“Complex and Compelling” film series resumes Mon. night, May 12, 7 PM, with “Memento”

The film series “Complex and Compelling: Fun Movies That Make You Think,” a joint presentation of Best Video and Temple Beth Sholom, was suspended while the Coffee and Wine Bar and the Performance Space were relocated to the other side of the store. The concluding two films—”Memento” and “Mulholland Drive”—have now been rescheduled to Monday, May 12, and Monday, May 19, respectively. The screenings start at 7 PM. Admission cost is $5 and reservations are recommended.

Memento

The fifth film in the series is the 2000 thriller “Memento.” Best Video staffers Michael Wheatley and Rob Harmon will introduce the film and lead the discussion afterwards. Directed and written by Christopher Nolan, “Memento” stars Guy Pearce. In his 2000 New York Times review critic A.O. Scott wrote:

“Memento” is a brilliant feat of rug-pulling, sure to delight fans of movies like “The Usual Suspects” and “Pi.” Like Darren Aronofsky (who directed “Pi” and last year’s “Requiem for a Dream”), Mr. Nolan demonstrates a supercharged cinematic intelligence. He’s clearly excited by the way the medium can manipulate time and information, folding straightforward events and simple motives into Moebius strips of paradox and indeterminacy.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 8. IMPROVISATION: FUCHSPRELLEN

• Monday, May 12. FILM SCREENING: “MEMENTO”

• Wednesday, May 14. BLUEGRASS: RAGWEED

• Thursday, May 15. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: FRANK CRITELLI, MARK MIRANDO

• Sunday, May 18. SUNDAY CHILDREN’S FILM MATINEE

• Monday, May 19. FILM SCREENING: “MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

• Wednesday, May 21. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, May 22. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: ILANA ZSIGMOND, SABRINA TRUEHEART

• Monday, May 26. FILM SCREENING: “LOCAL HERO”

• Wednesday, May 28. POP: MISSION ZERO

• Thursday, May 29. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: SAM PERDUTA, JASON PRINCE

• Thursday, June 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: KATH BLOOM & TOM HANFORD, BOP TWEEDIE

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU