Authors JoeAnn Hart and Matt Debenham to read Sun., Mar. 24, at 2 PM

Hart_Debenham_image_WebAuthors JoeAnn Hart (Float) and Matt Debenham (The Book of Right and Wrong) will read from their work in the Best Video Performance Space on Sunday, Mar. 24, at 2 PM.

JoeAnn Hart lives in Gloucester, Massachusetts, America’s oldest seaport, where fishing regulations, the health of the ocean, and the natural beauty of the world are the daily topics of wonder and concern. She is the author of the novel Addled, a social satire that intertwines animal rights with the politics of food. Her essays, articles, and short fiction have appeared in a wide variety of literary journals and national publications, and she is a regular contributor to the Boston Globe Magazine. She will read from her novel, Float, recently released by Ashland Creek, a press that specializes in environmental literature. Float swirls around bankruptcy, jellyfish, conceptual art, and plastics in the ocean.

Matt Debenham is the author of The Book of Right and Wrong, winner of the 2009 Ohio State University Press Prize for Fiction. His work has appeared in such publications as Roanoke Review, Battered Suitcase, The Pinch, Painted Bride Quarterly, and many others. He has received a Fiction Fellowship from the state of Connecticut, was a Sewanee Writers’ Conference Scholar, and is the host of the books podcast What Are You Reading? He blogs about writing at mattdebenham.com.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Mar. 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Thursday, Mar. 28. FILM SCREENING: STEPHEN DEST’S “MY BROTHER JACK”

• Wednesday, Apr. 3. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN BAND

• Thursday, Apr. 4. CLASSICAL/BRAZILIAN: HAVEN STRING QUARTET with SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Apr. 10. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, Apr. 11. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, Apr. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

• Monday, Apr. 22. FILM SCREENING FOR “WHAT WOULD YOU DO?” SERIES: “WALK ON WATER”

• Thursday, Apr. 25. JAZZ: THE NICK Di MARIA QUARTET

• Sunday, May 5. FILM SCREENING & DISCUSSION: “ALL ME: THE LIFE AND TIMES OF WINFRED REMBERT”

• Wednesday, May 8. INDIE ROCK: POOLS ARE NICE