Music: Big Fat Combo crank up the rock ‘n’ roll Thurs., Apr. 20

One of the most popular bands to play the Best Video Performance Space, the Big Fat Combo return on Thursday, Apr. 20, for their first appearance here since May, 2015. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Big Fat Combo hail from Cheshire and offer their own, wry, well-crafted take on rock ‘n’ roll. The quartet is a classic rockabilly group: upright bass and drums, rhythm and lead guitar. Led by singer Tom Hearn, the Big Fat Combo not only play their original tunes (“Tag Sale,” “Banned by Sam the Clam’s” and “Chicks Dig it,” among others) but also riff on classic rock ‘n’ roll, garage rock, punk, country and even some easy listening chestnuts (“Que Sera Sera,” “It was a Very Good Year”) that they make fully their own.

The Big Fat Combo released their first compact disc, “Chicks Dig it,” in 2010. Check out their cover of Eydie Gorme’s “Blame It On the Bossa Nova,” performed at Best Video Performance Space in 2012 and captured on video by Dave Kelsey:

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Thursday, Apr. 13. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS

• Friday, Apr. 14. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Apr. 16, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Wednesday, Apr. 19. FOLK ROCK: WE HAPPY FEW

• Thursday, Apr. 20. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Friday, Apr. 21. ROCK ‘N” ROLL: DUST HAT

• Saturday, Apr. 22. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• Sunday, Apr. 23, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “BLUE VELVET”

• Thursday, Apr. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ZACH ANDERSON, ACOUSTIC DUO: THE HOOCH

• Friday, Apr. 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE SLOCAN RAMBLERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Sunday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “DO THE RIGHT THING”

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Saturday, May 6. CULT FILM SCREENING: TBA

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, May 24. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 2 PM. LIGHTS! CAMERA! ACTION WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

 

Music: Big Fat Combo return on Wed., May 13, at 8 PM

Big_Fat_Combo_at_BV_Performance_SpaceOne of the most popular bands to play the Best Video Performance Space, the Big Fat Combo return on Wednesday, May 13. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

The Big Fat Combo hail from Cheshire and offer their own, wry, well-crafted take on rock ‘n’ roll. The quartet is a classic rockabilly group: upright bass and drums, rhythm and lead guitar. Led by singer Tom Hearn, the Big Fat Combo not only play their original tunes (“Tag Sale,” “Banned by Sam the Clam’s” and “Chicks Dig it,” among others) but also riff on classic rock ‘n’ roll, garage rock, punk, country and even some easy listening chestnuts (“Que Sera Sera,” “It was a Very Good Year”) that they make fully their own.

The Big Fat Combo released their first compact disc, “Chicks Dig it,” in 2010. Watch them perform the title song at the Performance Space in December, 2012 in a video by Dave Kelsey:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 7. CLASSICAL/JAZZ: PETRICHORD—SAMUEL SUGGS & MOLLY NETTER

• Friday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: SPECTRAL FANGS

• Wednesday, May 13. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Thursday, May 14. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, May 15. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Monday, May 18. FILM SCREENING: “HEY BOO: HARPER LEE & TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD”

• Wednesday, May 20. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JAY PRINCE, PATRICK DALTON

• Thursday, May 21. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Friday, May 22. ROCK: NOTHING SPECIAL

• Wednesday, May 27. BLUEGRASS: THE FIDDLEHEADS

• Thursday, May 28. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM

• Friday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Thursday, June 4. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR, PARLAY DRONER

• Friday, June 5. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Monday, June 8. FILM SCREENING: “FINDING TATANKA”

• Friday, June 12. BLUEGRASS: THE WOOL HATS STRING BAND

• Thursday, June 18: SILENT FILM with MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT scores “THE CABINET OF DR. CALIGARI”

• Friday, June 26. INDIE FOLK: OLIVE TIGER

• Friday, July 17. PIANO POP/PAINTING: POCKET VINYL

• Wednesday, Aug. 26. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

Music: Six-Pack Dutchmen, Tom Hearn Fri., July 18, at 8 PM

The Six-Pack Dutchmen play the Best Video Performance Space on Friday, July 18. Singer Tom Hearn opens the show with a solo set. Music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Six-Pack_Dutchmen_Web

The Six-Pack Dutchmen play concise instrumental themes with surf overtones and nods to early rock n roll.

Critic Fran Fried writes:

Well, we’re not sure which of the three guys in the group are Dutch—with names like Andrukevich, Hogan and Coppola—and we’re not quite sure who went out and bought the beer. (Hey, these guys aren’t youngsters—they just play with the enthusiasm of young ‘uns—so when we say sixpack, we ain’t talking about abs, okay?) But we are sure you’ll have a good time with these fine rock ‘n’ roll instrumentalists, brew or no brew, windmills or not.

Tom Andrukevich, the bass player, has a long history behind and ahead of him—starting with one of Connecticut’s first punk bands, The Survivors, in the ‘70s and ‘80s; then spending much of the ‘90s with one of the most clever surf/instrumental bands on the planet, The Mill Valley Taters; and these days donning the helmet and sweater (skates optional) to play with the world-renowned hockey rockers, The Zambonis.

Dave Hogan, on guitar, is a successful singer/songwriter in his own right who plays many gigs in Connecticut and is now expanding his touring road map beyond the state. A veteran of five Nutmeg State bands (Red One, Genghis Khan, The Great Upsetters, The Rafter Bats and, most recently, Graylight Campfire), he’s as immersed in The Fleshtones as he is Son Volt and Duane Allman.

Drummer Jim Coppola played with singer/guitarist/renowned cartoonist Bob Therrien in Bad Bob & the New World Crusade and also recorded with Delvis.

Sixpack? With credentials like that, make it a case.

Tom Hearn, who performs solo to open the evening, is well known as the front man of local rockabilly group the Big Fat Combo.

Tom_Hearn_Web

Watch the Six-Pack Dutchmen perform the Chuck Berry song “Brown-Eyed Handsome Man”:

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, July 10. FOLK: THE HEATH SISTERS

• Wednesday, July 16. FOLK/POP/SOUL: JOY IKE

• Thursday, July 17. ROCK ‘N’ SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Friday, July 18. SURF MUSIC, ROCKABILLY: THE SIX PACK DUTCHMEN, TOM HEARN

• Thursday, July 24. PROGRESSIVE FOLK ROCK: KINDRED QUEER

• Tuesday, July 29. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS AND HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, July 30. FOLK MUSIC: ROBERT MESSORE

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Wednesday, Aug. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Aug. 14, ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET

Tomorrow night’s Big Fat Combo show postponed due to pending snowstorm

The Performance Space show by Big Fat Combo scheduled for Thursday, Feb. 13, has been postponed due to the expected winter storm. Tonight’s concert with Pat Stone and Chris Cappello will go ahead as scheduled; snow is not predicted to start until several hours after the show is over.

Stay tuned for details on the rescheduling of the Big Fat Combo show.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Feb. 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS PAT STONE

• Thursday, Feb. 13. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Monday, Feb. 17. FILM SCREENING: “THE BIG SLEEP”

• Wednesday, Feb. 19. (RESCHEDULED FROM FEB. 5) SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Thursday, Feb. 20. BLUEGRASS: 5 IN THE CHAMBER

• Monday. Feb. 24. FILM SCREENING: “AMERICAN BEAUTY”

• Wednesday, Feb. 26. DECONSTRUCTING POP: THE LUCK PUSHERS

• Thursday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Monday.Mar. 3. FILM SCREENING: “BEING JOHN MALKOVICH”

• Monday, Mar. 10. FILM SCREENING: “BABEL”

• Monday, Mar. 17. FILM SCREENING: “MEMENTO”

• Monday. Mar. 24. FILM SCREENING: “MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

• Wednesday, Apr. 2. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 17. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS

Music: Big Fat Combo on Thurs., Feb. 13, at 8 PM

One of the most popular bands to play the Best Video Performance Space, the Big Fat Combo return on Thursday, Feb. 13. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Big_Fat_Combo_at_BV_Performance_Space

The Big Fat Combo hail from Cheshire and offer their own, wry, well-crafted take on rock ‘n’ roll. The quartet is a classic rockabilly group: upright bass and drums, rhythm and lead guitar. Led by singer Tom Hearn, the Big Fat Combo not only play their original tunes (“Tag Sale,” “Banned by Sam the Clam’s” and “Chicks Dig it,” among others) but also riff on classic rock ‘n’ roll, garage rock, punk, country and even some easy listening chestnuts (“Que Sera Sera,” “It was a Very Good Year”) that they make fully their own.

The Big Fat Combo released their first compact disc, “Chicks Dig it,” in 2010. Watch them perform the title song at the Performance Space in December, 2012 in a video by Dave Kelsey:

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Thursday, Feb. 6. CHORAL QUIRK POP: THE DRESS-UPS

• Wednesday, Feb. 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS PAT STONE

• Thursday, Feb. 13. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: BIG FAT COMBO

• Wednesday, Feb. 19. (RESCHEDULED FROM FEB. 5) SINGER-SONGWRITERS: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Thursday, Feb. 20. BLUEGRASS: 5 IN THE CHAMBER

• Wednesday, Feb. 26. DECONSTRUCTING POP: THE LUCK PUSHERS

• Thursday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Wednesday, Apr. 2. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 17. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS

Music: Big Fat Combo on Thursday, Dec. 20, at 8 PM

The Big Fat Combo hail from Cheshire and offer their own, wry, well-crafted take on rock ‘n’ roll. The quartet is a classic rockabilly group: upright bass and drums, rhythm and lead guitar. Led by singer Tom Hearn, the Big Fat Combo not only play their original tunes (“Tag Sale,” “Banned by Sam the Clam’s” and “Chicks Dig it,” among others) but also riff on classic rock ‘n’ roll, garage rock, punk, country and even some easy listening chestnuts (“Que Sera Sera,” “It was a Very Good Year”) that they make fully their own.

The Big Fat Combo released their first compact disc, “Chicks Dig it,” in 2010.

The music starts at 8 PM; there is a $5 cover.

From Youtube, here is the Big Fat Combo’s Christmas medley: