Film screening: Oscar-related series concludes Mon., Mar. 7, with rescheduled “Suffragette”

Suffragette_Poster_WebBest Video Film & Cultural Center’s seven-movie, Oscar-oriented film series concludes on Monday, Mar. 6, with a screening of “Suffragette.” This screening was rescheduled from Feb. 15 due to snow. Each screening starts at 7 PM and admission is $7.

“Suffragette” is an historical costume drama detailing the struggle of women to secure the vote in Great Britain. The film stars Carey Mulligan as a working class woman who gets involved in the increasingly militant struggle.

New York Times critic A.O. Scott wrote, “One of the ways ‘Suffragette’ escapes the traps of its genre is to focus not on the leadership but on the rank and file, on an ordinary woman whose life is changed by political engagement. Her name is Maud Watts, and she’s played by Carey Mulligan with somber determination and inspiring pluck.”

Although bruited about as a potential Oscar contender, “Suffragette” garnered no nominations.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Mar. 2. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BEN ERICKSON, STEPHEN HLADUN

• Thursday, Mar. 3. SINGER-SONGWRITER: JOY IKE

• Friday, Mar. 4. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Mar. 6. FILM SCREENING & Q&A WITH SCREENWRITER DONALD MARGULIES (Co-presented with The Institute Library): “THE END OF THE TOUR”

• Monday, Mar. 7. OSCAR SERIES FILM SCREENING: “SUFFRAGETTE” (Rescheduled from 2/15 due to snow)

• Wednesday, Mar. 9. SINGER-SONGWRITER: PAT STONE with AMANDA BELITTO

• Thursday, Mar. 10. EXPERIMENTAL: HUMAN FLOURISHING, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Friday, Mar. 11. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: SHAWN PERSINGER IS PRESTER JOHN

• Sunday, Mar. 13 FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Mar. 16. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Oct. 18. ALT-COUNTRY: NO LINES NORTH

• Wednesday, Mar. 23. EXPERIMENTAL: THE FOREST ROOM, NICK Di MARIA: ZERO DOLLAR SOLO

• Thursday, Mar. 24. ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, Mar. 25. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DICK NEAL

• Wednesday, Mar. 30. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: EUGENE GALLAGHER, WESTERN ESTATES

• Thursday, Mar. 31. SINGER-SONGWRITER: FRANK CRITELLI, JOE FLOOD

• Wednesday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK presented by Redscroll Records: HEX INVERTER, DIRT DEVIL, NOTHING ISRAEL

• Friday. Apr. 8. FOLK: HUGH BIRDSALL & DANA TAKAKI

• Thursday, Apr. 14. INDIE ROCK: SPIT-TAKE

• Friday, Apr. 15. JAZZ: REBECCA ABBOTT, GARY GRIPPO & FRIENDS

• Wednesday, Apr. 20. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Thursday, Apr. 28. SEPHARDIC MUSIC: THE HERETICS OF CORDOBA

• Saturday, May 7. SOFT ACOUSTIC/ROCK: THE HERNANDEZ BROTHERS

• Friday, May 13. THREE SONGWRITERS IN THE ROUND: ANNE MARIE MENTA, DICK NEAL, GLEN ROETHEL

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL