Music: 3 Friends—singer-songwriters Jennifer Dauphinais, Frank Critelli, Christopher Bousquet—to share their tunes Fri., May 5

Singer-songwriters Ponybird (Jennifer Dauphinais), Frank Critelli and Christopher Bousquet perform in the round on Friday, May 5, at Best Video Performance Space. The show starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

American Elm, aka Chris Bousquet, is singer-songwriter from Connecticut. He is the former leader of the internationally acclaimed High Lonesome Plains, and as well as the widely regarded Alligator Farmhouse. He has performed with such luminaries as Roger McGuinn, Miracle Legion, Rod McDonald, The Nields, Mark Mulcahy, Asleep at the Wheel, The Turtles, Tim Easton, J. Geils, and Susan Cowsill.

Frank Critelli writes songs. He dabbles in haiku and other short poetry. Sometimes he writes other stuff too. Like postcards. His songs are available on compact disc and for download at places like CD Baby.

Frank Critelli often performs live. Sometimes he performs solo, and sometimes he is accompanied by one or more musical co-conspirators. Over the years he’s played in streets and subways, clubs and coffeehouses, barrooms and classrooms, colleges, festivals, theaters, and (most recently) in his kitchen.

Ponybird is the moniker for singer-songwriter Jennifer Dauphinais, in collaboration with many players from other bands. Influenced by the emotional roots of country, confessional poetry of folk, and spatial freedom of ambient and harmonic tones, the music translates something introspective and infinite all at once.

UPCOMING EVENTS (Music events start at 8 PM unless otherwise noted; screenings start at 7 PM unless otherwise noted):

• Tuesday, May 2, 4-7 PM. THE GREAT GIVE HAPPY HOUR

• Wednesday, May 3, 7 PM. FILM SCREENINGS & LECTURE/TALKBACK: THOMAS WEXLER ON “I HAVE A DREAM”: THE CIVIL RIGHTS GENERATION, AND HIP-HOP IN THE SOCIAL UNCONSCIOUS (Just added!)

• Thursday, May 4. INDIE ROCK: PROCEDURE CLUB

• Friday, May 5. SINGER-SONGWRITERS IN  THE ROUND: JENNIFER DAUPHINAIS, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET, FRANK CRITELLI

• Sunday, May 7. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Sunday, May 7, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “THELMA AND LOUISE”

• Thursday, May 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, THE FURORS

• Friday, May 12. SINGER-SONGWRITER: SHAWN TAYLOR & WANDERING ROOTS (CD Release)

• Saturday, May 13. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE & THE FAKE MUSIC ENSEMBLE

• • Sunday, May 14, 7 PM. GEN X FILM SERIES SCREENING: “MY BEAUTIFUL LAUNDERETTE”

• Wednesday, May 17. POP: THE RACKET DOWNSTAIRS

• Friday, May 19. INDIE ROCK: LA TUNDA, LYS GUILLORN (solo)

• Sunday, May 21, 3 PM. LIGHTS! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Thursday, May 25. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT PLAYS MUSIC FROM “TWIN PEAKS”

• Friday, May 26. INDIE ROCK: WALLY

• Thursday, June 1. INDIE ROCK: IF JESUS HAD MACHINE GUNS

• Friday, June 2. JAZZ VOCAL: LINDA SATIN WITH JOE CARTER & TIM MORAN

• Sunday, June 4, 3 PM. CAMERA! ACTION! FILMMAKING WORKSHOP FOR HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS: LIGHTS

• Wednesday, June 7. ALT-COUNTRY: LEFT ON SCARLET STREET

• Thursday, June 8. WORLD MUSIC: ELEGANT PRIMATES

• Friday, June 9. ALT-COUNTRY: PAT STONE, BOX OF BIRDS, THE PROUD FLESH

• Saturday, June 10. JAZZ: ALLEN LOWE

• Sunday, June 11. 2-5 PM. GUITARTOWNCT FREE AFTERNOON BLUEGRASS JAM

• Thursday, June 15. FOLK/POP SINGER-SONGWRITER: MELODY PLACE

• Friday, June 16, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: MILE TWELVE (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Wednesday, June 21. PROGRESSIVE FOLK: FE FI FO

• Thursday, June 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND; CONTEMPORARY CLASSICAL MUSIC: THE CHRIS CHILDS TRIO

• Friday, June 23. CHAMBER ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Friday, July 21. SOLO GUITAR: GLENN ROTH; SINGER-SONGWRITER: DANA MERRITT

• Wednesday, July 26. MUSIC FROM “THE SIMPSONS”: DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRES OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS with SPECIAL GUESTS

• Friday, July 28. WORLD MUSIC: NEELA

• Wednesday, Aug. 2. JAZZ: BADSLAX

• Friday, Aug. 4, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: HONEY DEWDROPS (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: LYS GUILLORN & HER BAND

• Friday, Sept. 8. INDIE ROCK: THE SAWTELLES

• Friday, Sept. 15, 7:30 PM. BLUEGRASS: ROB ICKES & TREY HENSLEY (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Friday, Sept. 22. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Oct. 20. BLUEGRASS: MISSY RAINES & THE NEW HIP (GUITARTOWNCT PRODUCTIONS)

• Thursday, Nov. 16, 7 PM. BLUEGRASS: TIM O’BRIEN