Film screening: “The Manchurian Candidate,” part of the “Hail to the Chief!” film series, on Sun., Sept. 25, at 7 PM

The Oval Office meets the silver screen as Best Video founder Hank Paper presents five great films dealing with the most powerful role in the world— three based on history (All the Way, Thirteen Days, All the President’s Men) and two classics of Cold War-era paranoia (The Manchurian Candidate, Dr. Strangelove). All films start at 7 PM—except the Sunday, Oct. 16 screening of “Dr. Strangelove,” which begins at 2 PM—and admission is $7.

manchurian-candidate-poster_web

The third movie in the series, director John Frankenheimer’s “The Manchurian Candidate,” screens Sunday, Sept. 25, at 7 PM.

Based on a 1959 novel by Richard Condon and released in theaters in 1962, “The Manchurian Candidate” is a classic Cold War-era suspense film. Laurence Harvey stars as a GI who is brainwashed into becoming a remote control assassin after being captured with other members of his platoon in the Korean War. Other stars are Angela Lansbury, Frank Sinatra and Janet Leigh.

Reviewing the film in the midst of the Cuban Missile Crisis, New York Times critic Bosley Crowther wrote:

With the air full of international tension, the film “The Manchurian Candidate” pops up with a rash supposition that could serve to scare some viewers half to death—that is, if they should be dupes enough to believe it, which we solemnly trust they won’t.

Its story of a moody young fellow who was captured by the Communists during the Korean campaign and brain-washed by them to do their bidding as a high-level assassin when he gets home to America is as wild a piece of fiction as anything Alfred Hitchcock might present, but it could agitate some grave imaginings in anxious minds these days, especially since it is directed and acted in a taut and vivid way.

The late critic Roger Ebert listed “The Manchurian Candidate” as one of the Great Movies and wrote in 2003, “Seen today, ‘The Manchurian Candidate’ feels astonishingly contemporary; its astringent political satire still bites, and its story has uncanny contemporary echoes. The villains plan to exploit a terrorist act, “rallying a nation of viewers to hysteria, to sweep us up into the White House with powers that will make martial law seem like anarchy.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Monday, Sept. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THIRTEEN DAYS”

• Thursday, Sept. 22. SPANISH AND LATIN AMERICAN PIANO MUSIC (with commentary): DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, EDDIE SEVILLE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING (3 PM): “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Sunday, Sept. 25. FILM SCREENING (7 PM): “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, CK, GLUMPUPPET

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Sunday, Oct. 2. FREE FIRST SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 6. POST-PUNK: GRIST, DEADBEAT CLUB

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Tuesday, Oct. 11. FILM SCREENING: “ELMER GANTRY”

• WEdnesday, Oct. 12. ROCK/BLUES: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…”

• Wednesday, Oct. 19. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: STEPHEN CHOPEK

• Thursday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: THE KOREY BRODSKY BAND

• Friday, Oct. 21. BLUEGRASS/POP: JACKSON’S ISLAND

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Wednesday, Oct. 26. SINGER-SONGWRITER: NAMOLI BRENNET

• Thursday, Oct. 27. CELTIC AMERICA: THE EBIN-ROSE TRIO; SINGER-SONGWRITER:  DOUGLAS ALAN

• Friday, Oct. 28. HALLOWEEN SILENT FILM SCREENING WITH LIVE SCORE: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT PLAYS TO “NOSFERATU”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”

• Friday, Nov. 11. FERNANDO PINTO PRESENTS JESSE TERRY & CALLAGHAN

• Friday, Nov. 25. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: DAVE PETERSON (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

Film Screening: “The Manchurian Candidate” on Wed., Nov. 18, at 7 PM

manchurian_candidate_WebBest Video Performance Space will screen the John Frankenheimer movie “The Manchurian Candidate” on Thursday, Nov. 18. The program starts at 7 PM and the cover is $5. Christopher Sharrett, a Professor of Film Studies at Seton Hall University will introduce and discuss the film.

Christopher Sharrett is Professor of Film Studies at Seton Hall University. He has published several books on film, including Mythologies of Violence in Postmodern Media, and The Rifleman. He is a Contributing Writer for Cineaste and Film International. He is on the editorial board of Quarterly Review of Film and Video. He has lived in Hamden for 28 years, and is a Best Video loyalist!

Based on a 1959 novel by Richard Condon and released in theaters in 1962, “The Manchurian Candidate” is a classic Cold War-era suspense film. Laurence Harvey stars as a GI who is brainwashed into becoming a remote control assassin after being captured with other members of his platoon in the Korean War. Other stars are Angela Lansbury, Frank Sinatra and Janet Leigh.

Reviewing the film in the midst of the Cuban Missile Crisis, New York Times critic Bosley Crowther wrote:

With the air full of international tension, the film “The Manchurian Candidate” pops up with a rash supposition that could serve to scare some viewers half to death—that is, if they should be dupes enough to believe it, which we solemnly trust they won’t.

Its story of a moody young fellow who was captured by the Communists during the Korean campaign and brain-washed by them to do their bidding as a high-level assassin when he gets home to America is as wild a piece of fiction as anything Alfred Hitchcock might present, but it could agitate some grave imaginings in anxious minds these days, especially since it is directed and acted in a taut and vivid way.

The late critic Roger Ebert listed “The Manchurian Candidate” as one of the Great Movies and wrote in 2003, “Seen today, ‘The Manchurian Candidate’ feels astonishingly contemporary; its astringent political satire still bites, and its story has uncanny contemporary echoes. The villains plan to exploit a terrorist act, “rallying a nation of viewers to hysteria, to sweep us up into the White House with powers that will make martial law seem like anarchy.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Nov. 11. ROCK: ROPE; TRIP-HOP SOLO GUITAR: THE FOREST ROOM

• Friday, Nov. 13. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Nov. 18. FILM SCREENING: “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE” (1962)

• Thursday, Nov. 19. DARK FOLK: ELISA FLYNN; SOUL PUNK: AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Nov. 20. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Sunday, Nov. 22. FILM SCREENING/BLACK LIVES MATTER BENEFIT: “ANNE BRADEN: SOUTHERN PATRIOT”

• Friday, Nov. 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, Dec. 3. ELECTRONIC: AVMUS

• Friday, Dec. 4. CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & BETHANY WILDER

• Thursday, Dec. 10. BLUES/FOLK/COUNTRY: CODA BLUE