Music: Mission Zero’s effervescent indie pop on Thurs., Sept. 8

Mission_Zero_BV_041515_02_WebMission Zero plays the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Sept. 8. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Growing up playing a range of musical instruments together, siblings Chenot and David crafted and honed their ability to communicate telepathically as performers. After touring the world separately and together in various bands, they decided to join forces as Mission Zero.

Intentionally forgoing traditional pop instrumentation, the duo focuses on their strong suits—powerful, sultry vocals and blistering, dynamic percussion—supported live by a unique body of synthesized sounds (lovingly referred to by the band as The Robots). The result is smart, sexy synth-pop with bite. Their third album, “People in Glass Yachts,” was released in May, 2015.

The siblings have played separately and together all over the world in a variety of bands (including David’s current gig with rock icon Ritchie Blackmore in Blackmore’s Night). As Mission Zero, they’ve headlined at the world famous Whisky A Go Go, and opened for national acts such as Jimmy Destri (of Blondie), White Hinterland, and Hank & Cupcakes.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Sept. 1. ACOUSTIC BLUES/FOLK: DITTYMACK

• Friday, Sept. 2. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Sept. 4. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM SPONSORED BY GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS

• Thursday, Sept. 8. INDIE POP: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Monday, Sept. 12. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE WAY”

• Wednesday, Sept. 14. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: QUIET GIANT (SOLO), THE REFECTORY

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Monday, Sept. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THIRTEEN DAYS”

• Thursday, Sept. 22. PIANO MUSIC: DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, EDDIE SEVILLE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING (3 PM): “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Sunday, Sept. 25. FILM SCREENING (7 PM): “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, CK, GLUMPUPPET

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 6. POST-PUNK: GRIST, DEADBEAT CLUB

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Tuesday, Oct. 11. FILM SCREENING: “ELMER GANTRY”

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…”

• Wednesday, Oct. 19. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: STEPHEN CHOPEK

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”

 

Music: Mission Zero’s wonderful synth-pop on Thurs., Oct. 29, at 8 PM

Mission Zero plays the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Oct. 29. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Mission_Zero_press_photo_2015_Web

Growing up playing a range of musical instruments together, siblings Chenot and David crafted and honed their ability to communicate telepathically as performers. After touring the world separately and together in various bands, they decided to join forces as Mission Zero.

Intentionally forgoing traditional pop instrumentation, the duo focuses on their strong suits—powerful, sultry vocals and blistering, dynamic percussion—supported live by a unique body of synthesized sounds (lovingly referred to by the band as The Robots). The result is smart, sexy synth-pop with bite. Their third album, “People in Glass Yachts,” was released in May, 2015.

The siblings have played separately and together all over the world in a variety of bands (including David’s current gig with rock icon Ritchie Blackmore in Blackmore’s Night). As Mission Zero, they’ve headlined at the world famous Whisky A Go Go, and opened for national acts such as Jimmy Destri (of Blondie), White Hinterland, and Hank & Cupcakes.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Oct. 21. ROOTS ROCK: BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Oct. 22. GARAGE SOUL: ELISON JACKSON

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE Cancelled

• Wednesday, Oct. 28. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Oct. 29. SYNTH POP/ROCK: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Wednesday, Nov. 4. OLD TIMEY/SWING: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Nov. 5. INDIE POP: LAMONT/PLAYFIGHT

• Friday, Nov. 6. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Nov. 13. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)

• Thursday, Nov. 19. DARK FOLK: ELISA FLYNN; SOUL PUNK: AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Nov. 20. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Sunday, Nov. 22. FILM SCREENING/BLACK LIVES MATTER BENEFIT: “ANNE BRADEN: SOUTHERN PATRIOT”

• Thursday, Dec. 3. ELECTRONIC: AVMUS

 

Music: Energetic synth-pop with Mission Zero, Wed., Apr. 15, at 8 PM

Mission Zero playing at Best Video October, 2014.

Mission Zero playing at Best Video October, 2014.

Mission Zero plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Apr. 15. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Growing up playing a range of musical instruments together, siblings Chenot and David crafted and honed their ability to communicate telepathically as performers. After touring the world separately and together in various bands, they decided to join forces as Mission Zero.

