Music: Bronson Rock to perform Thurs., Oct. 10, at 8 PM

Bronson_Rock_Buzz_Gordo_Web

Buzz Gordo of Bronson Rock at Best Video

Bronson Rock will play the Best Video Performance Space on Thursday, Oct. 10. The cover is $5 and the music starts at 8 PM.

Bronson Rock is a four piece rock and soul band featuring Buzz Gordo on guitar and lead vocals, Eric Bloomquist on bass, Lou St. John on organ, and Tom Smith on drums.  Individually, the seasoned musicians in Bronson Rock have performed with a “who’s-who” of Connecticut artists, and continue to maintain busy schedules as players. The band featured the songwriting talents of Gordo, who was the main songwriter for New Haven’s illustrious Big Bad Johns. Two of his songs from those days have been featured in a recent season of HBO’s True Blood.

The band plays a tight, danceable mix of original garage soul sounds, with some choice obscure covers thrown in, owing a debt to groups like the Rascals and Booker T. and the MG’s.

UPCOMING PERFORMANCE SPACE EVENTS:

• Wednesday, Oct. 2. ACOUSTIC BLUES: CORNBREAD

• Thursday, Oct. 3. PARKER’S TANGENT: ROCK

• Monday, Oct. 7. FILM SCREENING: “THE SECRET IN THEIR EYES”

• Wednesday, Oct. 9. ACOUSTIC ROCK: HENRY SIDLE

• Thursday, Oct. 10. GARAGE SOUL: BRONSON ROCK

• Monday, Oct. 14. FILM SCREENING: “PARADISE NOW”

• Wednesday, Oct. 16. ACOUSTIC ROCK: JAMES VELVET & THE LONESOME SPARROWS

• Thursday, Oct. 17. INDIE ROCK: ZOO FRONT

• Monday, Oct. 21. FILM SCREENING: “FURY”

• Wednesday, Oct. 23. CLASSICAL: RAVENNA MICHALSEN & ALEXANDER SMITH

• Thursday, Oct. 24. INDIE ROCK: THE STREAMS

• Monday, Oct. 28. FILM SCREENING: “CAPE FEAR” (Original version)

• Wednesday, Oct. 30. LOCAL LEGENDS/NEW WAVE: THE FURORS

• Monday, Nov. 4. FILM SCREENING: “IN THE BEDROOM”

• Wednesday, Nov. 6. SINGER-SONGWRITER: ESTHER GOLTON

• Thursday, Nov. 7. GARAGE FOLK: ELISON JACKSON

• Wednesday, Nov. 13. WINE TASTING with BOB FEINN FROM MT. CARMEL WINE & SPIRITS

• Monday, Nov. 11. FILM SCREENING: “THE SEARCHERS”

• Wednesday, Nov. 20. STRING QUARTET ROCK: THE TET OFFENSIVE

• Thursday, Nov. 21. APOCALYPTIC POP: THE GRIMM GENERATION