Music: Indie, pop and experimental music with Ryan Kayhart, Gaa, Jen Gelineau Wed., Dec. 21 (UPDATED)

Massachusetts-based solo artist Ryan Kayhart and outsider music duo Gaa play Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Dec. 21. The show starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover. (UPDATE, Dec. 19: Holyoke, MA-based artist Jen Gelineau has been added to this bill.)

ryan_kayhart_bvfcc_072816_web

Ryan Kayhart at Best Video Performance Space in July, 2016.

Ryan Kayhart, of Western Massachusetts, but currently lost on a couch, believes in poppy home recording with the ephemeral themes of clutter culture, substances, and loneliness. Recently released his 5th album on hec. His recordings can be found on his Bandcamp page.

Gaa

Gaa

Gaa is the ongoing basement project of Nic Fazzino and Izzy Dupuis of Portland, CT. Think Robert and Patti, Thurston and Kim, or Calvin and Heather, but way back before their first names were emblematic. Outsider music from two current students of Evergreen State College. Check out their Bandcamp page to hear some sounds from Gaa.

Jenifer Gelineau is an improvising experimental electric/acoustic soundscape maker from Holyoke, MA. Glass, strings water, mics, and wires.

jen_gelineau_web

Jen Gelineau

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Saturday, Dec. 17. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “THE GOONIES” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Monday, Dec. 19. MEMBER’S CHOICE FILM SCREENING: “CONTACT”

• Wednesday, Dec. 21. AVANT-GARDE: RYAN KAYHART, GAA

• Thursday, Dec. 22. HOLIDAY CONCERT: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Dec. 23. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: DUST HAT (DEBUT!), SOLO ELECTRIC GUITAR: BILL BECKETT

• Thursday, Dec. 29. JAZZ: MICHAEL COPPOLA

• Friday, Dec. 30. IMPROVISED/AVANT-GARDE: NAGUAL

• Wednesday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE FURORS

• Friday, Jan. 6. ACOUSTIC FOLK BLUES & MORE: VANGE DURST

• Saturday, Jan. 7. MUSIC OF “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Wednesday, Jan. 11. AMERICANA: PLYWOOD COWBOY

• Friday, Jan. 13. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Thursday, Jan. 19. GOTH/SHOEGAZE: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, Jan. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTION)

• Friday, Jan. 27. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Saturday, Jan. 28. FILM SCREENING FOR KIDS: “MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO” (Sponsored by Pediatrics Plus of North Haven)

• Friday, Feb. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Feb. 10. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, MERCY CHOIR (solo)

• Friday, Feb. 24. INDIE POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Saturday, Feb. 25. MUSIC: “SHALL WE TALK ABOUT THE GOVERNMENT?”

• Friday, Mar. 10. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

 

Music: DIY/Experimental music with Painted Faces & Ryan Kayhart, Id M Theft able on Thurs., July 28

Painted_Faces_Ryan_Karhart_Id_M_Theft_Able_composite_WebAdventurous experimental musicians Painted Faces & Ryan Kayhart along with solo artist Id M Theft Able play Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, July 28. The show starts st 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Ryan Kayhart of Worcester, MA and Painted Faces (D.Drucker) of Brooklyn, NY are hitting the road to end all roads together. The uniting of two great (destructively creative) minds/ambassadors from the fringes of home recording. Weirdnesses/creators of worlds, coming together to rock. Guitar solos will occur. Painted Faces is the solo recording project of artist/musician David Drucker born in Miami, Florida. He has assembled various bands to play live shows over the last few years around Florida and has recently moved to Brooklyn, NY (from Tallahassee where he has fostered his sound over the past few years) to pursue his visions further and expose his music to a wider audience.

Join Maine’s experimental, found art specializing, dumpster diving, gentle goofball id m theft able in a performance of odd art, odd artistic vision and odd lack thereof, and being an odd artist in general—appropriate for anyone who feels isolated by seeing odd things in the odd world around them and wondering how to incorporate them in their odd medium of choice.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Monday, July 25. FILM SCREENING: “ACE IN THE HOLE”

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, JULIE BEMAN & ERIC BLOOMQUIST

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Aug. 12. INDIE/DIY/QUEERCORE: LADY QUEEN PARADISE, ADULT MOM, SPACE CAMP

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Thursday, Aug. 18. ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, Aug. 21. INDIE ROCK: WALTER, ETC.; BLOWOUT, 1 more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 24. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Aug. 25. JAZZ: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Aug. 30. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL