Music: Country/indie rock by J. Russell & The Split Coils, power pop from Jon Harrison & The Harrisonics Sun., Oct. 15

J. Russell & The Split Coils

Indie Rock-Country from CT meets Power pop from Lawrence, Kansas (LFK) at Best Video Performance Space on Sunday, Oct. 15. What a seemingly paradoxical mismatch of genre and place. It will be delightful. The music starts at 7:30 PM and the bands are asking for a $5-10 donation to cover their expenses.

First up is Jon Harrison and the Harrisonics. Jon is joined by long-time collaborator Bret Dillingham on drums and Bryan Anderson on Bass. Both Jon and Bret have played in a ton of great Lawrence bands over the years (The What Gives, Eudoras, Foodhead, etc.), and Jon is something of a living, breathing encyclopedia of pop music. When he’s not grading records at Love Garden Sounds, or teaching High School English, he plays and record great pop songs like these on their Bandcamp page.

J. Russell and the Split Coils are the current brain child of songwriter/ multi instrumentalist J.Russell (Hot Rod Circuit, Diamond J and the Rough). Joined by his wife Katelyn Russell on percussion and harmony, Joseph Ballaro on Bass guitar and Jon Scerbo on Drums. The songs (it’s all about the songs) are a straight forward mix of Rock and Roll, Soul and Country. Independently recorded and produced at home.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Friday, Oct. 6. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE; POWER POP: TEMPEST O’BRIEN (DEBUT!)

• Wednesday, Oct. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Oct. 12. INDIE ROCK: BONG WISH, DOUGIE POOLE, LEOR MILLER (PRESENTED BY TINY BOX BOOKING)

• Friday, Oct. 13. LITERARY READING—FLASH FICTION: TOM HAZUKA, APRIL BRADLEY, DOUG MATHEWSON, PAUL BECKMAN

• Saturday, Oct. 14. ROCK ‘N” ROLL COVERS: THE DENZ

• Sunday, Oct. 15. POWER POP: JON HARRISON & THE HARRISONICS

• Wednesday, Oct. 18. ANNIE LISA: PSYCH-K

• Thursday, Oct. 19. AFRO-FUNK FUSION: THE LOST TRIBE

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Saturday, Oct. 21, 7:30 PM. VIDEO STORE DAY SCREENING OF “PSYCHOS IN LOVE” WITH WRITER/DIRECTOR GORMAN BECHARD & WRITER/LEAD ACTOR CARMINE CAPOBIANCO

• Wednesday, Oct. 25. NEW ORLEANS-STYLE FUNK: BAND OF DRUTHERS

• Thursday, Oct. 26. INDIE ROCK: SEAN HENRY, RYXNO

• Friday, Oct. 27. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT

• Saturday, Oct. 28. LIGHT UPON BLIGHT HALLOWEEN SHOW: “CARNIVAL OF SOULS” with LIVE IMPROVISED MUSICAL SCORE

• Wednesday, Nov. 1. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Nov. 2. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: JOE MILLER

• Friday, Nov. 3. AMERICANA: FYFE AND STONE

• Saturday, Nov. 4. SOLO MODERN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER

• Sunday, Nov. 5, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Nov. 8, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Nov. 9. GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK: RICH MORAN

• Friday, Nov. 10. MODERN ROCK: NALANI & SARINA, CHASER EIGHT NAKED (PRESENTED BY AIM PRODUCTIONS)

• Sunday, Nov. 12, 7 PM. FOLK: MINK, SOCK & LUTIE

• Wednesday, Nov. 15, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN (SOLD OUT!)

• Friday, Nov. 17. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Saturday, Nov. 18. BVFCC ANNIVERSARY GALA AT THE BALLROOM AT THE OUTER SPACE: 5 IN THE CHAMBER, OLIVE TIGER, NU HAVEN KAPELYE, THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Sunday, Nov. 19, 3 PM. JAZZ: TRIO 149

• Monday, Nov. 20, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: “SON OF SAUL” (WITH TALK BY PROF. CHRISTOPHER SHARRETT)

• Thursday, Nov. 30. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Friday, Dec. 1. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & TONY PURRONE

• Sunday, Dec. 3, 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, Dec. 7.ART SONG/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: OLIVE TIGER (SOLO), AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Dec. 8. BLUEGRASS: TWISTED PINE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Dec. 13, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY BEST VIDEO OPEN MIC

• Friday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY ROCK ‘N’ ROLL SHOW: DUST HAT, BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, Jan. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: BEPPE GAMBETTA (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Feb. 9. BLUEGRASS: JOE WALSH & SWEET LOAM

• Friday, Mar. 16. BLUEGRASS: ZOE & CLOYD (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

Music: The Shellye Valauskas Experience on Thurs., Feb. 27, at 8 PM

Shellye_Dean_Bruce_at_BV_010512The Shellye Valauskas Experience plays the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Feb. 27. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

It’s Shellye’s Birthday Bash. Join The Shellye Valauskas Experience to celebrate her birthday. Very special guest: Cake! (And not the band Cake.) Plus other special guests—not that anyone could follow a slice of birthday cake.

Shellye Valauskas is a sweet songwriter who cares for catchy rhythms and hooks. Her CD “Box It Up,” recorded with her band The Shellye Valauskas Experience, is a box of secrets, surprises and delights. By the time she formed the band, vocalist/guitarist Shellye Valauskas was an established solo performer, winning the New Haven Advocate’s Grand Band Slam readers’ poll and rating a slot in New York’s CMJ Marathon.

As her songwriting collaborator and bandmate, she enlisted ace guitarist Dean Falcone, who’s served the Connecticut music scene since the early ’80s with Jon Brion in The Excerpts, his own Dean and the Dragsters, and a host of others. Valauskas’ and Falcone’s shared love for the intelligent, heartwarming yet punchy pop of Crowded House, The Posies and Aimee Mann, as well as the burgeoning Americana movement, helped them nail a distinctive yet accessible radio-friendly sound from the start.

Watch The Shellye Valauskas Experience perform their song “Box It Up” at the Best Video Performance Space in August, 2012, courtesy of Dave Kelsey’s Golden Microphone Films:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Feb. 26. DECONSTRUCTING POP: THE LUCK PUSHERS

• Thursday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Monday.Mar. 3. FILM SCREENING: “BEING JOHN MALKOVICH”

• Wednesday, Mar. 5. SHORT STORY READING: PAUL BECKMAN, DOUG MATHEWSON

• Thursday, Mar. 6. BUOYANT POP ROCK: THE FURORS

• Monday, Mar. 10. FILM SCREENING: “BABEL”

• Monday, Mar. 17. FILM SCREENING: “MEMENTO”

• Monday. Mar. 24. FILM SCREENING: “MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

• Wednesday, Apr. 2. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 17. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS

 

Music: The Mold Monkies on Wed., Jan. 9, at 8 PM

The Mold Monkies, led by Russell Shaddox and Nick Appleby, play the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Jan. 9. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5. The group plays a melodic, high-energy form of rock ‘n’ roll known as “power pop.”

Emerging from the primordial soup of two men’s collective unconscious, and bursting upon the American musical scene with all the force of a tractor-trailer full of pork chops, the Mold Monkies are here. And they won’t leave.

The Mold Monkies put the Pow back in Power Pop. Their songs burst with energy. Their guitars refuse to be ignored. The Mold Monkies wear their joy and heartbreak on their sleeve with a wry smirk and a quick one-liner.

So if that’s your cup of meat, then by all means take a look inside. Visit the band’s web site; listen to our music; keep an eye out for live shows near you. Because the Mold Monkies are here. And they won’t leave.

A video of The Mold Monkies from 2011: