Comedy: Best Video presents monthly comedy show, Reel Life, hosted by Kendra Dawsey, Tues., Dec. 18, at 8 PM

Best Video Film & Cultural Center presents “Reel Life,” a new monthly stand-up comedy show that debuted in October, on Tuesday, Dec. 18, at 8 PM. Reel Life is hosted by Kendra Dawsey, a comic who also hosts a weekly open mic at Lyric Hall in Westville and has also performed at Best Video’s Second Wednesday Open Mic among other venues throughout New England. Cover is a sliding scale of $5-10—pay what you can within that range.

Also on the bill for Dec. 18 are comics Mel V, Darren Sechrist, Shawn Murray, Kate Clancy and Justin Silva.

Kendra Dawsey is an up and coming stand-up comic who has performed in clubs and showcases in NYC and all over New England, including Stonewall Inn, Comix @ Mohegan Sun, and ImprovBoston. She was also a featured comic on the Sirius XM radio program Paid or Pain. Kendra garners humor from her identity and experiences by blending anecdote with higher concepts. Never too proud to laugh at herself, Kendra endears audiences by inviting them to laugh with her.

Mel V • 2016 Clash of the Comics winner Mel V’s hilariously quirky and irreverent style is a favorite of audiences all over the Northeast.

Darren Sechrist • Darren Sechrist’s unique combination of dry wit and over-the-top absurdity have made him one of New England’s top comics. He has performed at Comix, the Funny Bone, Comic Strip Live, and other top clubs across the Northeast. Darren has worked with some of the country’s top comics, including: Demetri Martin, Henry Phillips, Joe Machi, Alingon Mitra, and Sean Donnelly.

Shawn Murray • Shawn Murray is a writer, comedian, and international heartthrob from New Haven. He’s performed in all sorts of places, with all the good people. It is of his opinion that no one actually reads these bios, so he’d like to use this space to say that Field of Dreams is a nonsense movie.

Kate Clancy • Kate Clancy is a touring comedian from NY who loves to say she’s from NY without clarifying that it’s upstate NY because just saying “New York comedian” sounds real fancy. She plans on doing stand up and continuing to write and star in her white trash cooking show, “Charlene Cuisine”, until she wins at McDonald’s Monopoly, which she is convinced there is an algorithm for and she’s one, maybe two large Diet Cokes away from cracking it.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Tuesday, Dec. 11, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Dec. 12, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Dec. 13. GYPSY JAZZ: DJANGO’S RESERVE

• Friday, Dec. 14. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS with TONY LOMBARDOZZI

• Sunday, Dec. 16, 2-4 PM. MONTHLY IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Dec. 17. ONE MAN SHOW: SAL ANNUNZIATO—PART OF THE FAMILY: A MOB CHILDHOOD (SOLD OUT!)

• Tuesday, Dec. 18, 8 PM. COMEDY: REEL LIFE—A STAND-UP SHOW with HOST KENDRA DAWSEY

• Wednesday, Dec. 19. JAZZ: TONY PURRONE

• Thursday, Dec. 20. INDIE ROCK: ZERO YEARS, SOFT SCREAMS

• Friday, Dec. 21, 7:30 PM. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL CHRISTMAS SHOW: DUST HAT, BRONSON ROCK

• Thursday, Dec. 27, 7:30 PM. INDIE ROCK: NO IDEA, BONSAI TREES

• Friday, Dec. 28, 7:30 PM. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: MATTHEW BENNETT, QUINN HARLEY, BOP TWEEDIE

• Wednesday, Jan. 2. AMBIENT/INDIE ROCK: THE FOREST ROOM, BEN HECHT, EVELYN GARY (Rescheduled from November 15)

• Friday, Jan. 4. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE SPARKOMATICS, THE TOMMYS

• Saturday, Jan. 5, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: NATE SABAT/MARK KILIANSKI DUO; DAVID SASSO/KAT WALLACE DUO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, Jan. 6. GUITARTOWNCT SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Jan. 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Jan. 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Jan. 10. EXPERIMENTAL: KRISTINA WARREN, UNDERWEAR, ANNE RHODES

• Monday, Jan. 14. ONE MAN SHOW: SAL ANNUNZIATO—PART OF THE FAMILY: A MOB CHILDHOOD (SOLD OUT!)

• Wednesday, Jan. 16. POP/ROCK: YOUTH XL, ROB NELSON

• Sunday, Jan. 20, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Jan. 21, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Jan. 25. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Tuesday, Jan. 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Thursday, Jan. 31. JAZZ: PAUL SHANLEY

• Sunday, Feb. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Feb. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Thursday, Feb. 7. INDIE FOLK: PODUNK THROWBACKS; Klezmer: KLEZMER FUSION COLLECTIVE

• Friday, Feb. 8. ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Tuesday, Feb. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, Feb. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Sunday, Feb. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Feb. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, Feb. 22. BLUEGRASS: FIVE IN THE CHAMBER

• Friday, Mar. 1. AMBIENT/PSYCHEDELIC: LANDING

• Saturday, Mar. 2. INDIE POP ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Sunday, Mar. 3. GUITARTOWN SUNDAY AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Monday, Mar. 4. MONTHLY MOVIE-RELATED TRIVIA NIGHT: TRIVIA-237

• Tuesday, Mar. 5, 7 PM. LITERARY: A READING FOR AL-MUTANABBI STREET—DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, Mar. 6. IMPROVISED MUSIC: LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Thursday, Mar. 7. ROCK/PUNK/ROOTS: THE CHRISTIAN MARRONE TRIO; INDIE: GHOSTWOODS

• Friday, Mar. 8. INDIE ROCK: PHEOBE

• Wednesday, Mar. 13. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Friday, Mar. 15. BLUES/ROCK: VANGE DURST

• Sunday, Mar. 17, 2-4 PM. IRISH/CELTIC MUSIC JAM

• Monday, Mar. 18, 6-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT MONTHLY EVENING BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Mar. 26, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Friday, Mar. 29. AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Friday, Apr. 5. SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, LYS GUILLORN, SHELLYE VALAUSKAS, KIERSTIN SIESER

• Friday, Apr. 12, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY & JIM HURST (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Wednesday, April 17. ACOUSTIC FOLK ROCK: PAUL DECOSTER, EXPERIMENTAL ACOUSTIC: KAREN HOGG

• Tuesday, May 7, 7:30 PM. FILM SCREENING: “THE VILLAGE”

• Friday, May 24. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Thursday, May 30. IMPROVISED MUSIC: URS LEIMGRUBER, ADAM MATLOCK

• Tuesday, June 25, 7:30 PM. POETRY READING: CONNECTICUT POETRY SOCIETY

• Saturday, Aug. 17, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: PHILLIPS, GRIER & FLINNER (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)