BVFCC and The Institute Library present two “Books to Film” screenings; “The End of the Tour” Sun., Mar. 6, with Pulitzer Prize-winner Donald Margulies on hand for Q&A at BVFCC; “The Way” Sun., Apr. 3, at The Institute Library with Jack Hitt Q&A

Best Video Film & Cultural Center and The Institute Library are teaming up to present two special “Books to Film” screenings. “The End of the Tour” will be screened at Best Video Film & Cultural Center; “The Way” will be screened at The Institute Library. Tickets for each event are $15 in advance through Eventbrite (with a $1.82 service charge) or $20 at the door.

End_of_Tour_image_Web

On Sunday, Mar. 6, at 2 PM, BVFCC will present “The End of the Tour,” a 2016 movie adapted from journalist David Lipsky’s book “Although Of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace.” Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright and Yale Theater professor Donald Margulies—who adapted Lipsky’s book for the screenplay—will be on hand after the film for a Q&A with the audience.

Purchase tickets to “The End of the Tour” through Eventbrite.

Thinking it might be grist for a new play, Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Donald Margulies’ agent sent over a copy of journalist David Lipsky’s book about the time Lipsky spent interviewing novelist David Foster Wallace (“Infinite Jest”) on the last leg of Wallace’s book tour in 1996. Margulies was taken with the book but saw in it a movie rather than a stage production. “The End of the Tour,” which stars Jesse Eisenberg and Jason Segel, is a not-quite-buddies film and a modern literary road movie. A New York Times Critic’s Pick, reviewer A.O. Scott wrote, “There will always be films about writers and writing, and this one is just about as good as it gets.”

And on Sunday, Apr. 3, at The Institute Library, BVFCC and the Institute Library will screen “The Way,” starring Martin Sheen. Writer Jack Hitt—whose book “Off the Road: A Modern-Day Walk Down the Pilgrim’s Route into Spain” provided anecdotes used in the movie—will be on hand for a post-screening Q&A.

Purchase tickets to “The Way” through Eventbrite.

“The Way” stars Martin Sheen as Tom, a bereaved and irascible father whose son (played in flashbacks by Sheen’s real life son Emilio Estevez) has died in an accident while making a pilgrimage along “The Way of St. James” from France to Santiago de Compostela in Spain. Rather than just return home after retrieving his son’s body, Tom decides to complete the pilgrimage himself to honor—and mourn—his son.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Feb. 17. ACOUSTIC BLUES/FOLK: DITTYMACK

• Thursday, Feb. 18. JAZZ: THE MONK PROJECT BAND

• Friday, Feb. 19. GUITARISTS/SINGER-SONGWRITERS: RANDY COLLINS, IAN ETHAN CASE

• Monday, Feb. 22. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “99 HOMES”

• Wednesday, Feb. 24. BLUEGRASS: THE EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Friday, Feb. 26. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Monday, Feb. 29. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SICARIO” (Rescheduled due to snow)

• Wednesday, Mar. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BEN ERICKSON, STEPHEN HLADUN

• Thursday, Mar. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOY IKE

• Friday, Mar. 4. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Mar. 6. FILM SCREENING & Q&A WITH SCREENWRITER DONALD MARGULIES (Co-presented with The Institute Library): “THE END OF THE TOUR”

• Monday, Mar. 7. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SUFFRAGETTE” (Rescheduled from 2/15 due to snow)

• Wednesday, Mar. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: PAT STONE with AMANDA BELITTO

• Thursday, Mar. 10. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Friday, Mar. 11. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER IS PRESTER JOHN

• Sunday, Mar. 13 FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Mar. 16. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Oct. 18. ALT-COUNTRY: NO LINES NORTH

• Wednesday, Mar. 23. EXPERIMENTAL: THE FOREST ROOM, NICK Di MARIA: ZERO DOLLAR SOLO

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Mar. 25. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DICK NEAL

• Wednesday, Mar. 30. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, WESTERN ESTATES

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, JOE FLOOD

• Wednesday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK presented by Redscroll Records: HEX INVERTER, DIRT DEVIL, NOTHING ISRAEL

• Friday. Apr. 8. FOLK: HUGH BIRDSALL & DANA TAKAKI

• Thursday, Apr. 14. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE

• Friday, Apr. 15. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT, GARY GRIPPO & FRIENDS

• Wednesday, Apr. 20. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Thursday, Apr. 28. SEPHARDIC MUSIC: THE HERETICS OF CORDOBA

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL