Music: The Birdmen bring James Velvet songs to BVFCC on Fri., Aug. 26

Birdmen_BVFCC_112715_02_WebThe Birdmen return to play Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Aug. 26. The show starts at 8 PM and cover is $5.

The Birdmen are Johnny Java (bass), John Lindberg (electric guitar), Johnny Memphis (vocals/guitar/fiddle), and Dick Neal (vocals/guitar/mandolin/banjo). All four are longtime musical collaborators of James Velvet, a beloved figure on the New Haven music scene who passed away April of last year. They will carry on performing music either composed by James or associated with his many musical personas.

Johnny Java and Dick Neal performed with Velvet in his bands The Mockingbirds and The Lonesome Sparrows. John Lindberg played guitar with Velvet in the Ivory Bills; Java played drums in that group. Johnny Memphis, who played guitar and fiddle in The Lonesome Sparrows was a longtime collaborator with James Velvet.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Thursday, Aug. 18. ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, Aug. 21. INDIE ROCK: WALTER, ETC.; BLOWOUT, 1 more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 24. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Aug. 25. JAZZ: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Friday, Aug. 26. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Aug. 31. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Thursday, Sept. 1. ACOUSTIC BLUES/FOLK: DITTYMACK

• Friday, Sept. 2. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Sept. 4. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM SPONSORED BY GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS

• Thursday, Sept. 8. INDIE POP: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Monday, Sept. 12. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE WAY”

• Wednesday, Sept. 14. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: QUIET GIANT (SOLO), THE REFECTORY

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Monday, Sept. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THIRTEEN DAYS”

• Thursday, Sept. 22. PIANO MUSIC: DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, EDDIE SEVILLE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING (3 PM): “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Sunday, Sept. 25. FILM SCREENING (7 PM): “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, CK, GLUMPUPPET

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…”

• Wednesday, Oct. 19. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: STEPHEN CHOPEK

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”

 

Music: The Birdmen fly back into BVFCC Fri, May 27

Birdmen_BVFCC_112715_02_WebThe Birdmen return to play Best Video Performance Space on Friday, May 27. The show starts at 8 PM and cover is $5.

The Birdmen are Johnny Java (bass), John Lindberg (electric guitar), Johnny Memphis (vocals/guitar/fiddle), and Dick Neal (vocals/guitar/mandolin/banjo). All four are longtime musical collaborators of James Velvet, a beloved figure on the New Haven music scene who passed away April of last year. They will carry on performing music either composed by James or associated with his many musical personas.

Johnny Java and Dick Neal performed with Velvet in his bands The Mockingbirds and The Lonesome Sparrows. John Lindberg played guitar with Velvet in the Ivory Bills; Java played drums in that group. Johnny Memphis, who played guitar and fiddle in The Lonesome Sparrows was a longtime collaborator with James Velvet.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, CRETELLA|PAOLUCCI DUO, ID M THEFT ABLE & FLANDREW FLEISENBERG

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, May 26. EXPERIMENTAL: ELECTRONHIC

• Friday, May 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, June 2. HALFWAY TO GUITAR NIGHT: SHAWN PERSINGER, NANCY TUCKER, NORMAN PLANKEY, ROBERT MESSORE (7:30 START)

• Friday, June 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

• Sunday, June 5. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wed., June 8. INDIE ROCK: GUN SHY, SHIRESE

• Thursday, June 9. CABARET/SINATRA: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, June 10. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Sunday, June 12. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“DOUBLE INDEMNITY”)

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, June 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, June 19. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“SUNSET BOULEVARD”)

• Thursday, June 23. INDIE FOLK: JACKET THOR, CAT THUMBS, PALE MOON PALE WITCH

• Friday, June 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Sunday, June 26. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“STALAG 17”)

• Wednesday, June 29. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS CD RELEASE SHOW

• Thursday, June 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, QUINN HARLEY

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM, SPECTRAL FANGS

• Sunday, July 3. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, July 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOSÉ OYOLA

• Sunday, July 10. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY BILLY WILDER (“WITNESS FOR THE PROSECUTION”)

• Thursday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER/INDIE ROCK: DANIELLE CAPALBO

• Friday, July 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. INDIE ROCK: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

 

Music: The Birdmen play tunes from the James Velvet songbook Wed., July 22, at 8 PM

Birdmen_WebThe Birdmen play Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, July 22. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Birdmen are Johnny Java (bass), John Lindberg (electric guitar), Johnny Memphis (vocals/guitar/fiddle), and Dick Neal (vocals/guitar/mandolin/banjo). All four are longtime musical collaborators of James Velvet, a beloved figure on the New Haven music scene who passed away this past April. They will carry on performing music either composed by James or associated with his many musical personas.

Johnny Java and Dick Neal performed with Velvet in his bands The Mockingbirds and The Lonesome Sparrows. John Lindberg played guitar with Velvet in the Ivory Bills; Java played drums in that group. Johnny Memphis, who played guitar and fiddle in The Lonesome Sparrows, was a longtime collaborator with James Velvet.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, July 15. JAZZ: THE ELLIGERS BROTHERS

• Thursday, July 16. STAND-UP COMEDY: RICH CYR & FRIENDS

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Tuesday, July 21. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Wednesday, July 22. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN (Former members of JAMES VELVET’S groups THE LONESOME SPARROWS & THE IVORY BILLS)

• Thursday, July 23. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SHAUN BOWEN, KEVIN MF KING

• Friday, July 24. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ANNE MARIE MENTA, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS

• Wednesday, July 29. CARIBBEAN/FOLK: THE LUKE RODNEY BAND

• Thursday, July 30. CABARET/CROONING/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Friday, July 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAMUEL BASS

• Thursday, Aug. 6. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Friday, Aug. 7. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Wednesday, Aug. 12. ELECTRONIC IMPROVISATION: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI & DEREK PIOTR

• Thursday, Aug. 13. INDIE FOLK: KINDRED QUEER

• Wednesday, Aug. 19. FOLK: WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Thursday, Aug. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Friday, Aug. 21. BLUEGRASS: FIDDLE FOREVER

• Tuesday, Aug. 25. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 28. FILM SCREENING: “HEAD” (CT-PRODUCED LIVE PUPPET HORROR FEATURE)

• Wednesday, Sept. 16. COMEDY OPEN MIC WITH DAN CARRANO & DAN RICE

• Tuesday, Sept. 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: HANNAH FAIR

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE

Mark Your Calendar: Best Video fundraiser on Sun., June 29, from 3—6 PM (UPDATED 6/27—Silent Art Auction, Performers, Premiums for Larger Donations)

Fundraiser_color_alt version_rev_062714_WebUPDATED 6/27: Silent art auction! Details below.

UPDATED 6/26: Premiums for different donation levels posted!

UPDATE 6/23: Performers names and times posted below!

Best Video is holding a fundraiser on Sunday afternoon, June 29, from 3—6 PM to help defray the costs of our renovations. Donation levels for attending are Friend ($25 and up), Patron ($50 and up), Movie Star ($100 and up), Oscar Winner ($500 and up) and Mogul ($1,000 and up)There will be special premiums for Patron, Movie Star, Oscar Winner and Mogul donors.

Patron donors ($50) will receive one monthly free rental for a year as well as a Best Video coffee mug. For the Movie Stars among you ($100 donation), expect the monthly free rental, the coffee mug and a Best Video t-shirt. Oscar Winners get the mug and t-shirt as well as two free movies per week for a year. If you’re a Mogul, you’re entitled to the mug, the t-shirt and four free movies per week for a year.

The event will feature music, delicious snacks (from baker Carol Merriman, renowned New Haven restaurant Caseus and others). The store may be closed during the event, which will be a fun time where members and supporters of the store can relax, chat, network and enjoy the music. Let’s all celebrate the continued vitality of our contribution to the local cultural community. And learn more about our plans for expanded programming in our beautiful new Performance Space.

Cellist Ravenna Michalsen will perform works from the English/Scottis/Irish cello canon from 3:05—3:30 PM with accompaniment by cellist Lynne Bonnett. Brazilian music with jazz inflections will be offered from 3:50—4:15 by bassist Jeff Fuller and guitarist Joe Carter. Local singer-songwriter and proponent of Local Bands on WPLR-FM James Velvet takes a turn from 4:35—5 PM, joined by his guitar-playing compatriot Johnny Memphis. And from 5:20—5:45 PM, trumpeter Nick Di Maria will offer up some swinging modern jazz sounds with his quintet.

There will also be a silent art auction as part of this event. Among the respected local artists and photographers who have donated or will be donating works are Gerald Saladyga, Marjorie Wolfe, Keith Johnson, Christopher Mir, Steven DiGiovanni, William McCarthy, Nancy Eisenfeld, Tony Juliano, Graham Honaker and Best Video owner Hank Paper.

Make your reservation in advance at the store or by phone (203-287-9286) or contribute at the door on June 29.

If you want to contribute but can’t make it on Sunday, you can still support us! You can drop by the store and contribute, or call and use a card (203-287-9286) or send a check to Best Video, Attention: Best Video Fundraiser, 1842 Whitney Ave., Hamden, CT 06517.

Enlist your neighbors and encourage your friends to sign up for our email list at our BestVideo.com Web site or at the front counter in the store.

Stay tuned for more details!