Film screening: Sean Kernan presents his “The Kampala Boxing Club” on Mon., Apr. 30, at 7 PM

Branford-based award-winning photographer and documentary filmmaker Sean Kernan presents “The Kampala Boxing Club” at Best Video Film & cultural Center on Monday, Apr. 30. The screening starts at 7 PM and admission is $7. Kernan will be on hand to discuss the film. Kernan presented a screening of his “Crow Stories” at BVFCC in January, 2017.

One hot afternoon Sean Kernan wandered into the Kampala Boxing Club in Uganda, because…there it was. Then he hung out there for the next seven years, returning again and again to film a deep dive into the far-off world of big-city boxing in Africa. He brought back with him The Kampala Boxing Club, a meditation on the rough violence and surprising beauty of the fight game as it is played on that continent.

Above all, the film captures what it feels like to be in this rarified world, so alien and so alive. Long hours honing the mind and body, then expending all that training in a few three-minute rounds, offering honor to the opponent who is trying to beat you. It is an experience that virtually none of us will ever have. Kampala is a tough town in a tough land, but the fighters are disciplined. This is how they build muscle and heart.

This film invites you to look deep and see the heart and beauty in boxing. The chance is rare. Take it! As Joyce Carol Oates wrote in On Boxing, “Life is, in so many unsettling respects, like boxing, but boxing…is only like boxing.

Motion Arts Pro recently spotlighted “The Kampala Boxing Club,” writing:

Photographer Sean Kernan’s new film is a meditation on violence.

It’s also a meditation on beauty, discovered by chance when Kernan, a Connecticut-based photographer, traveled to Uganda and went wandering through the streets of its capital. “When I arrived in Kampala, I wasn’t looking for boxing,” notes Kernan, a PPD reader, in a prolog to the film. Rather, he adds, “I was looking for lives unlike my own.”

According to Motion Arts Pro writer David Schonauer, the 45-minute film “unfolds like a journey, with Kernan along for the ride, as it transitions seamlessly from gym to ring, and from from ring to the streets of Kampala. The evocative photography captures a world and sport that, notes Kernan, is ‘so alive and demanding.'”

Sean Kernan is a widely exhibited, photographer, writer and pioneering teacher. He is the author of three monographs: The Secret Books (with Jorge Louis Borges), Among Trees (with Anthony Doerr), and Darrell Petit: In Stone. His explorations of creativity and photography have been published as Looking Into the Light: Creativity and the Photographer.

He has produced two film documentaries: “The Kampala Boxing Club,” about boxing in Africa, and “Crow Stories,” about the Crow Tribe in Montana.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Tuesday, Apr. 3, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE ELM CITY RAMBLERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 4. JAZZ: CHARTER OAK JAZZ FEATURING BRETT BOTTOMLEY; NEW HAVEN IMPROVISERS COLLECTIVE

• Thursday, Apr. 5. POWER POP: THE MOLD MONKIES (2 SETS! MINI-CD RELEASE!)

• Friday, Apr. 6. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR, LITTLE SILVER

• Saturday, Apr. 7, Noon-2 PM. COFFEE & CONVERSATION WITH STATE SEN. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE MARTIN LOONEY & STATE REP. JOSH ELLIOTT

• Sunday, Apr. 8, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, Apr. 11, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, Apr. 12. FOLK: FLINT LADDER

• Friday, Apr. 13. BLUEGRASS/AMERICANA: RIVER RUN

• Sunday, Apr. 15. STAND UP FOR STEVE SUNDAY: ANNE MARIE MENTA, THE NICK DI MARIA QUARTET, ELISON JACKSON, THE SHARP FLATS, THE WYRD BROTHERS, ME LIKE MANY, IAN BIGGS, BIG FANG, PIGEON ENGLISH (BRIAN LARNEY & ROB NELSON)

• Wednesday, Apr. 18. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ANNA MAY; PATRICK DALTON

• Thursday, Apr. 19. ACOUSTIC ROCK: RICHARD NEAL with THE BIRDMEN (rescheduled from Mar. 2)

• Friday, Apr. 20. BLUEGRASS: MATT FLINNER TRIO (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Saturday, Apr. 21. FOLK/BLUES: WASHBOARD SLIM & THE BLUE LIGHTS PRESENTS AN EVENING WITH 4 CT BLUES/ROOTS DIVAS—LAUREN AGNELLI, SANDY CONNELLY, JILLIAN GREY & LYNN MALAVOLTI

