Hail to the Chief! New film series dealing with Presidents begins Mon., Sept. 12

Presidents_films_flyer_WebThe Oval Office meets the silver screen as Best Video founder Hank Paper presents five great films dealing with the most powerful role in the world— three based on history (“All the Way,” “Thirteen Days,” “All the President’s Men”) and two classics of Cold War-era paranoia (“The Manchurian Candidate,” “Dr. Strangelove”). All films start at 7 PM—except the Oct. 16 screening, which starts at 2 PM—and admission is $7.

SCHEDULE:

MON., SEPT. 12: ALL THE WAY • Just out on DVD and Blu-ray: HBO’s adaptation of the critically acclaimed long-running Broadway play starring “Breaking Bad”’s Bryan Cranston as LBJ. Following the chaos of JFK’s assassination, Cranston, in his bravura portrait of LBJ, is forced to go “breaking bad” with Southern senators in order to pass the Civil Rights Act.

MON., SEPT. 19: THIRTEEN DAYS • Kevin Costner plays JFK advisor Kevin O’Donnell in this highly suspenseful political thriller that deftly portrays the real people involved in the most tense thirteen days in the 20th Century: the Cuban Missile Crisis. Intellect and reason battle with impulse during two weeks of alarming escalation that brings us as close to nuclear winter as we’ve ever come.

SUN., SEPT. 25 (moved to accommodate 1st Presidential debate): THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE  • A rogue nation manipulating our Presidential election; our minds being hacked, our behavior controlled! This John Frankenheimer political thriller, uncomfortably prescient in its own time, remains distressingly relevant today. Stars Frank Sinatra, Laurence Harvey, Janet Leigh, and Oscar-nominated Angela Lansbury. If  Hank Paper were making a BVFCC People’s Choice submission for a screening at Best Video this would be it: his all-time favorite film. In fact – he is screening it!

MON., SEPT. 26: First Presidential Debate

MON., OCT. 10: ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN • Robert Redford, Dustin Hoffman and Jason Robards, Jr., offer galvanizing, peak performances amid an incredible cast in this multi-Oscar nominated political thriller about tracking the source of the Watergate break-in all the way to the White House – ultimately leading to the President’s resignation.

SUN., OCT. 16: DR. STRANGELOVE… • Stanley Kubrick’s impending nuclear war satire remains as fresh as the day it was released: hilariously funny as it is frightening. Amid an all-star cast, Peter Sellers plays three roles while George C. Scott takes wing as General “Buck” Turgidson. Oscar nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor (Sellers), and Best Screenplay (Kubrick and Terry Southern). A truly one-off film about a one-off event.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Aug. 31. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Thursday, Sept. 1. ACOUSTIC BLUES/FOLK: DITTYMACK

• Friday, Sept. 2. JAZZ: JOVAN ALEXANDRE

• Sunday, Sept. 4. FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM SPONSORED BY GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS

• Thursday, Sept. 8. INDIE POP: MISSION ZERO

• Friday, Sept. 9. ROCK: THE FURORS

• Monday, Sept. 12. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE WAY”

• Wednesday, Sept. 14. INDIE ROCK/SINGER-SONGWRITER: QUIET GIANT (SOLO), THE REFECTORY

• Thursday, Sept. 15. FOLK/SOUL: CHRISSY GARDNER & ROBERT MESSORE

• Friday, Sept. 16. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Monday, Sept. 19. FILM SCREENING: “THIRTEEN DAYS”

• Thursday, Sept. 22. PIANO MUSIC: DONALD ALFANO

• Friday, Sept. 23. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SETH ADAM, EDDIE SEVILLE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING (3 PM): “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Sunday, Sept. 25. FILM SCREENING (7 PM): “THE MANCHURIAN CANDIDATE”

• Tuesday, Sept. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANIELLE ATE THE SANDWICH, CK, GLUMPUPPET

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Thursday, Sept. 29. AMERICAN PRIMITIVE GUITAR: SWAMP YANKEE, ALEXANDER

• Friday, Sept. 30. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Wednesday, Oct. 5. WINE TASTING WITH BOB FEINN OF MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Thursday, Oct. 6. POST-PUNK: GRIST, DEADBEAT CLUB

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL

• Monday, Oct. 10. FILM SCREENING: “ALL THE PRESIDENT’S MEN”

• Tuesday, Oct. 11. FILM SCREENING: “ELMER GANTRY”

• Friday, Oct. 14. CELTIC/APPALACHIAN: REELIN’ AWAY

• Sunday, Oct. 16. FILM SCREENING: “DR. STRANGELOVE…”

• Wednesday, Oct. 19. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITER: STEPHEN CHOPEK

• Sunday, Oct. 23. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE MALTESE FALCON”

• Sunday, Oct. 30. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE”

• Sunday, Nov. 6. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE ASPHALT JUNGLE”

• Sunday, Nov. 13. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—JOHN HUSTON’S “THE AFRICAN QUEEN”