretella and Mike Paolucci.

Elm Fiction.

The new CD by Elm Fiction tells a story about ten years. It is the music behind the story, the Score, that is presented here. The themes and tones follow a narrative arc that reflects this experience from a few particular angles. One story. One score. The group came together to celebrate the 10 year anniversary of the New Haven Improvisers Collective. Each brought a piece in and the group worked together to turn them into a complete work, arranging and connecting the pieces and using ideas and themes across the entire work. Out of Many, One.

ELM FICTION consists of New Haven composers and improvisers Jeff Cedrone (guitar), Bob Gorry(guitar), Tom Hogan(drums), and Adam Matlock(accordion).   Come experience where they’ve been, the excitement/anger/tenacity of where they are now, and a glimpse of where they might be going.

Chris Cretella and Mike Paolucci are a New Haven guitar/drums duo with firepower, intensity, and more than a little grace. They put out a CD recently entitled Black Fluff that creates a mood with telepathy, snarls, and parachutes to what looks like it might be safety. Powerful Stuff.   Best to enjoy the dissolution in person on April 6th.

Black Fluff CD.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Mar. 30. ALTERNATIVE/AMERICANA: THE WYRD BROTHERS; SINGER-SONGWRITER: JACK ROLLINS

• Friday, Mar. 31. ACOUSTIC ROCK: EDNA; SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAL PARADISE

• Sunday, Apr. 2. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, Apr. 2, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “PHILADELPHIA”

• Thursday, Apr. 6. AVANT-GARDE: ELM FICTION, BLACK FLUFF

• Friday, Apr. 7. ROCK: GHOST RADIO, SONIA & SID

• Saturday, Apr. 8, 7 PM. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX LYMAN; AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: ALEXANDER; SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAM MOTH

• Sunday, Apr. 9. REDSCROLL RECORDS SCREENING AND MUSIC: “DEADBEAT AT DAWN” with LIVE SOUNDTRACK BY NEPHEW

• Thursday, Apr. 13. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Friday, Apr. 14. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Apr. 16, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Wednesday, Apr. 19. FOLK ROCK: WE HAPPY FEW

• Thursday, Apr. 20. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Friday, Apr. 21. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: DUST HAT

• Saturday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Sunday, Apr. 23, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Wednesday, May 17. BLUEGRASS: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Sunday, May 21, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER DUO

• Sunday, June 4, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

Music: Electronhic CD release show Thurs., May 26, at 8 PM

Electronhic_WebElectronhic plays Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, May 26. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover. The group has just released their new CD, “Reaching Out.”

ELECTRONHIC is driven by Chapman Stick and Drums, with comments, noise, electronics, saxophones, whistles and guitars.

The group started with a directive to keep still and leave space. The music was allowed to present itself and breathe without being forced. Motion gradually crept in and flourished with rhythms and energetic counterpoint, but open space remained.  As the group continues to move, space is especially evident in certain pieces, but it remains an important element even in the pieces that veer towards avant-rock.

The new CD, Reaching Out, features a few riff-based workouts, some thoughtful meandering, and some aggressive, head-scratching, explorations.
www.music.nhic-records.com

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, CRETELLA|PAOLUCCI DUO, ID M THEFT ABLE & FLANDREW FLEISENBERG

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, May 26. EXPERIMENTAL: ELECTRONHIC

• Friday, May 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, June 2. HALFWAY TO GUITAR NIGHT: SHAWN PERSINGER, NANCY TUCKER, NORMAN PLANKEY, ROBERT MESSORE (7:30 START)

• Friday, June 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

• Sunday, June 5. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wed., June 8. INDIE ROCK: GUN SHY, SHIRESE

• Thursday, June 9. CABARET/SINATRA: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, June 10. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Sunday, June 12. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“DOUBLE INDEMNITY”)

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, June 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, June 19. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“SUNSET BOULEVARD”)

• Thursday, June 23. INDIE FOLK: JACKET THOR, CAT THUMBS, PALE MOON PALE WITCH

• Friday, June 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Sunday, June 26. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“STALAG 17”)

• Wednesday, June 29. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS CD RELEASE SHOW

• Thursday, June 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, QUINN HARLEY

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM, SPECTRAL FANGS

• Sunday, July 3. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, July 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOSÉ OYOLA

• Sunday, July 10. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“WITNESS FOR THE PROSECUTION”)

• Thursday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE ROCK: DANIELLE CAPALBO

• Friday, July 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. INDIE ROCK: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL