Film screening: Gen X series continues with “Thelma and Louise” Sun., May 7, at 7 PM

Best Video Film & Cultural Center’s Generation X film series continues on Sunday, May 7, with a screening of Ridley Scott’s 1991 film “Thelma and Louise.” It is the fifth in a series of six films of the 1980s and early 1990s that touch on the culture and politics that informed so-called “Generation X.” The screening is at 7 PM and admission is $7.

The series was conceived and curated by BVFCC members Sarah Strong and Jennifer Griffiths.

An immediate critical success and winner of numerous awards, Thelma and Louise was the brainchild of first-time screenwriter Callie Khouri, who wanted to write a film in which “two women go on a crime spree.” The result was hailed as “a neo-feminist road movie,” but the themes it explores—friendship, revenge, freedom, and empowerment—are genre-defying and timeless.

The film’s plot is set in motion when Louise (Susan Sarandon) kills the man attempting to rape her friend Thelma (Geena Davis). When the two women realize no one will believe their side of the story, they go on the run, transforming their friendship and themselves in the process. “This movie would never get made today,” lamented one critic in 2011; twenty-six years after its release, “Thelma and Louise” remains in a class by itself. Featuring Harvey Keitel as the investigator tracking the runaway women, and Brad Pitt (in his breakout role) as Thelma’s one-night stand.

Reviewing the movie in The New York Times in 1991, Janet Maslin described it as a “hugely appealing new road movie and praised the “sparkling screenplay by the first-time writer Callie Khouri.” Maslin wrote, “It reimagines the buddy film with such freshness and vigor that the genre seems positively new.”

View the trailer for “Thelma and Louise”:

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Tuesday, May 2, 4-7 PM. THE GREAT GIVE HAPPY HOUR

• Wednesday, May 3, 7 PM. FILM SCREENINGS & LECTURE/TALKBACK: THOMAS WEXLER ON “I HAVE A DREAM”: THE CIVIL RIGHTS GENERATION, AND HIP-HOP IN THE SOCIAL UNCONSCIOUS (Just added!)

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, June 7. ALT-COUNTRY: LEFT ON SCARLET STREET

• Thursday, June 8. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS, THE PROUD FLESH

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, June 15. FOLK/POP SINGER-SONGWRITER: MELODY PLACE

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, June 21. PROGRESSIVE FOLK: FE FI FO

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Wednesday, Aug. 2. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN

Speak Your Mind