Music: Art rock from Fe Fi Fo on Fri., July 29

Fe_Fi_Fo_BV_072514_WebFe Fi Fo play at Best Video Performance Space on Fri., July 29. The music starts at 8 PM and there is a $5 cover.

The Fe Fi Fo acoustic trio takes you on colorful tonal and lyrical adventures. Fe Fi Fo plays mostly original music however often includes cover material from artists like Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, Captain Beefheart and even some Frank Zappa.

The lyrical content examines life from a myriad of perspectives and is socio-political and often cathartic, and the passionate vocal delivery of Jon White certainly helps get that message across. Guitarist Ronnie Neuhauser delves into a number of alternate tunings of his own devising bringing interesting tonal colors to the music. Ronnie Neuhauser and Fred Melillo (bass) also insert some very technical instrumentals into the mix. Fe Fi Fo is definitely not your average acoustic trio. Ronnie Neuhauser also runs two other musical projects, No Cheez Orchestra and Styrocultural Antidote, both very original, progressive musical projects.  Check us out at www.nocheez.com.

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Friday, July 15. SINGER-SONGWRITER: KATH BLOOM, BOP TWEEDIE

• Monday, July 18. FILM SCREENING: “LIFEBOAT”

• Wednesday, July 20. BLUEGRASS: DUDLEY FARMS STRING BAND

• Thursday, July 21. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Friday, July 22. FOLK: HOMEMADE JAM

• Sunday, July 24. INDIE, HIP-HOP: RUNNING LAPS & NATHAN CORP, THE FOREST ROOM, CHEF THE CHEF, ZAK G.

• Monday, July 25. FILM SCREENING: “ACE IN THE HOLE”

• Wednesday, July 27. DR. CATERWAUL’S CADRE OF CLAIRVOYANT CLAPTRAPS PRESENTS THE MUSIC OF ENNIO MORRICONE

• Thursday, July 28. DIY/EXPERIMENTAL: PAINTED FACES, BIG NURSE

• Friday, July 29. ART-ROCK: FE FI FO

• Monday, Aug. 1. FILM SCREENING: “THE TRAIN”

• Wednesday, Aug. 3. INDIE ROCK: JELLYSHIRTS

• Thursday, Aug. 4. ECLECTIC ACOUSTIC: THE NAMELESS TRIO

• Friday, Aug. 5. INDIE ROCK: THE LYS GUILLORN BAND, JULIE BEMAN & ERIC BLOOMQUIST

• Monday, Aug. 8. FILM SCREENING: “MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION”

• Wednesday, Aug. 10. BLUEGRASS: EAST ROCK RAMBLERS

• Thursday, Aug. 11. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT, AN HISTORIC

• Friday, Aug. 12. INDIE/DIY/QUEERCORE: LADY QUEEN PARADISE, ADULT MOM, SPACE CAMP

• Wednesday, Aug. 17. SINGER-SONGWRITER POP: THE SHELLYE VALAUSKAS EXPERIENCE, TINY OCEAN

• Thursday, Aug. 18. ROCK: THE RIGHT-OFFS

• Friday, Aug. 19. SINGER-SONGWRITERS: PONYBIRD, FRANK CRITELLI, CHRISTOPHER BOUSQUET

• Sunday, Aug. 21. INDIE ROCK: WALTER, ETC.; BLOWOUT, 1 more TBA

• Wednesday, Aug. 24. OLD-TIMEY/BLUES: THE ZuZAZZ STRING ORKESTRA

• Thursday, Aug. 25. JAZZ: BRIAN JARAWA GRAY

• Tuesday, Aug. 30. BLUEGRASS: STACY PHILLIPS & HIS BLUEGRASS CHARACTERS

• Wednesday, Aug. 30. BLUES/FOLK: CODA BLUE, THE RED HOTS

• Saturday, Sept. 17. BLUEGRASS/SWING: TOO BLUE

• Sunday, Sept. 25. SURJ FILM SCREENING: “RACE: THE POWER OF AN ILLUSION”

• Wednesday, Sept. 28. BRAZILIAN CHORO MUSIC: ROGÉRIO SOUZA, EDINHO GERBER & STEPHEN GUERRA

• Friday, Oct. 7. BLUEGRASS/NEW ACOUSTIC: JOE WALSH & FRIENDS (A GUITARTOWN CT PRODUCTION)

• Saturday, Oct. 8. THE NEW ENGLAND UNDERGROUND FILM FESTIVAL