Music: Elm Fiction (CD Release show!), Black Fluff perform Thurs., Apr. 6

The adventurous quartet Elm Fiction and the duo Black Fluff play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Apr. 6. The music starts at 8 Pm and the over is $5.

ELM FICTION celebrates the release of their new CD, Score, with a performance at Best Video Film & Cultural Center. They will be presenting selections from the CD, plus brand new music and interpretations of music by Mingus, Messiaen, Bowie, and Waits. Joining them on the bill will be Black Fluff, the duo of Chris Cretella and Mike Paolucci.

Elm Fiction.

The new CD by Elm Fiction tells a story about ten years. It is the music behind the story, the Score, that is presented here. The themes and tones follow a narrative arc that reflects this experience from a few particular angles. One story. One score. The group came together to celebrate the 10 year anniversary of the New Haven Improvisers Collective. Each brought a piece in and the group worked together to turn them into a complete work, arranging and connecting the pieces and using ideas and themes across the entire work. Out of Many, One.

ELM FICTION consists of New Haven composers and improvisers Jeff Cedrone (guitar), Bob Gorry(guitar), Tom Hogan(drums), and Adam Matlock(accordion).   Come experience where they’ve been, the excitement/anger/tenacity of where they are now, and a glimpse of where they might be going.

Chris Cretella and Mike Paolucci are a New Haven guitar/drums duo with firepower, intensity, and more than a little grace. They put out a CD recently entitled Black Fluff that creates a mood with telepathy, snarls, and parachutes to what looks like it might be safety. Powerful Stuff.   Best to enjoy the dissolution in person on April 6th.

Black Fluff CD.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Mar. 30. ALTERNATIVE/AMERICANA: THE WYRD BROTHERS; SINGER-SONGWRITER: JACK ROLLINS

• Friday, Mar. 31. ACOUSTIC ROCK: EDNA; SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAL PARADISE

• Sunday, Apr. 2. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, Apr. 2, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “PHILADELPHIA”

• Thursday, Apr. 6. AVANT-GARDE: ELM FICTION, BLACK FLUFF

• Friday, Apr. 7. ROCK: GHOST RADIO, SONIA & SID

• Saturday, Apr. 8, 7 PM. CLASSICAL GUITAR: MAX LYMAN; AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: ALEXANDER; SINGER-SONGWRITER: SAM MOTH

• Sunday, Apr. 9. REDSCROLL RECORDS SCREENING AND MUSIC: “DEADBEAT AT DAWN” with LIVE SOUNDTRACK BY NEPHEW

• Thursday, Apr. 13. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Friday, Apr. 14. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Apr. 16, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Wednesday, Apr. 19. FOLK ROCK: WE HAPPY FEW

• Thursday, Apr. 20. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Friday, Apr. 21. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: DUST HAT

• Saturday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Sunday, Apr. 23, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Wednesday, May 17. BLUEGRASS: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Sunday, May 21, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER DUO

• Sunday, June 4, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

Music: Milksop: Unsung uncorks some psycho-folk on Fri., Dec. 18, at 8 PM—Last Ever Performance!

Milksop_Unsung_BV_112814_WebMilksop: Unsung plays their own bluegrass/folk music like a punk band. Or vice versa. But it’s all acoustic and wildly lively. And they will be playing it at Best Video Performance Space on Friday, Dec. 18, in what will be—alas—the band’s last performances. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

What is “psycho-folk?” The best way to find out is to come to see and hear New Haven band Milksop: Unsung.  Members of the group are Dan Carrano (mandolin, acoustic guitar), T.J. Jackson (acoustic guitar, banjo), Greg Perault (upright bass) and Mike Paolucci (percussion). With that instrumentation, it should be no surprise that the band’s roots are in bluegrass and Americana. But they put their own 21st-century twisted twist on those forms.

Or, you can use this description of Milksop: Unsung’s music from their Bandcamp page: “a greasy-diner omelet of Folk, Swing, Rock, and Blues, performing original and eccentric arrangements augmented by witty humor, blistering energy, and found percussion.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Dec. 10. BLUES/FOLK/COUNTRY: CODA BLUE

• Friday, Dec. 11. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Dec. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“DR. STRANGELOVE”)

• Wednesday, Dec. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BRIAN DOLZANI

• Friday, Dec. 18. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Sunday, Dec. 20. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY STANLEY KUBRICK (“BARRY LYNDON”)

• Wednesday, Dec. 30. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES, SOLIN

• Friday, Jan. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Jan. 14. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Jan. 15. SPACE ROCK: LANDING, COLORGUARD

• Thursday, Jan. 28. BLUEGRASS: THE DUDLEY FARM STRING BAND

• Friday, Feb. 5. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: MERCY CHOIR, PAGEANT DOVE

• Friday, Feb. 19. GUITARISTS/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: RANDY COLLINS, IAN ETHAN CASE

• Friday, Feb. 26. ALT-COUNTRY: NO LINES NORTH

• Friday, Mar. 11. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI

Music: Milksop: Unsung purvey “psycho-folk” on Fri., Nov. 28, at 8 PM

Milksop: Unsung playing Best Video Performance Space on January 30, 2014.

Milksop: Unsung playing Best Video Performance Space on January 30, 2014.

Milksop: Unsung play the Best Video Performance Space on Fri., Nov. 28. The cover is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

What is “psycho-folk?” The best way to find out is to come to see and hear New Haven band Milksop: Unsung.  Members of the group are Dan Carrano (mandolin, acoustic guitar), T.J. Jackson (acoustic guitar, banjo), Greg Perault (upright bass) and Mike Paolucci (percussion). With that instrumentation, it should be no surprise that the band’s roots are in bluegrass and Americana. But they put their own 21st-century twisted twist on those forms.

Or, you can use this description of Milksop: Unsung’s music from their Bandcamp page: “a greasy-diner omelet of Folk, Swing, Rock, and Blues, performing original and eccentric arrangements augmented by witty humor, blistering energy, and found percussion.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Monday, Nov. 17. FILM SCREENING: “I CONFESS”

• Wednesday, Nov. 19. SONGWRITERS’ CIRCLE: MARK MIRANDO, DICK NEAL, LAURA JOY

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

• Friday, Nov. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: BECKY KESSLER (Violent Mae), SAM PERDUTA (Elison Jackson)

• Monday, Nov. 24. FILM SCREENING: “BABETTE’S FEAST”

• Friday, Nov. 28. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Monday, Dec. 1. FILM SCREENING: “DOUBT”

• Thursday, Dec. 4. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT

• Friday, Dec. 5. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Monday, Dec. 8. FILM SCREENING: “THE END OF THE AFFAIR”

• Thursday, Dec. 11. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Monday, Dec. 15. FILM SCREENING: “VISION”

• Thursday, Dec. 18. POST-PUNK: ZOO FRONT, KEVIN MF KING

• Friday, Dec. 19. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Friday, Jan. 9. MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, Jan. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS