Music, Poetry, Comedy: Best Video starts “Second Wednesday” Open Mic series Wed., Sept. 13

Musicians! Comedians! Poets!

By public demand—and at the suggestion of Best Video Film & Cultural Center staffer Molly Capobianco—we are commencing a monthly Open Mic at Best Video Performance Space.

The first Second Wednesday Open Mic takes place Wednesday, Sept. 13, starting at 7 PM. Admission is a Suggested Donation of $3-5 to support BVFCC.

We will be putting out a sign-up sheet for designated slots at 6:30 PM and performers can choose their slot on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Each slot is 10 minutes or two songs (whichever is shorter) with a 5-minute break between each performer. We have a total of 10 slots from 7-9:30 PM if people use their maximum time.

We will play it by ear after that with any “extra” performers getting time as available in order of signing the sheet. While 9:30 PM is the official cut-off time, we may at our discretion continue with performers up to 10 PM.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Aug. 31. INDIE ROCK: DISCO TEEN ’66

• Friday, Sept. 1. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & TONY LOMBARDOZZI

• Wednesday, Sept. 6. ALT-COUNTRY: JUNEBUG SADDLE

• Thursday, Sept. 7. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATHY MUIR, SUSAN CARSON

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Sunday, Sept. 10, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Sept. 11, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: LEA, ALIEN BOY, PERFUME V, NECKLINE

• Wednesady, Sept. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

Thursday, Sept. 14. ACOUSTIC SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, Sept. 20. BLUEGRASS: BAIT AND SWITCH

• Thursday, Sept. 21. ROOTS ROCK/GARAGE SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Sept. 27. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, Sept. 29. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Saturday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOHN GORKA (FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS) Tickets available online at johngorkatickets.brownpapertickets.com

• Sunday, Oct. 1, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Oct. 5. NORDIC/CELTIC FOLK MUSIC: GARY WIKFORS AND ANGUS MOSSMAN

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Wednesday, Oct. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Friday, Oct. 13. FLASH FICTION: PAUL BECKMAN

• Sunday, Oct. 15. POWER POP: JOHN HARRISON & THE HARRISONICS

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 27. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Sunday, Nov. 5, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Nov. 8, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Nov. 17. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Nov. 18. BVFCC ANNIVERSARY GALA AT THE BALLROOM AT THE OUTER SPACE

• Sunday, Nov. 19, 3 PM. JAZZ: TRIO 149

• Thursday, Nov. 30. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Sunday, Dec. 3, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Friday, Jan. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: BEPPE GAMBETTA (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

 

Comedy: Open Mic hosted by Jake Nietopski on Wed., Sept. 9, at 8 PM

Jake Nietopski

Jake Nietopski

Standup comic Jake Nietopski hosts a comedy open mic at Best Video Performance space on Wednesday, Sept. 9. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Sign-up for the show starts at 6:30 PM and the show starts at 8 PM.

Jake Nietopski, who now lives in New Haven, has been a part of the comedy scene in Buffalo for 7 years.  He has performed at every open mic in Buffalo, and has participated in Rochester, Syracuse and Buffalo’s Funniest Person Contest. Jake has both co-produced and hosted a monthly comedy showcase held at Magruder’s Bar and Restaurant in Depew, NY called the Homewrecker Comedy Series. He has appeared as a part of the No Hack Comedy Series, Night at the Evening Star, and the Top Shelf Entertainment Comedy Showcase at The Wagon Wheel. He has opened for Chad Elsner and has been seen as a regular at Helium Comedy Club Buffalo. He was the creator of an annual campground show at Three Valley Campground in Holland, NY. Jake now lives in New Haven in a small apartment dominated by the women in his life: his girlfriend and two cats.

Microsoft Word - Open Mic Flyer.docx

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, Sept. 4. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Wednesday, Sept. 9. COMEDY OPEN MIC WITH JAKE NIETOPSKI

• Thursday, Sept. 10. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Friday, Sept. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Sept. 16. CARIBBEAN/FOLK: LUKE RODNEY

• Friday, Sept. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DAPHNE LEE MARTIN, CHRIS KILEY

Wednesday, Sept. 23. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Wednesday, Sept. 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANGELA EASTERLING

• Thursday, Oct. 1. TRIP HOP: THE FOREST ROOM, HIP-HOP: CHEF THE CHEF

• Friday, Oct. 2. ROCK: HENRY SIDLE

• Thursday, Oct. 8. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, BEN PARENT

• Friday, Oct. 9. JAZZ: THE JOVAN ALEXANDRE TRIO

• Wednesday, Oct. 14. INDIE ROCK: CHRISTOPHER MIR

• Friday, Oct. 15. SOLO GUITAR/CD RELEASE: GLENN ROTH

• Friday, Oct. 23. ALT-COUNTRY: TANNERSVILLE

• Thursday, Oct. 29. SYNTH POP/ROCK: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Oct. 30. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Friday, Nov. 6. RAGTIME/BLUES: THE RED HOTS

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE (1962)