Literary Reading: Paul Beckman, Doug Mathewson Wed., Mar. 5, at 7:30 PM

Writers Paul Beckman and Doug Mathewson will read from their works in the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Mar. 5. The event starts at 7:30 PM.

Paul Beckman, left, and Doug Mathewson, right

Paul Beckman, left, and Doug Mathewson, right

Paul Beckman’s outrageously humorous family stories have entertained readers of Playboy Magazine and audiences at the 92nd Street Y in Manhattan. He is the author of two story collections, including “Come, Meet My Family and Other Stories.” Widely published here, his work has also appeared in Great Britain, Australia, New Zealand and Germany. Prepare to be entertained.

Doug Mathewson works as a writer and editor. His work has been performed at the 92nd St. YMCA in New York City, “Snow-oetry” in Ohio, and by the East Haddam Players. He is a regular contributor to riverbabble, Graffiti Kolkata, Durable Goods, Right Hand Pointing, and The Boston Literary Magazine. His work has been nominated for a Pushcart Award, and  The Best of The Web Short Fiction Award. He is a senior member of Full Of Crow Press and Distribution, and works with  Pandemonium Press of Berkley California as a section editor of Door Knobs & Body-paint.  He is the editor of Blink-Ink, and contributing editor of the street zine MUST.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Feb. 26. DECONSTRUCTING POP: THE LUCK PUSHERS

• Thursday, Feb. 27. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Monday.Mar. 3. FILM SCREENING: “BEING JOHN MALKOVICH”

• Wednesday, Mar. 5. SHORT STORY READING: PAUL BECKMAN, DOUG MATHEWSON

• Thursday, Mar. 6. BUOYANT POP ROCK: THE FURORS

• Monday, Mar. 10. FILM SCREENING: “BABEL”

• Wednesday, Mar. 12. CONTRA DANCE MUSIC: WRY BRED

• Thursday, Mar. 13. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Monday, Mar. 17. FILM SCREENING: “MEMENTO”

• Monday. Mar. 24. FILM SCREENING: “MULHOLLAND DRIVE”

• Wednesday, Apr. 2. CLASSICAL: HAVEN STRING QUARTET

• Thursday, Apr. 17. ACOUSTIC ROCK: THE LONESOME SPARROWS