• Monday, Apr. 23, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 5-7 PM. BVFCC THE GREAT GIVE KICK-OFF HAPPY HOUR

• Tuesday, Apr. 24, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Apr. 25. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE

• Thursday, Apr. 26. INDIE ROCK: FIELD DAY, AMERICANA: LOVE LOVE

• Friday, Apr. 27. JAZZ: JEFF FULLER & FRIENDS w/ TONY PURRONE

• Monday, Apr. 30, 7 PM. FILM SCREENING: SEAN KERNAN’S “THE KAMPALA BOXING CLUB”

•Tuesday, May 1, 8 AM-Wednesday, May 2, 8 PM. THE GREAT GIVE® ONLINE FUNDRAISER

• Tuesday, May 1, 5-7 PM. HAPPY HOUR FOR THE GREAT GIVE®

• Wednesday, May 2. TRIBUTE TO JONI MITCHELL’S “HEJIRA”: JACK VEES

• Thursday, May 3. BLUES ROCK: PARKER’S TANGENT

• Friday, May 4. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: THE BOSSA NOVA PROJECT feat. ISABELLA MENDES

• Wednesday, May 9, 7 PM. SECOND WEDNESDAY OPEN MIC

• Thursday, May 10, 7:30 PM. ROCK: NOTATTOO

• Friday, May 11, 7 PM. STATE OF THE NATION—PROTEST MUSIC CABARET: SETH ADAM, THAT VIRGINIA, PAUL BRYANT HUDSON, ZOO FRONT, BRET LOGAN

• Saturday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Sunday, May 13, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, May 17. INDIE ROCK: HOUSE SPARROW (MA), PROCEDURE CLUB, PERENNIAL

• Friday, May 18. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Sunday, May 20, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Sunday, May 20, 6 PM. INDIE ROCK: FUTURE TEENS, SPIT-TAKE, MINEVA, ALL RIOT

• Monday, May 21, 6:30-9 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, May 22. 7 PM. “AGAINST FORGETTING—READINGS FROM THE PETRY OF WITNESS”: READING BY DAISY C. ABREU & STEPHEN VINCENT KOBASA

• Wednesday, May 23. JAZZ: BOTTOMLEY/SOUZA/MORRISON

• Thursday, May. 24. BLUES ROCK: JOE MILLER & THE HIPSHAKERS

• Friday, May 25. ACOUSTIC OLD-TIMEY/SWING: THE RED HOTS; AMERICANA: PAT STONE

• Tuesday, May 29, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, May 30. SINGER-SONGWRITER: BEN MIKULA/THE LONE GNOME

• Friday, June 1. JAZZ: HAMDEN HIGH SCHOOL JAZZ COMBO

• Sunday, June 3, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Wednesday, June 6. AVANT-GARDE: ERNESTO CÁRCAMO CAVAZOS, HUMAN FLOURISHING

• Friday, June 8, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: THE PAGE TURNERS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Thursday, June 14. BLUEGRASS: THE ANGRY O’HARAS

• Friday, June 15, 7:30 PM. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE & THE DIRTY BOOTS; ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Sunday, June 17, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Monday, June 18, 6:30 PM. GUITARTOWNCT THIRD MONDAY BLUEGRASS JAM

• Friday, June 22. JAZZ: THE PAUL SHANLEY QUINTET

• Wednesday, June 27. ROCK ‘N’ ROLL: THE BUTTONDOWNS, DR. MARTINO

• Thursday, June 28, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: JACOB JOHNSON (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Sunday, July 1, 2-5 PM. FREE MONTHLY SUNDAY GUITARTOWNCT BLUEGRASS JAM

• Tuesday, July 10, 5:30-7:30. WALK TO END ALZHEIMER’S TEAM SIGN-UP

• Sunday, July 15, 2-4 PM. FREE OPEN IRISH MUSIC JAM

• Wednesday, July 25, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: TOWN MOUNTAIN (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Tuesday, July 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Friday, Aug. 31, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: DALE ANN BRADLEY (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Nov. 9, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: KENNY & AMANDA SMITH (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)

• Friday, Dec. 7, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (A GUITARTOWNCT CONCERT)