Literary Readings: Alice Mattison, Sandi Kahn Shelton on Wed., June 11

Alice Mattison, left, and Sandi Kahn Shelton, right

Alice Mattison, left, and Sandi Kahn Shelton, right

Alice Mattison and Sandi Kahn Shelton (aka Maddie Dawson) will read from their fiction on Wednesday, June 11, at 7:30 PM.

Alice Mattison will read from her new short story “Provincetown.” About her novel When We Argued All Night, The New York Times Book Review wrote, “Mattison always operates in both close-up and wide angle, and here the effect is often dazzling.”  See her Web site.

Sandi Kahn Shelton will read from her novel The Opposite of Maybe, published in April by Crown Publishers. Sandi’s earlier books include the novel Kissing Games of the World and The Stuff That Never Happened (written as Maddie Dawson and published in 2010). For more information visit her Sandi Kahn Shelton and Maddie Dawson Web sites.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Wednesday, June 11. LITERARY READING: ALICE MATTISON, SANDI KAHN SHELTON

• Thursday, June 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, June 13. FOLK: ROBERT MESSORE

• Wednesday, June 18. BRAZILIAN MUSIC: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, June 19. GARAGE POP/PSYCHEDELIC ROCK: HAPPY ENDING

• Wednesday, June 25. INDIE ROCK: MERCY CHOIR

• Thursday, June 26. ACOUSTIC GUITAR: PRESTER JOHN featuring SHAWN PERSINGER & DAVID MILLER

• Friday, June 27. PUNK ROCK: STARK RAVING LULU

• Wednesday, July 9. CLASSICAL GUITAR: ORPHÉE RUSSELL

• Thursday, July 31. ROCK: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE

• Friday, Aug. 1. ELECTRO-ACOUSTIC: DAVID ELKIN-GINNETTI

• Friday, Aug. 15. POP/ART/PUPPETRY: POCKET VINYL, GLUMPUPPET