Film screening: Film series concludes with “Magnificent Obsession” on Mon., Aug. 8

The Best Video Film & Cultural Center film series “5 Great Directors—5 Great Moral Dilemmas,” wraps up Monday, Aug. 8, with a screening of director Douglas Sirk’s 1954 melodrama “Magnificent Obsession,” starring Rock Hudson and Jane Wyman.  The series—presented in concert with Temple Beth Sholom’s Adult Education program—has run on consecutive Mondays beginning July 8. The screening starts at 7:15 PM and admission is $7. (Temple Beth Sholom members get in for free.)

Magnificent_Obsession_poster_Web

Temple Beth Sholom Rabbi Benjamin Scolnic will introduce the movie and lead the optional post-film discussion.

In “Magnificent Obsession,” when a rich, self-absorbed playboy crashes his speedboat on a lake, the only ambulance in town saves his life rather than tending to a stricken self-sacrificing doctor. When the doctor dies, it sets in motion a journey of unexpected twists and turns leading to a higher power, including a torrid and forbidden love.

New York Times critic H.H.T., writing in 1954:

Produced in Technicolor by Ross Hunter, and co-starring Jane Wyman and Rock Hudson in the original Irene Dunne and Robert Taylor roles, the new version is unquestionably a handsome one. Better still, generally restrained performances at least dignify a moist text, which may seem inspiration to some, pure corn to others. It all depends. Here, again, is [novelist Lloyd C.] Douglas’ own compound of retribution, philosophy and love. Deleting one major character and a few incidents, Robert Blees’ scenario tenderly develops the relationship of a fine young woman and the millionaire rake indirectly responsible for both her widowhood and her blindness.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, JULIE BEMAN & ERIC BLOOMQUIST

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Aug. 12. INDIE/DIY/QUEERCORE: LADY QUEEN PARADISE, ADULT MOM, SPACE CAMP

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Thursday, Aug. 18. ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, Aug. 21. INDIE ROCK: WALTER, ETC.; BLOWOUT, 1 more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 24. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Aug. 25. JAZZ: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Aug. 30. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Friday, Sept. 2. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. ROCK: LA TUNDA

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Thursday, Sept. 22. PIANO MUSIC: DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL