Film screening: “Fruitvale Station” concludes great political films series Mon., May 9, at 7 PM

fruitvale-station-poster02_WebProgrammed in consultation with the League of Women Voters (Hamden-North Haven) and Temple Beth Sholom, the current film series—dubbed “Candidates, Campaigns, and Controversies: Great Political Films”—features classic films dealing with politics and political issues. “Fruitvale Station”, illuminating one young man’s life at the heart of Black Lives Matter, screens this Monday, May 9, at 7 PM. Admission is $7 (free for TBS members).

Director Ryan Coogler’s (“Creed”) first feature and based on true events, “Fruitvale Station” is a searing and humane drama that invites the viewer to get to know Oscar Grant—played by Michael B. Jordan—as a full human being, rather than just a statistic on the nightly news. Production on the film predated the coining of the #Black Lives Matter hashtag but the film eloquently expresses the concerns at the heart of that movement.

“Fruitvale Station” was a New York Times Critic’s Pick. Reviewer A.O. Scott wrote, “[Director Ryan Coogler’s] main intention — and his great achievement, as well as Mr. Jordan’s — is to make Oscar a fully human presence, to pay him the respect of acknowledging his complexities and contradictions. The radicalism of ‘Fruitvale Station’ lies precisely here, in its refusal to turn a man into a symbol. Nearly every black man, whether or not he is president, tends to be flattened out by popular culture and the psychopathology of everyday American life, rendered as an innocent victim, a noble warrior or a menace to society. There is a dehumanizing violence in this habit, a willed, toxic blindness that ‘Fruitvale Station’ at once exposes and resists.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, May 5. BLUEGRASS: THE WALKINGWOOD MANDOLIN QUARTET

• Friday, May 6. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Monday, May 9. FILM SCREENING: “FRUITVALE STATION”

• Tuesday, May 10. ECLECTIC: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS, PRETEND IT DIDN’T HAPPEN, THE HUMAN LIGHT BOX

• Wednesday, May 11. FILM SCREENING: BRIAN ROBINSON PRESENTS “THE APPLE”

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Saturday, May 14. FILM SCREENING/WINE & CHEESE TASTING: VINO/NOIR

• Monday, May 16. FILM SCREENING: “SARAH’S KEY” (in partnership with the Jewish Community Center of New Haven)

• Wednesday, May 18. BLUES: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, May 19. EXPERIMENTAL: RIVENER, CRETELLA|PAOLUCCI DUO, ID M THEFT ABLE & FLANDREW FLEISENBERG

• Friday, May 20. JAZZ VOCALS & GUITAR: LINDA SATIN & JOE CARTER

• Thursday, May 26. EXPERIMENTAL: ELECTRONHIC

• Friday, May 27. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE BIRDMEN

• Thursday, June 2. HALFWAY TO GUITAR NIGHT: SHAWN PERSINGER, NANCY TUCKER, NORMAN PLNKEY, ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, June 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR

• Thursday, June 9. CABARET/SINATRA: RICH MORAN & FRANZ DOUSKEY

• Thursday, June 16. CHRISTOPHER ARNOTT & LYS GUILLORN CELEBRATE BLOOMSDAY

• Friday, June 24. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH, ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Thursday, June 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, QUINN HARLEY

• Friday, July 1. POST-PUNK: TELEGRAM SCAM

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, EARTHLINGS

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL