Music: Brazilian music group Sambeleza presents “A Tribute to Tom Jobim” Wed., Jan. 28, at 8 PM

Sambeleza_BV_092414WebSambeleza plays the Best Video Performance Space on Wednesday, Jan. 28. The music starts at 8 PM and the cover is $5.

Sambeleza—featuring Isabella Mendes, Jeff Fuller, Joe Carter and Asher Delerme—performs a wide variety of Brazilian songs, both old and new, with a jazz twist. For this show, the group presents a tribute to legendary Brazilian composer Antonio Carlos Jobim, also known as Tom Jobim. The concert comes three days after what would have been the late Jobim’s 88th birthday.

Brasil (spelled with an “s” in Portuguese) is well known for its rich heritage—a blend of indigenous, African and European cultures—from which the music has risen with fascinating rhythms, soaring melodies and colorful harmonies. The musicians of Sambeleza are outstanding U. S. and Brazilian interpreters of the great songs of the bossa nova and samba traditions, as well as outstanding jazz artists in their own right. Sambeleza derives its name from two words: samba, the national dance of Brasil, and beleza, Portuguese for “beauty.”

UPCOMING EVENTS:

• Thursday, Jan. 22. ALT-COUNTRY: HEATHER FAY

• Friday, Jan. 23. INDIE SINGER-SONGWRITERS: DEEPER SLEEPER (GARY VELUSH), MICHAEL KUSEK

• Sunday, Jan. 25. MARK SCHENKER: HOW TO READ A FILM—FOUR BY HITCHCOCK: “NORTH BY NORTHWEST”

• Wednesday, Jan. 28. BRAZILIAN MUSIC—A TRIBUTE TO TOM JOBIM: SAMBELEZA

• Thursday, Jan. 29. THEATER READING: “COZY BEACH” by STEVE BELLWOOD

• Friday., Jan. 30. JAZZ: URI SHAHAM

• Wednesday, Feb. 4. ALT-COUNTRY: LINES WEST

• Friday, Feb. 6. AVANT-GARDE: RIVENER, LIGHT UPON BLIGHT

• Monday, Feb. 9. FILM SCREENING: “LOST HORIZON”

• Wednesday, Feb. 11. JAZZ: BRETT BOTTOMLEY

• Thursday, Feb. 12. INDIE ROCK: HAPPY ENDING, LYS GUILLORN

• Friday, Feb. 20. INDIE ROCK: THE MOUNTAIN MOVERS

• Monday, Feb. 16. FILM SCREENING: “ABOUT SCHMIDT”

• Monday, Feb. 23. FILM SCREENING: “CRIMES AND MISDEMEANORS”

• Monday, Mar. 2. FILM SCREENING: “THE SWIMMER”

• Thursday, Mar. 5. SINGER-SONGWRITER: THE ANNE MARIE MENTA BAND

• Friday, Mar. 6. JAZZ: NICK DiMARIA WiRED

• Monday, Mar. 9. FILM SCREENING: “GRAN TORINO”

• Monday, Mar. 16. FILM SCREENING: “NOW, VOYAGER”

• Monday, Mar. 23. FILM SCREENING: “UP IN THE AIR”

• Friday, April 3. AVANT-GARDE: ZERO DOLLAR

• Thursday, Apr. 9. 150th ANNIVERSARY OF APPOMATTOX/FOLK MUSIC: SHELDON CAMPBELL

• Friday, April 17. WPKN BENEFIT

• Friday, May 1. FILM FEST: “A DARK ROOM”