Music: Procedure Club, Perennial, City Streets Country Roads play Thurs., May 17

Procedure Club, Perennial and City Streets Country Roads play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, May 17. The show starts at 7:30 PM and the cover is $5.

Procedure Club is a band from New Haven.  They formed in 2007, and had releases on Slumberland Records, Sixteen Tamborines (Japan), and Beko Disques (France) and others. The group is led by Andrea Belltower (vocals) and Adam Malec. Their most recent record, “Pinky Swear,” was released on Safety Meeting Records in August, 2016. “Pinky Swear” is Procedure Club’s follow up to their Slumberland Records release, “Doomed Forever.” With undercurrents of haunting airiness and mechanical instability, Procedure Club’s latest work is like a ghost driving the Beast Of Turin through a hailstorm. The song structures consist of heavily reverbed melodic vocals, stuttering mechanized drum beats, dirty bass, synths, and alternately washed-out and jangly guitars.

Perennial is the new sound of the avant-garde. Hailing from New England, the art punk band’s debut album is entitled “The Symmetry of Autumn Leaves.” Their performances are brief, sharp, and ecstatic. Their influences include The Creation, Otis Redding, and The Raincoats.

City Streets Country Roads is a grunge folk group from New Britain, CT.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION—PROTEST MUSIC CABARET: SETH ADAM, THAT VIRGINIA, PAUL BRYANT HUDSON, ZOO FRONT, BRET LOGAN

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, May 16. JAZZ: CREATIVE ARTS MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Thursday, May 17. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB, PERENNIAL, CITY STREETS COUNTRY ROADS

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, SPIT-TAKE, MINEVA, ALL RIOT

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, May 22. 7 PM. “AGAINST FORGETTING—READINGS FROM THE PETRY OF WITNESS”: READING BY DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, May 23. JAZZ: BOTTOMLEY/SOUZA/MORRISON

• Thursday, May. 24. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Friday, May 25. ACOUSTIC OLD-TIMEY/SWING: THE RED HOTS; AMERICANA: PAT STONE

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, May 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BEN MIKULA/THE LONE GNOME

• Thursday, May 31. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA & FAYE GREEN

• Friday, June 1. JAZZ: HAMDEN HIGH SCHOOL JAZZ COMBO

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, June 6. AVANT-GARDE: ERNESTO CÁRCAMO CAVAZOS, HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Thursday, June 7. ROCK/JAZZ: STORMIN NORMAN with MAT KASTNER

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 14. BLUEGRASS: THE ANGRY O’HARAS

• Friday, June 15, 7:30 PM. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE & THE DIRTY BOOTS; ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Sunday, June 17, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Monday, June 18, 6:30 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 22. JAZZ: THE PAUL SHANLEY QUINTET

• Wednesday, June 27. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE BUTTONDOWNS, DR. MARTINO

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, June 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: PONY BIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, July 1, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, July 3. CLASSICAL MUSIC/SOLO VIOLIN & ELECTRONICS: ERIK CARLSON

• Thursday, July 5. FILM SCREENING with LIVE SCORE: “THE PASSION OF JOAN OF ARC”

• Tuesday, July 10, 5:30-7:30. WALK TO END ALZHEIMER’S TEAM SIGN-UP

• Saturday, July 14. IMPROVISED MUSIC: GREX

• Sunday, July 15, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Thursday, July 19. FUNKY BLUESY ORIGINAL JAZZ: BAM JAM

• Tuesday, July 24. FILM SCORES OF NINA ROTA: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS

• Wednesday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, July 27. FOLK: LOVERS LEAGUE; INIE FOLK/POP: RAVI KRISHNASWAMI

• Tuesday, July 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 3. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)