Intentionally forgoing traditional pop instrumentation, the duo focuses on their strong suits—powerful, sultry vocals and blistering, dynamic percussion—supported live by a unique body of synthesized sounds (lovingly referred to by the band as The Robots). The result is smart, sexy synth-pop with bite.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, April 2. ROCK/POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Apr. 3. AVANT-GARDE: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Wednesday, Apr. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, Apr. 10. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Wednesday, Apr. 15. SYNTH-POP: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Wednesday, Apr. 22. AMERICANA/ROOTS: THE HELLWIGS

• Thursday, Apr. 23. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC MUSIC: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, Apr. 24. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 30. INDIE ROCK: loom

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”

• Friday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: SPECTRAL FANGS

• Friday, May 15. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

Music: Mission Zero to play Wed., Oct. 29, at 8 PM

Mission Zero performing at Best Video this past May.

Mission Zero performing at Best Video this past May.

Mission Zero plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Oct. 29. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Growing up playing a range of musical instruments together, siblings Chenot and David crafted and honed their ability to communicate telepathically as performers. After touring the world separately and together in various bands, they decided to join forces as Mission Zero.

Intentionally forgoing traditional pop instrumentation, the duo focuses on their strong suits—powerful, sultry vocals and blistering, dynamic percussion—supported live by a unique body of synthesized sounds (lovingly referred to by the band as The Robots). The result is smart, sexy synth-pop with bite.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Oct. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM & TOM HANFORD, BOP TWEEDIE

• Sunday, Oct. 19. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ANNIE”

• Wednesday, Oct. 22. INDIE POP: PLAYFIGHT

• Thursday, Oct. 23. CABARET/SPOKEN WORD: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Sunday, Oct. 26. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “SHORT CIRCUIT”

• Wednesday, Oct. 29. ECLECTIC POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, Oct. 30. “SONGS OF MISERY, DESPAIR & THE SUPERNATURAL”: DAVID, SHELDON AND GAIL

• Sunday, Nov. 2. CHILDREN’S FILM SCREENING: “ABBOTT & COSTELLO MEET FRANKENSTEIN”

• Monday, Nov. 3. FILM SCREENING: “THE JEWISH CARDINAL”

• Thursday, Nov. 6. NEO-URBAN TRADITIONAL MUSIC: THE STACY PHILLIPS-PAUL HOWARD DUET

• Friday, Nov. 7. INSTRUMENTAL ROCK: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN

• Monday, Nov. 10. FILM SCREENING: “A PRICE ABOVE RUBIES”

• Tuesday, Nov. 11. TRIBUTE TO FRANK SINATRA: FRANZ DOUSKEY & RICH MORAN, JR.

• Wednesday, Nov. 12. JAZZ: DAVID CHEVAN & WARREN BYRD

• Thursday, Nov. 13. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, JASON PRINCE

• Friday, Nov. 14. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Monday, Nov. 17. FILM SCREENING: “I CONFESS”

• Thursday, Nov. 20. FILM SCREENING: “SEVEN DAYS IN MAY”

• Friday, Nov. 21. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: BECKY KESSLER (Violent Mae), SAM PERDUTA (Elison Jackson)

• Monday, Nov. 24. FILM SCREENING: “BABETTE’S FEAST”

• Friday, Nov. 28. PSYCHO-FOLK: MILKSOP: UNSUNG

• Monday, Dec. 1. FILM SCREENING: “DOUBT”

• Thursday, Dec. 4. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT

• Friday, Dec. 5. BLUEGRASS: PHANTOMS OF THE OPRY

• Monday, Dec. 8. FILM SCREENING: “THE END OF THE AFFAIR”

• Friday, Dec. 19. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Friday, Jan. 9. MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

 

Music: Mission Zero’s synth-pop on Wed., May 28, at 8 PM

Mission_Zero_promo_WebMission Zero plays the Best Video Performance space on Wednesday, May 28. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Growing up playing a range of musical instruments together, siblings Chenot and David crafted and honed their ability to communicate telepathically as performers. After touring the world separately and together in various bands, they decided to join forces as Mission Zero.

Intentionally forgoing traditional pop instrumentation, the duo focuses on their strong suits—powerful, sultry vocals and blistering, dynamic percussion—supported live by a unique body of synthesized sounds (lovingly referred to by the band as The Robots). The result is smart, sexy synth-pop with bite.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, May 21. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, May 22. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ILANA ZSIGMOND, SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Monday, May 26. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, May 28. SYNTH POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SAM PERDUTA, JASON PRINCE

• Monday, June 2. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, June 4. ROCK: THE IVORY BILLS

• Thursday, June 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM & TOM HANFORD, BOP TWEEDIE

• Friday, June 6. WORLD MUSIC/FOLK: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, June 13. FOLK: ROBERT MESSORE

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU